We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Old White Hart

Certificate of Excellence
££ - £££
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Cotton End | Southbridge, Northampton NN4 8BS, England
+44 1604 709990
Website
Today
12:00 - 21:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 18:00
Mon - Thu 12:00 - 21:00
Fri - Sat 12:00 - 21:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

242 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 240: English reviews
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Chose here for a Sunday lunch based on Trip Adviser. The staff gave a friendly welcome and got our drinks in good time but took a long time to take our food order. After ordering, I had to check where our starters were as it was a full hour after we arrived. They'd forgotten to put the order through to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gideon G
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Stumbled across this place and I am glad I did! Trying to eat healthily while working away from home and staying in a hotel is very challenging. The menu is great and full of temptation, while the super salad is just that. Great staff. Great food. Reasonable prices. Will return!

Helpful?
Thank Tom R
OWH I, Manager at The Old White Hart, responded to this review

Thanks for taking time to post. Were really glad you enjoyed it. Hope to see you again in the future. More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great food, great service, great price! All in all, a fantastic restaurant. Definitely recommend! All of the food was delicious and cooked to perfection!

Helpful?
Thank Mark H
OWH I, Manager at The Old White Hart, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post. Were really glad you enjoyed it. More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went the White heart for my birthday the meal was lovely we had the steak it melted in your mouth the two waitresses were lovely very friendly made us feel really welcome will definitely go there again

Helpful?
2 Thank Sue M
OWH I, Manager at The Old White Hart, responded to this review

Thanks for posting, were really glad you enjoyed the steak. They are sourced in Bedfordshire and the feedback on them has been really positive. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

We booked our Christmas dinner here for 18 people. I like the pub, it has a nice ambiance and decor. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the food was good. The only issue was how many they were catering for on the night, it was perhaps just too many and led to a fractured service.

Helpful?
Thank Linda O
OWH I, General Manager at The Old White Hart, responded to this review

Thank you Linda, glad you enjoyed the ambiance & food. We take on board your feedback & we'll look at how we organise our numbers ongoing & indeed next xmas. Once again Thank you for coming to us at the OWH. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

A group of us went to old white hart for our x mas meal and to add a little twist we were ex old staff (bar one who still works there) . It was a great evening and the food was really nice. The service was spot on and the staff welcoming. Have to admit, it was lovely to be... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lauren K
OWH I, General Manager at The Old White Hart, responded to this review

Lovely to be able to serve you & the girls. It was great that get you to kick your heels up for a change. Thanks & see you again very soon. More 

Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2016

Visited The Old White Hart for our annual work's Christmas do. Function room OK upstairs, but few chairs available and room quite small considering the amount of people allowed. Bar one end, staffed most of the evening by only two people, so quite busy!!! DJ OK, not sure if supplied by the venue - choice of music at times a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lisa J
OWH I, General Manager at The Old White Hart, responded to this review

Thanks for the review Lisa, your party was indeed busy and agree we could have done with an extra member of staff on for your group. The Room layout & food choices were all by request. We offer a multitude of options on both and let the client have the final say on this. DJ's we do have a nominated... More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

I want to be positive. I'm really sorry, but it was so poor from beginning to end. Started with an empty soulless restaurant, no welcome. Had to go to ask where to go for a table. I can live with that. We got the menu. Pure pub food unfortunately- I'd expected more based on previous reviews - the only reason... More 

Helpful?
Thank nk1210
OWH I, General Manager at The Old White Hart, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. Really sorry you didn't enjoy your visit. If you can contact me direct at the old white hart inn i'd love to discuss your comments and make it right. More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

We have been here a couple of times because my grandmother likes to come. This time it was her 95th birthday. The location is handy for family coming from neighbouring counties, and there is a nice big private room we can use. Over all it was good and we got a nice meal. It was all just a bit slow... More 

Helpful?
Thank Craig W
OWH I, General Manager at The Old White Hart, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and visiting us again. Really glad you enjoyed the meal and the room. We are a new team and will take on board you're feedback re the timings of the meal. Massively appreciate you having your event here with us and your return for family events. More 

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

This always was a destination for a guaranteed good meal. Visited many times and I gave this venue 5* last year. The pub itself is a fantastic venue and the Staff are pleasant enough. But what direction are the owners going in? Before it was close to a gastro pub however It now appears,from looking at the new menu, they... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Craig H
OWH I, General Manager at The Old White Hart, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Really glad you enjoy the venue & staff. We have been in the process of changing the menu and the business. This is a result of the feedback we have had from the vast majority of our regulars. We've moved prices down, introduced bar snacks & sharing plates for our guests. Our food is all freshly... More 

Travellers who viewed The Old White Hart also viewed

Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Kislingbury, Northampton
Denton, Northampton
 

Been to The Old White Hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$15 - US$25
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Private Dining, Free Off-Street Parking, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 18:00
Monday
12:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 21:00
Thursday
12:00 - 21:00
Friday
12:00 - 21:30
Saturday
12:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Cotton End | Southbridge, Northampton NN4 8BS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northamptonshire  >  Northampton
  • Phone Number: +44 1604 709990
Description
Public House, serving fresh food from Noon until 9pm. Sunday until 6pm. Private dining available & large parties our specialty. Private hire rooms available. 180 Seater courtyard with heaters. Booking advised but not essential.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Old White Hart staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?