We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shambles Kitchen

Shambles | York YO1 7LX, York YO1 7LX, England
+44 1904 674684
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent76%
  • Very good18%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“wraps” (33 reviews)
“soup” (42 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Cafe, Fast food, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
£
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Shambles | York YO1 7LX, York YO1 7LX, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (654)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 20 of 624 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2017

Have been going to this place for quite a few years now, and I have to say the food is fantastic! I'm gluten free so I'm unable to have the burritos there, and the food isn't as filling as some meals out there; however with...More

Thank gregorjsweet
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

Best brisket I've had, really quick and friendly service. Well worth a visit and good value for the quality

Thank Paul C
Reviewed 25 July 2017

Hubby and I had chicken wraps today from the Shambles Kitchen pop up stall at the street food part of the Great Yorkshire Fringe. Shawarma and Tandoori chicken were both amazing, delicious slaw style salad and red cabbage, all wrapped up in a huge flatbread....More

Thank Laura L
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

The first day we went in, around 4:30 pm, the employees all seemed to hip to care and the food was all sold out. But then we ordered smoothies and the employees warmed up were really nice. The smoothies are delicious! The Seedy smoothie is...More

Thank Lynette A
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

Really enjoyed this upmarket and nutritious fast food. We had the Moroccan chicken rice box and every element was beautiful. It was good value too (lots of chicken). The only downside was the lack of space to sit down inside (we perched on a nearby...More

Thank EmmieLouH
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

Excellent. Had a reuben and chicken wrap. The reuben is amazing. If you want a tasty lunch go here and good value too.

Thank racash1
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

Despite living in York for 4 years, first time going to shambles kitchen. Never had a better sandwich before in my life.

Thank Cameron S
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

The food here is fantastic! A favourite with the locals every time. The staff are super friendly, and the service is quick in spite of sometimes pretty big ques - the food is more than good enough to warrant it! Cannot recommend highly enough. Sandwiches...More

Thank Brogan H
Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

Finally I've gotten round to devouring one of these pulled pork sandwhichs. They are definatley famous for a reason. When you want meat in a bun and can't be fizzed with the typical beef burger this is the one! Juicy, dripping with flavour and generously...More

1  Thank Jack M
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

Place is fantastic! Very quirky (which I like) Sound advice & service! Went to New York last year & had a Reuben at "katz deli" & the Reuben here at shambles kitchen was arguably nicer than a place that's world famous & been open 130+...More

1  Thank dannyjjbba
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Los Moros
157 reviews
.02 miles away
Shambles Tavern
504 reviews
.05 miles away
Sutlers Bar & Kitchen
510 reviews
.03 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Shambles
10,700 reviews
.04 miles away
York's Chocolate Story
3,804 reviews
.07 miles away
Shambles Market
114 reviews
.04 miles away
Monk Bar Chocolatiers of York
61 reviews
.05 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Initiale
14 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from SimonLong1 | Property representative |
Hello. The shop is open as normal but the burrito stall is closed. As always it's best to come before 3pm to avoid things selling out. Enjoy, Simon
0
Votes
Moronstravels
27 August 2016|
Answer
Response from SimonLong1 | Property representative |
Hello. If you're referring to the kebab stall, yes. And it is possible to have it without onion. We have a limited veggie menu at events due to the amount of chicken we get through. Fridge space is at a premium. Hope that's... More
0
Votes
Amanda C
7 March 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from SimonLong1 | Property representative |
Thanks Amanda. The daily meaty special (except on Sunday) and soup of the day are gluten free. You can also have the pulled pork with salad in a box, instead of bread. And it's not on the menu, but we do a salad box... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$4 - US$9
Meals
Lunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments
Good for
Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 16:00
Monday
09:00 - 16:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 16:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 16:00
Thursday
09:00 - 16:00
Friday
09:00 - 16:00
Saturday
09:00 - 17:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Shambles | York YO1 7LX, York YO1 7LX, England (Formerly Xing)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  York
  • Phone Number: +44 1904 674684
  • E-mail
Description
A small sandwich shop with a big reputation. Everything is made from scatch, on site, to our own recipes. We only have 8 seats but have a very quick turnaround and all our food is available to takeaway. Our specialty is our succulent Pulled Pork sandwich and Shambles Reuben. The meats are smoked overnight, rested for 1 hour and served quick-sharp to avoid drying out. Come between 11am and 3pm to avoid missing out on it.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing