We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice2023
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
£10 - £25
CUISINES
Bar, International
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (586)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
579 results
Traveller rating
323
114
71
38
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
323
114
71
38
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch baked alaska fillet steak chicken colour changing amazing cocktails salt and pepper cocktail menu food was lovely booked a table mocktails booth vegan
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Perfect atmosphere, nice music. The cocktails and the food were out of this world and the people there amazing!!!! Bravo!!!

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alchemist Nottingham, General Manager at The Alchemist Nottingham, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Nicola Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience with us. We’re so glad you enjoyed your experience enough to leave feedback and we hope to see you again soon. Have a fantastic day! Thank you, The Alchemist Nottingham

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked here for cocktails and a meal. We all had cocktails. I had chicken in a basket. Buttermilk chicken which was lovely. Fries, slaw and BBQ sauce. All very nice

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alchemist Nottingham, General Manager at The Alchemist Nottingham, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Shaz Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience with us. We’re so glad you enjoyed your experience enough to leave feedback and we hope to see you again soon. Have a fantastic day! Thank you, The Alchemist Nottingham

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a couple of drinks. Pina colada, possibly the worst I've ever had! In fact it was the worst!. Second round I went for a bloody mary, can't really mess that one up, the other three went for the strawberry daiquiri, they weren't overly impressed....The bloody Mary was.....alright. 2 rounds 88 quid. Not the smartest money I've spent. Better places at much better prices. It's all a bit too "speciql"!More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alchemist Nottingham, General Manager at The Alchemist Nottingham, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good Afternoon Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience with us. We always strive to improve within all aspects of the business and your feedback will be reviewed by the team and taken on board. Have a fantastic day and...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very disappointed was really looking forward to our meal my meal come cold so I sent it back I was waiting when it finally come it didn’t taste or look anything like what’s advertised I was only little bit through my steak roll when the...Manager came and asked me if I wanted a box to take it home I left half it because I didn’t enjoy was watching you all time when we asked for the bill, the lady bought it. I’m not even a minute later she came back and asked if we was ready to pay when there was four of us that needed to go through it to pay the place wasn’t that busy so couldn’t understand why food was cold both of my friends flat bread was cold to I won’t be returningMore

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alchemist Nottingham, General Manager at The Alchemist Nottingham, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Maria Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback about your recent visit, we’re sorry to hear you had a negative experience with us. We would be grateful for the opportunity to discuss this further, if you could share your contact details...More

Reviewed 13 April 2024

We visited the Alchemist prior to going to the theatre. It was amazing. Our sever Liv was excellent. Gave amazing advice on the menu. The cocktails were beautiful I had a larva lamp. We had a starter and a main. Because we were going to...the theatre 15 percent was taken of our food bill. Our experience was fascinating we would definitely visit againMore

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alchemist Nottingham, General Manager at The Alchemist Nottingham, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2024

Hi Tina Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience with us. We will be sure to pass on your lovely feedback to Liv. We’re so glad you enjoyed your experience enough to leave feedback and we hope to see you...More

Reviewed 29 March 2024

Thoroughly good experience, even when very busy got great humour and service from staff Kada and Oliver who gave a good show and explanation when serving the drinks even though the place was very busy on a Saturday afternoon / evening. The drinks are brilliant...as always and really is a great place.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alchemist Nottingham, General Manager at The Alchemist Nottingham, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2024

Good Morning, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience with us. We’re glad you enjoyed your experience enough to leave feedback and we hope to see you again soon. Have a fantastic day! Thank You, The Alchemist Nottingham

Reviewed 16 March 2024 via mobile

Really enjoyed the cocktails. Staff were a bit hit and miss and we had to find a server to order more drinks. By the time we had had about 5 cocktails each then they would ask us. It did feel as if some of the...serving staff don’t really enjoy their job. One guy was great and asked my husband and I if we had co-ordinated clothes and then called us blue/green for the rest of the evening. He may the experience better. Food was not great. We had cheese burger and fries - probably the better meal. Cubano hand held avoid although chips were good. Duck pancakes were ok. Crispy noodles pointless and tasteless. Also a pile of grease under the pancakes. Hot honey corn ribs tasty but so greasy. Go for the cocktails. I do wonder if the Alchemist needs a kick up the bum because the cocktails are not as unique/theatrical as they once were.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alchemist Nottingham, General Manager at The Alchemist Nottingham, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2024

Good Evening. Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience with us and your lovely comments about one of the servers. We always strive to improve within all aspects of the business and your feedback will be reviewed by the team...More

Reviewed 7 March 2024 via mobile

Visited The Alchemist in Nottingham with two other couples recently and have to say it was a thoroughly enjoyable experience. Excellent decor, decent music (which was loud enough to hear but not too loud you could not talk), great service and a super array of...drinks and particularly cocktails to choose from. Cocktails (and drinks overall) are a bit more expensive than standard but as per the name of the establishment they are presented with a bit of theatre which makes them well worth the extra couple of pounds. As examples we had one cocktail which was based on Jaffa cakes and you could eat the ‘glass’ as it was made of like a waffle ice cream cone material and another which came in flask which you’d see in a chemistry lab and was ‘smoking and bubbling’. You’d not want to drink here regularly but on a night out it’s great, creates conversation points and isn’t expensive for what you get.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alchemist Nottingham, General Manager at The Alchemist Nottingham, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2024

Good Evening Willow, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience with us. We’re glad you enjoyed your experience enough to leave feedback and we hope to see you again soon. Have a fantastic day! Thank You, The Alchemist Nottingham

