We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Staunton Arms

££ - £££, British,
Staunton in the Vale, Nottingham NG13 9PE, England
+44 1400 281218
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good24%
  • Average4%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“pie” (20 reviews)
“pea shoots” (3 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Staunton in the Vale, Nottingham NG13 9PE, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Looking for something different on way back north I found this little gem! I asked for ground floor and received an email saying the room would have some noise. When we arrived the bar was full of people dining. It was homely and welcoming. Andy...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Bondychris104
StauntonArms, General Manager at The Staunton Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your great review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us as well as your evening meals. We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The waitress was very helpful answered all the questions that were asked. I firstly ordered leg of lamb unfortunately it wouldn’t be pink only well done. ONe of my group had it and said it was very good. My brother had pork cutlet said it...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Cherry K
StauntonArms, Manager at The Staunton Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us this review! We are glad you enjoyed your meals with us, if you ever require anything extra please feel free to ask and we will be more than happy to provide this! In regards...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived late on a Saturday afternoon, I liked the place immediately, it had a lovely warm feel and was decorated nicely for Christmas. The room we stayed in was small but had all we needed, the evening meal was good, I really didn't enjoy...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank C6132NOkarenw
StauntonArms, Manager at The Staunton Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your great review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and enjoyed your evening meal and breakfast. We will pass all your kind comments on to our staff, and take on board your feedback to help us improve...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On one of our monthly trips up to visit parents in Nottingham-shire we stopped in to the Staunton Arms for Lunch. The service was excellent however I would surmise with the pre-Christmas rush for people to see each other the food was a bit of...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank mintmoocher
StauntonArms, Manager at The Staunton Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the kind comments regarding the service, we are glad to hear you were well looked after during your time with us. In regards to the food, we are very sorry to hear you were not 100% happy with all of your meals....More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had chosen this pub blindly, not knowing the area or whether it would be nice, it just just in the right place for family travelling from all different areas. I was really pleased to be greeted by a warm and cosy local pub -...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Holmsie93
StauntonArms, Manager at The Staunton Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for such a fantastic review! We pride ourselves on great food accompanied by exceptional service and we are so happy to hear this paid off during your visit to us. We will pass all of your feedback onto the team and look forward...More

Reviewed 25 November 2018

Food ok, not enough veg but overall well cooked,Rather noisy atmosphere with piped music too loud where we sat.Whilst the food was good service a bit too quick felt we where rushed and overall not good value for money.Main coures, sweet, drink and coffee was...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Brian M
StauntonArms, General Manager at The Staunton Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2018

Thank you for your review Brian, and sorry to hear that you were not happy with your visit. We encourage our customers to let us know when they are unhappy with anything whilst they are dining, so that we can rectify the situation straight away,...More

Reviewed 25 November 2018 via mobile

My husband and I visited Staunton Arms today for Sunday lunch. The pub was super busy with the Christmas fayre, but we had pre booked. The pub was so busy, but the service was still excellent. We both has roast beef and the trimmings. The...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Keliamli
StauntonArms, General Manager at The Staunton Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2018

Thank you for your excellent review! We pride ourselves on providing exceptional food and service and we are so happy to hear it payed off on this occasion! We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Reviewed 18 November 2018 via mobile

Visited on a Saturday evening. Cosy , welcoming country pub. Good quality pub food,relaxed dining , friendly staff .

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank maxotis23
StauntonArms, Manager at The Staunton Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2018

Thank you for a lovely review! I will be sure to pass your comments onto the team, we look forward to seeing you again!

Reviewed 10 November 2018

Fish & Chips at £12.95 was a great disappointment. Small piece of fish and seven chips was not good value. Pork Tenderloin at £16.25, was tasteless and served with greasy discoloured potatoes.More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Martin R
StauntonArms, Manager at The Staunton Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2018

Hi there Marin, We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your meal with us, our fish and chips are a very popular dish so we are surprised to hear it did not meet your expectations. Our ingredients are all sourced locally from...More

Reviewed 9 November 2018

The Vale of Belvoir Cycling Clubs Friday Ladies visited after hearing about the Amazing Sausage Rolls the pub sold. We were not disappointed. The group was 24 strong, but we were served quickly and the food was delicious. We sat outside in the gazebo which...More

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Donna A
StauntonArms, Manager at The Staunton Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2018

Hi Donna, Thank you very much for your great review! We are glad you enjoyed your trip out to us and enjoyed using our heated marquee! We will pass all your great comments on to the staff and hope to see you again soon!

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 40 hotels in Nottingham
The Olde Barn Hotel
2,160 reviews
5.03 miles away
Travelodge Grantham A1
198 reviews
5.66 miles away
The Grange Hotel
315 reviews
5.90 miles away
Best Western Deincourt Hotel
407 reviews
6.05 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Royal Oak
188 reviews
1.92 miles away
The Durham OX
204 reviews
2.74 miles away
The Thatch
357 reviews
2.95 miles away
The Wheatsheaf Inn
237 reviews
3.24 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Orston Shooting Ground
17 reviews
2.52 miles away
Little Jack's Farm and Garden Centre
13 reviews
2.83 miles away
The Chequers Inn
6 reviews
3.84 miles away
Chesters Bar and Restaurant
28 reviews
4.98 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Sweetest S
9 September 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from bangerward | Reviewed this property |
I have no idea. Suggest you try phoning direct.
1
Vote
Mallory73
18 June 2015|
Answer
Response from simonjrobertson01 | Reviewed this property |
There is a children’s play area with swings etc and seats from where you can supervise them. I believe this area is also to be upgraded next year so yes is the answer to your question.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$16 - US$24
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Staunton in the Vale, Nottingham NG13 9PE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Nottinghamshire  >  Nottingham
  • Phone Number: +44 1400 281218
  • E-mail
Description
The Staunton Arms Country Freehouse - Re-opened in September, 2010. Listed pub delivering freshly prepared dishes every lunchtime and evening as well as a great cup of coffee. Hand picked cask ales from local and regional brewers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing