We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Jamie's Italian

Is this your business?
26 Lendal, York YO1 8AA, England
+44 1904 238979
Website
Share
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent34%
  • Very good24%
  • Average20%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“polenta chips” (54 reviews)
“meat plank” (33 reviews)
“brownie” (64 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 - 23:00 Hours
CUISINES
Italian, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
26 Lendal, York YO1 8AA, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (3,176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 3,116 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

We stopped in for a late lunch, the place was pretty empty which was surprising as we couldn’t even get a table last time, a Saturday, it was a Wednesday this time around 2 pm. Pretty empty..Plenty of servers around so not much of an...More

Thank Kevin C
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Came here with my girlfriend to celebrate the end of her degree. I have to say that I wasn’t very impressed at all. We both chose off the set menu, whereby I chose the spaghetti with salmon. I could have made what was presented to...More

Thank apc1997
Jamie's Italian R, General Manager at Jamie's Italian, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Apc, Thank you for your review, we do appreciate you taking the time to do this. I have discussed the review with our Head Chef and we will certainly investigate why your dishes were not to the high standard of taste and flavour. I...More

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Great place to eat, food is excellent, service is good and it's a great friendly atmosphere. Prices are reasonable and there are vouchers out there if needed. My only criticism and it's not a major one is that the two tables are a little small...More

Thank sezzy45
Jamie's Italian R, General Manager at Jamie's Italian, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Sezzy, What a wonderful review and thank you for leaving us a 5 star. I will certainly pass on the great comments to the front of house and kitchen teams. Have a great day and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind...More

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Service and staff were good, we were seated on arrival, served quickly and all courses came with little wait between them. Staff were cheerful and attentive. Unfortunately the food was at best average. The Bruschetta starter on one very small piece of bread, and a...More

Thank Janet B
Jamie's Italian R, General Manager at Jamie's Italian, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Janet, Thank you for leaving us a constructive review. I am pleased to read the level of service was attentive and friendly but sorry to read that the dishes you ate were not to your liking. Our pasta is made fresh in house and...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were the only people in the restaurant when we arrived so were seated with no issues, food ordered with no problems. The starters came and were fab. Then it was a 50 minute wait for the main course, boy, was it so not worth...More

Thank eonh115
Jamie's Italian R, General Manager at Jamie's Italian, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Eonh115, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We do appreciate positive feedback but are saddened to read that your experience with us was not to the high standards to which we strive for. I would greatly appreciate you e-mailing me at...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Went to jamies for my partners birthday recently and weren't disappointed, while i don't normally like sea food i was adventurous and went for the linguine (i know setting myself up here) and was genuinely surprised with how amazing the dish was. Even though i...More

Thank charbrumby
Jamie's Italian R, Manager at Jamie's Italian, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Thank you so much for your lovely review It's great to hear that you enjoyed your meal when you dined with us, I will pass your lovely comments onto the rest of the team Hope we see you again soon Kind Regards Lauren

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Ok had nicer italian else where. Service was good, food ok. Just dont expect too much as i probably did.More

Thank Gail W
Jamie's Italian R, Manager at Jamie's Italian, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Gail Thank you for your review I am sorry to hear that we didn't meet your expectations when you dined with us, would you please be able to drop me an email at the email address below with a few more details so that...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went here on the bank holiday weekend in May, and had a good experience overall. York was really busy because of the bank holiday and the sunny weather but we were seated immediately with no reservation. My other half has a peanut allergy and the...More

Thank BurnleyBrom
Jamie's Italian R, Manager at Jamie's Italian, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us and that the waitress was extremely helpful in regards to your partners allergy. I will pass your comments onto the rest of...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We called for lunch on 5 May and found both the food and service to be poor. We were seated fairly quickly but had to wait an age to be served even though there were plenty of staff who were more interested in setting empty...More

3  Thank Simon229200
Jamie's Italian R, Manager at Jamie's Italian, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us and that there were a number of issues throughout your visit. I would love to discuss this further with...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my wife visited the restaurant for lunch, my wife has a gluten and wheat intollerance. Even though it says they do gluten free food they were not helpfull. The waiter chose to ignore us in the end and serve other people. We got...More

2  Thank petergee1964
Jamie's Italian R, Manager at Jamie's Italian, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Thank you for your feedback It is very disappointing to hear that you were ignored by your waiter as this is not the level of service that we expect within the restaurant at all. Could you please email me at the address below with...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 47 hotels in York
The Judges Lodging
1,165 reviews
.04 miles away
Park Inn by Radisson York
2,327 reviews
.11 miles away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1,775 reviews
.15 miles away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
4,349 reviews
.18 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Burr Coffee
129 reviews
.05 miles away
Rustique Lendal
1,041 reviews
.06 miles away
Bettys Cafe Tea Rooms - York
5,565 reviews
.05 miles away
The Judge's Lodging Restaurant
385 reviews
.04 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Museum Gardens
1,865 reviews
.08 miles away
The Hospitium
74 reviews
.09 miles away
Mansion House
52 reviews
.03 miles away
St. Martin's Church
23 reviews
.07 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
paulakim2016
28 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from robert c | Reviewed this property |
Check current reviews as service is currently very poor and I am a regular at his restaurants this is my worst experience
1
Vote
Angela B
26 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Andrew D | Reviewed this property |
Park and ride is easier option.
0
Votes
Chris T
13 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Chris T | Reviewed this property |
For a man who owes his success to his persona as a "man of the people" Jamie Oliver should really be doing something about this. However, I'm beginning to suspect that he's reached a position where criticism and complaints... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$12 - US$27
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks, After-hours
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:30
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 22:30
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 26 Lendal, York YO1 8AA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  York
  • Phone Number: +44 1904 238979
Description
Jamie's Italian restaurant in York is situated in the heart of the city centre, within the historic Lendal Cellars. Spread over two floors of an old Tudor wine cellar, the space is full of atmosphere, with an open kitchen where you can see our chefs in action. There’s also beautiful outdoor dining area, labelled the secret garden, which is ideal for enjoying al fresco dinners when the weather's fine. So whether you’re looking for a quick bowl of our fresh handmade pasta or a leisurely three-course meal, our York restaurant has something for everyone.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;