Reviewed 27 February 2024

We went for my sons 21st birthday, there were 4 of us. I didn't realise at the time that the 10 percent service charge added was for tables of 6 or more, so why were we charged it?? Also the steak is very tiny! And...chips aren't included. Overall a bit disappointed 😞More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alchemist Nottingham, General Manager at The Alchemist Nottingham, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2024

Good Afternoon. Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback about your recent visit, we’re sorry to hear you had a negative experience with us. We do add service charge to all of our dinning tables however this is optional and we are...More

Reviewed 1 February 2024 via mobile

Love this place. The menu can vary from time to time so sometimes I miss my favorite meals, but im never disappointed in the service, cleanliness or experience.More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alchemist Nottingham, General Manager at The Alchemist Nottingham, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2024

Good Morning MissWonderSeeker, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience with us. We’re so pleased you've continued to enjoy your experiences enough to leave feedback we look forward to seeing you again soon! Have a fantastic day! Thank You, Michael...More

Reviewed 28 January 2024 via mobile

Won’t be visiting again. Shame, as it looks like it would be a nice place for a drink. My fiancé and I visited early on Saturday eve (about 6:30). It was busy enough that there was nowhere to sit, but that was fine. Managed to...find a drink menu and then went to the bar to order drinks. We got to the front of the bar but were frustrated when the staff kept serving people behind us, or who had pushed in next to us. Poor bar management from the staff so we gave up after 15 minutes and left.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alchemist Nottingham, General Manager at The Alchemist Nottingham, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2024

Good Morning MatV78. Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback about your recent visit, we’re sorry to hear you had a negative experience with us. Please can you provide us with your contact details so we can get more information about your...More

Reviewed 27 January 2024 via mobile

Took my son and his mates from university there for a meal and asked for obligatory service charge to be removed it was that poor! We were a table of 8 and got seated ok but that is just about where the good service stopped....We had to ask waiting staff if we could order drinks after sitting for 15 mins with no acknowledgement - despite 3 staff having a social near our table. Granted these came - eventually - and we ordered food. Again all came and to be fair the food was tasty. That said none of our sides came with the main course and we had to chase twice. We were told that they were on their way after everyone had finished their mains so we cancelled them. Again wanted more drinks and had to chase down a waiter to order which was far from ideal. All in all a really poor event and disappointing as we’re we’re treating my son and friends to the meal.. I have used the chain in Manchester and London and never been disappointed but it seems like the one in Nottingham has different standards in a bad way! Do not go; spend your money else where.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alchemist Nottingham, General Manager at The Alchemist Nottingham, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2024

Good Afternoon. Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback about your recent visit, we’re sorry to hear you had a negative experience with us. Please can you provide us with your contact details so we can get more information about your visit....More

Reviewed 13 January 2024

Absolutely shocking. Came for bottomless brunch and the worse staff, service Had only 3 drinks and I had to chase all the time for just them. Let’s say don’t go for btoolmless brunch . Turtle bay all the wayMore

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alchemist Nottingham, General Manager at The Alchemist Nottingham, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2024

Good Evening Kyles2000. Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback about your recent visit, we’re sorry to hear you had a negative experience with us. Please can you provide us with your contact details so we can get more information about your...More

Reviewed 1 January 2024

Wouldn’t recommend booking or coming to the alchemist. Paid the deposit for a specific time slot to have a meal for New Year’s Eve and booked it a month in advance as it was a birthday meal and stated this on the booking, got there...slightly late (around 15min late ) and was refused entry as they gave our table to someone else so they must have given our table away right before we turned up which goes to show just how much they value money rather then they do customers as they didn’t even offer to re-sit or allow us to wait until a table was free which they stated they would in the booking email and because they didn’t it meant the deposit fee we paid was just wasted. Overall was a bad experience and definitely won’t be booking here again and wouldn’t recommend any one else to book as they just take your money if you book in advance and then just give your table away if you’re not there bang on the time slot start time.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 January 2024

Came here for girlfriends birthday on New year's eve. Got there abit late to be told we couldn't have our table and that they gave it to someone else. Very poor customer service. We expect to be refunded for deposit. Wouldn't recommend

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Best Western Plus Nottingham City Centre
1,563 reviews
.14 miles away
Hilton Nottingham
113 reviews
.17 miles away
Park Plaza Nottingham
2,934 reviews
.19 miles away
ibis Nottingham Centre
1,630 reviews
.19 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Bill's Nottingham
1,558 reviews
.02 miles away
Revolucion De Cuba
2,502 reviews
.06 miles away
French Living
811 reviews
.04 miles away
Josephine's Tea Lounge & Bistro
278 reviews
.06 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Old Market Square
850 reviews
.07 miles away
Nottingham Tourism Centre
29 reviews
.06 miles away
Primark
12 reviews
.05 miles away
Watson Fothergill Walk
49 reviews
.06 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
polly12334
5 February 2020|
Answer
Response from Shelagh C | Reviewed this property |
When we were there there was a huge age range of people so yes I'm sure it would be suitable- everyone seemed to be having fun! Hope this helps
1
Vote
Carron L
30 December 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Nottinghambdm | Property representative |
Hi Cazzal198, Apologies we are only just getting back to you on this! We can indeed do mocktails substituted for cocktails, just call the venue on 0115 9509416 and ask for Jodi our Business Development Manager and she will... More
0
Votes
G4940BSseans
3 December 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from brodyk675 |
2pm
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE ALCHEMIST NOTTINGHAM - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Food Delivery & Takeaway - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Alchemist Nottingham

The Alchemist Nottingham is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 3