We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
£25 - £35
CUISINES
European, British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (989)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
982 results
Traveller rating
511
255
127
57
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
511
255
127
57
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bread risotto beef sandwiches hambleton hall special occasion food and wine harts starters
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago

I had been a few years ago for lunch and it was fabulous. Have just been and it was a real disappointment.. a choice of 3 starters and 3 main courses … I had a Hobsons choice and didn’t enjoy either as I had no...choice!! There was hardly anyone in the restaurant so clearly those in Nottingham had worked this out. Don’t bother and go to the sister restaurant in Rutland..More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adam Worthington, General Manager at Hart's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your review. We remain committed to working with high quality fresh ingredients. For a small restaurant such as ours this implies limited choice. Available also was the offer of the snack menu with many lighter options. We are delighted that you rated...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely quiet spot with a bit of greenery a few hundred yards from the city centre. Service impeccable, perfect menu for a light lunch, which we had, or something more substantial. Will definitely go again.

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Disappointing Valentines meal. This deal was over-priced. My main of fried halloumi & tempera battered vegetables looked unappetising, tasted greasy & was a poor vegetarian option. Desert of poached pear was also inedible. Unsure what the pear was poached in! Service was genuinely inattentive &...when they cleared table cloths & blew out candles on other tables while there were 2 tables left at 10pm summed up how poor the service was. Staff seemed inexperienced & the food was sub standard.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adam Worthington, General Manager at Hart's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are very sorry you didn't enjoy your valentines dinner with us. We had a very experienced team on duty that night. Everyone else had a pleasant evening.

Reviewed 21 January 2024 via mobile

Afternoon tea was spoilt by poor communication. There were 5 of us out to celebrate our friends 50th birthday. The table had been booked the week before by one of the party and I then contacted the restaurant twice, by email which never got responded...to and also then by phone. I asked if there were any other sandwich options on the afternoon tea other than what is advertised on their website sample menu, I explained I was a fussy eater and didn’t want to make a fuss on the day and if I gave them enough notice maybe they could provide me something a bit plainer like cheese, beef or chicken, nothing extraordinary! I also requested a plain scone which if the kitchen are making them from scratch each day should be no problem. Unfortunately nothing had been passed onto anyone as when we received our afternoon tea none of my requests had been listened to, I received an afternoon tea which I wouldn’t eat 75% of. I then had to go through the embarrassment I’d tried to avoid of going through it with the waitress, then the manager etc. I did eventually get some other sandwiches and dessert but by this point everyone else had eaten and the event tarnished, which is upsetting. It was however entertaining when another diner at another table was so drunk he fell off his chair and lay across the restaurant floor!! Very classy! No discount, no complimentary drink offered for their lack of communication! And still put 12.5% service charge on the bill! What if it had been a food allergy I’d informed them of which they failed to communicate? I think it’s safe to say none of us will return and will have nothing positive to say about the place to anyone else! Shocking for what is supposed to be one of the places to eat in Nottingham!!More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adam Worthington, General Manager at Hart's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2024

Thank you for your review. We apologise for the breakdown in communication in relation to your dietary requirements, although we are pleased that we were still able to accommodate the majority of these on the day and in a timely manner. We are in touch...More

Reviewed 20 January 2024 via mobile

Well all ordered the sea bass main course which was superb, memorably so, Puddings were very good. The only thing that was disappointing given the prices and food standard is the inexperience of the waitress who was sweet but sadly not very competent. We would...expect a higher level of service from an establishment like this.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 December 2023

We came on a Saturday night. And ordered from the December a la carte menu. Was hoping to have the venison but that had changed to the pheasant. I ordered the pheasant, it was really nice- full of flavour. The others opted for turkey. A...big piece of turkey and I tried a bit, was really tasty also. I had the cheese for dessert which had a local cheese on, very nice. The service was very atttentive. Being during Christmas there was a rowdy table enjoying themselves but they did quieten down. A very enjoyable meal in an intimate restaurant, Would definitely like to come again.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 December 2023

Afternoon tea was excellent. Lovely relaxing atmosphere plus first class service. Would highly recommend.

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 November 2023

We went for afternoon tea for my birthday. My Dad had been several years earlier and it was amazing. However, we were pretty unimpressed with the afternoon tea. The sandwiches were quite bland and the cakes quite dry. I didn’t feel the service was great...either as had to keep calling the server over. Very disappointed for the price we paid.More

Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 November 2023 via mobile

Hart's never disappoints. The restaurant is small but not cramped. It's very comfortable. The staff and service are excellent. Great food and wine too. Looking forward to a rapid return.

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 August 2023

We went to Harts for our 11th anniversary. We thought it would be extra special but unfortunately the experience wasn’t as good as expected. We both went for the Sunday set menu which is £32 for 2 courses and £38 for 3 courses. It was...a very limited set menu with only 2 starters and 2 mains to chose from. We had the homemade soup and the pork pate to start with followed by the roast and cod loin. The soup was ok, well seasoned and thick. The cod however was very small, very thin and terribly over cooked. It was served on a bed of some green leaves and seaweed. You could then pour the miso broth over but the fish came with nothing else at all. It was bland, hard and just didn’t feel like that dish was actually £24!! The waiter was very nice and attentive but the food was average and expensive. Also, the set menu works out at £38 for 3 courses but when I did my maths they had charged me £2 more for each set menu so the bill was £4 more than it should have been. Based on my experience today, I don’t think I will be recommending Harts to any of my friends as it felt totally overrated and expensive.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 July 2023

four main is very poor choice on top only rump steak available which was cut on 4 slices and put on a bed of cold salad it was not tender and for about 29 pounds a complete rip off probably the chef thought he was...serving a chateaubriand.the restaurant is not that elegant to warrant such high prices .the wine list as unreasonable prices all in all there is nothing to reccomend this presumptuous restaurantMore

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 July 2023 via mobile

Post-graduation celebration lunch, food was good. It’s quite small, atmosphere was a bit lacking but maybe better in the evening.

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 June 2023 via mobile

Food was excellent and service was very friendly. We were there very early evening and although it was quiet the atmosphere still still felt welcoming and comfortable.

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 March 2023 via mobile

41st anniversary lunch … chilled, attentive and well prepared food albeit from a limited menu. Different but distinct. Thank you

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 December 2022

We dined with Harts as a party of 10 in celebration of my father’s 100th birthday booked well ahead. An agreement was made on the telephone at the time of booking that the table would be ours for as long as we needed. Perfect as...guests had travelled a long way to be with my father who is understandably slow and needed to be unrushed. Our welcome and service from the staff at the table was excellent. We even agreed to have photos taken by a member of staff for their publicity and marketing purposes as they said they have rarely (if ever) accommodated a 100th celebration. My father was enjoying himself and regaling us with his lifetime stories, when were asked to vacate the table for another party and move to the fireplace area. Surprised and stunned at this unexpected request we reluctantly agreed, only to find insufficient and inadequate seating for us. Harts was comprised with the unfortunate second booking presenting a difficulty. Clearly one of the parties was going to be upset and regrettably that is us. We have complained on the day itself and in a telephone conversation with the manager and a letter to the owners, only to be met with a response that we had much longer than they would usually allocate, and a denial that they would make any such commitment to us regarding keeping our table. I shall remember my father’s demeanor changing from pleasure to bewilderment as he stood in total confusion wondering why we were all standing in the foyer with nowhere to go. We have received no apology for our unexpected curtailed celebration. Whereas we do not expect charity, we had spent a lot of money with Harts on that day, and if priority cannot be given for 100 year old gentleman I don’t know what can. I have withdrawn permission for our photos to be used.More

Date of visit: December 2022
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hart's Hotel & Kitchen
724 reviews
.01 miles away
St James Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1,170 reviews
.09 miles away
The Britannia Nottingham Hotel
1,626 reviews
.13 miles away
Park Plaza Nottingham
2,911 reviews
.14 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Fothergills
1,616 reviews
.15 miles away
Kottaram
290 reviews
.13 miles away
Calcutta Club
1,481 reviews
.13 miles away
The Castle Pub
452 reviews
.14 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Nottingham Playhouse
339 reviews
.16 miles away
The Robin Hood Experience
132 reviews
.12 miles away
Nottingham Castle
2,427 reviews
.10 miles away
Grosvenor Casino Nottingham
48 reviews
.13 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Sarahnewcombe
29 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from cordeliapennington | Reviewed this property |
I suggest you telephone the restaurant and inform them that you have a voucher which you would like to use, but check that there are no restrictions as to dates etc that they might not accept it (Valentines, Mother’s Day for... More
1
Vote
golfmadviv
26 October 2017|
Answer
Response from HartsNottingham | Property representative |
My apologies for the confusion - we have updated the website - the restaurant is open from 6pm in the evening. April Fawcett Marketing Manager
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

HART'S KITCHEN, Nottingham - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hart's Kitchen

Hart's Kitchen is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4