We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old White Hart

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015 - 2017 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

Local cuisine, Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Business meetings

Location and contact

About
Public House, serving fresh food from Noon until 9pm. Sunday until 6pm. Private dining available & large parties our specialty. Private hire rooms available. 180 Seater courtyard with heaters. Booking advised but not essential.
PRICE RANGE
US$16 - US$26
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
FEATURES
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Private Dining, Validated Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards
Reviews (305)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveller rating
201
62
19
15
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
201
62
19
15
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burger beef potatoes bread function room the pub sunday lunch christmas meal lovely meal booked a table owh specials mains roast
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 302 reviews
Reviewed today via mobile

Came in for a drink but the draft ales were strangely off. However we persevered opting for bar meals and a designer lager. All good, helpful staff and smart decor - so what's the problem? Well it lacks ambiance, nicely decorated but with no curtains...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank neillypie
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have never had a bad meal here. Food was lovely and service excellent. I would recommend this place to anyone and prices more than reasonable.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank ZD216
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We pre ordered for party of 20 but most found the food disappointing. Soggy batter on the fish, missing veg, inedible beef to give few examples. Of course we accepted a good reduction on the expected cost but really we did not enjoy our visit....More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank nickm45
OWH I, Owner at The Old White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Nick, Thank you for taking the time to write in. As we explained on the evening, we are very sorry that your meal was not up to our usual high standers. Our head chef was away on holiday this week and we thought that...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had prebooked a table as part of a birthday celebration and I called ahead to see if they did anything for a birthday as I remember being asked this when I made the booking online but was told they don't do anything. Bit confusing...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Bexxcx
OWH I, Owner at The Old White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Bexxcx, Thank you for writing in. I am sorry to hear about your experience at the OWH.I will look into your query about the birthday question on the website. I will also let you know that we are now under new management so I...More

Reviewed 12 January 2019 via mobile

Recommended to us by a friend, and we were not disappointed. The staff were very helpful and chatty, really looked after us. The menu is smaller than many other places but the choice you have is still a tough one. So many “want to try”...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank martynd791
Reviewed 31 December 2018 via mobile

I booked a table for 15 as a surprise leaving meal for my sister. We were seated in the lounge which was lovely and we were able to put some decorations up too! The food was great and we were all impressed with the efficiency...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Melanie B
Reviewed 31 December 2018

Visited here a few times and it seems to get a bit worse every time. I ordered the cod rarebit for £15. The cod was the smallest portion i have ever received and there was way too much cheese covering it, and with it i...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank hollie90mx
OWH I, General Manager at The Old White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2018

Thanks for the review. Really sorry that you didn't enjoy the cod or the bacon loin. Both have been really popular & this is the first negative feedback we've had on them. Any issues on the day we will always do our best to resolve...More

Reviewed 30 December 2018 via mobile

Visited with a large group for dinner. Staff were friendly and well organised with getting the pre order right. Food was great and excellent value. Onsite parking.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Sarah D
Reviewed 29 December 2018 via mobile

Service great, Harley really looked after us. Food delicious and arrived with just the right time gaps between starter and mains. We really enjoyed our meal. This is well worth a visit. Plenty of parking too, good children's menus and very reasonably priced for the...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Chick-o-chick
Reviewed 28 December 2018

I really like the place - and have been 3 times recently whilst working on Northampton. Good choice of ales. The food is good - tasty, a cross between fine-dining and rustic - just nicely done. And good value. Would recommend.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Matt595
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 26 nearby hotels
Premier Inn Northampton Town Centre Hotel
473 reviews
.43 miles away
Travelodge Northampton Central
328 reviews
.51 miles away
Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre
799 reviews
.58 miles away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
748 reviews
.65 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 629 nearby restaurants
Aladdin's
504 reviews
.33 miles away
Clary's Restaurant
266 reviews
.39 miles away
Baloo Indian Restaurant & Takeaway
539 reviews
.11 miles away
Sophia's
1,232 reviews
.40 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 164 nearby attractions
The Pinnacle Climbing Centre
137 reviews
.48 miles away
78 Derngate
567 reviews
.49 miles away
Royal & Derngate Theatre
987 reviews
.47 miles away
Phipps NBC - The Albion Brewery
79 reviews
.39 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Peter C
31 July 2018|
Answer
Response from andrewcdwfc | Reviewed this property |
Not sure what the question is - sorry.
0
Votes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing