We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ship Inn

££ - £££, British,
Moor End | Acaster Malbis, York YO23 2UH, England
+44 1904 703888
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good18%
  • Average8%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible13%
Travellers talk about
“beef” (12 reviews)
“cheese cake” (3 reviews)
“roast dinner” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Moor End | Acaster Malbis, York YO23 2UH, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went here with my girlfriend and it was something we were looking to over the entire weekend trip. Food as great. We had garlic mushrooms and the homemade onion bhajis for starters (separate dishes). Both were fantastic. I had beef hash for my main and...More

Thank Chrisssssssss
sarah N, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I think you have the wrong Ship Inn as none of those meals are on our menu!!

Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

Been here before 8wks ago stayed at poplar farm campsite beautiful camping site cudnt ask for better site very accommodating..went to the ship inn day wee arrived had few drinks and bite to eat .. nothing special but it filled a gap in your tooth...More

9  Thank Adventure754355
Reviewed 31 August 2018

We had lunch on a Friday. There were outside tables in the sun, which looked very tempting, but we chose to go inside. We were about to order drinks at the bar, but were asked if we wanted lunch and said yes and were invited...More

Thank P_Aldrich2013
Reviewed 21 August 2018 via mobile

We have just spent a weekend in the nearby campsite, Poplar Farm, and this pub is a stones throw from there We ate there twice over the weekend and both times were delicious!! The portions sizes are generous, the food very tasty and the staff...More

3  Thank MrsSMW
sarah N, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to write a lovely review!

Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

Poor management, landlord seems determined on making infrequent customers feel unwelcome. 'Tuting' when ordering as a group, unwilling to accommodate 'fussy' child eaters by not serving just chips (despite these being on the menu as part of meals), no butter with bread and soup. A...More

6  Thank LauraYork
sarah N, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

That is not our intention. We do serve portions of chips during the day, but not in the evenings when we are serving dinner, & the soup does come with bread

Reviewed 10 July 2018

Another hot sunny day and we couldn't face walking through the streets of the city, but we most definitely did fancy a cold drink and some food by the river. So, we took a short drive out to Acaster Malbis and the Ship Inn. This...More

Thank KateDenby
sarah N, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Thanks for you review Kate. We have always stuck to the traditional roast dinner on Sundays as this is what most expect. The garden is beautiful & takes a lot of work, as you can expect! We started out with parasols but some children destroyed...More

Reviewed 9 June 2018

Ok I'll get straight to the point. Bloody marvellous, one of those places that stand out and make you want to go back. But why? I hear you say, well I'll explain. We just got back from a one night stay, we love York &...More

2  Thank jolened145
sarah N, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us - hope you can find a child minder to join us again soon!

Reviewed 3 June 2018

This was the 3rd time we have had Sunday lunch at The Ship and again it did not disappoint. Between us we had the Roast pork, beef and lamb. All perfectly cooked with a lovely range of vegetables. We couldn’t not have dessert and again...More

Thank Alananddawn
sarah N, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

You must've caught him on a good day!!

Reviewed 1 June 2018 via mobile

We walked here from York (about 2 hours mainly by the riverside) and appreciated the friendly welcome and attention we received, such as a jug of iced water and offer to refill our water bottles. I'm a bit particular about my beer and cannot complain...More

Thank MerlinwizardYork
sarah N, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Thanks for your review & understanding how tiring this job can be! Yes, you're right - £8 would be a lot for a chip butty, but ours are only £3

Reviewed 24 May 2018

The sign outside says grumpy landlord, thought it was a joke till saw him and spoke to him, so misrable and down at the mouth it was unbelievable. Everybody has a day off, but this guy is like it all the time whenever we've been...More

4  Thank KaiManchester
sarah N, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Firstly, lets get some facts straight - our chip butties are £3 & we do not do a carvery on Sundays. Our beef joints are slowly cooked over night to keep the meat tender & slightly pink as this is how many people like it....More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 46 hotels in York
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
1,454 reviews
2.12 miles away
Holiday Inn York
1,537 reviews
2.62 miles away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
1,444 reviews
2.74 miles away
York Marriott Hotel
2,182 reviews
2.78 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Blacksmiths Arms
488 reviews
.53 miles away
The Ebor Inn
347 reviews
1.42 miles away
Sizzling Plate
64 reviews
1.82 miles away
The Waterfront Cafe
131 reviews
.66 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Stillingfleet Lodge Gardens
256 reviews
2.76 miles away
Harmony House Cookery School
7 reviews
2.78 miles away
York Park & Ride
536 reviews
2.12 miles away
Goddards House and Garden
406 reviews
3.03 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Ship Inn staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:30
Thursday
12:00 - 22:30
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Moor End | Acaster Malbis, York YO23 2UH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  York
  • Phone Number: +44 1904 703888
  • E-mail
Description
Traditional country pub,with modern decor and boutique-style bedrooms. Overlooking the River Ouse with a large garden, mooring and car park. Food served daily
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing