We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Spice Lounge Burford

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options

Location and contact

Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
CUISINES
Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
FEATURES
Outdoor Seating, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Accepts Credit Cards
Reviews (604)
Filter reviews
600 results
Traveller rating
410
120
33
21
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
410
120
33
21
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews curry poppadoms dhansak rice prawns lamb indian food best indian busy restaurant saturday night fantastic meal visited this restaurant take away excellent food and service burford high street visiting burford friendly atmosphere
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 600 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago

Had a meal here last month, we had three courses, all different selections and every one was delicious. Among the best Indian meals we have had. They deserve their Trip Advisor Ranking. We enjoyed it so much we visited again the following evening to try...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Vicky H
Reviewed 5 days ago

Service was slow - half an hour before food arrived. King Prawn curry wasn't bad but spoiled by tough over-cooked prawns. Very popular so booking essential. Benefits from no local competition. Quite expensive and I would prefer to drive a few miles to find better.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Oxacademic
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Every time we come here the service is warm and friendly, the food is delicious and the prices are great considering the whole experience. There are slightly cheaper Indian restaurants around - in Witney and Carterton particularly but this is by far the best.More

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank traveling_manc
ahadullahshah, Guest Relations Manager at Spice Lounge Burford, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear travelin_manc, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We are very happy to hear were were able to accommodate you. A great customer service is always our main priority, we are glad that both our service and food met...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We ate here on 21 Jan whilst staying in Burford attracted by the No 1 in Burford ranking. What a find. We had one of our best Indian meal experiences for a long time. The food was all well presented and very tasty. Service is...More

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank Hugo B
ahadullahshah, Guest Relations Manager at Spice Lounge Burford, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Hugo B, Thank you for leaving us a great review and rating. We are very pleased to hear that you were happy with your visit. A great customer service is our main priority. We are glad to hear our freshly cooked food was enjoyable...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I visited this restaurant for second time and can say it is amongst the best Asian/Indian restaurants I have ever been to. The service is just right, friendly and prompt and definitely not overly intrusive, the food is prompt and the tastes are sensational in...More

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank AC444444
ahadullahshah, Public Relations Manager at Spice Lounge Burford, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear AC444444, Thank you for a great review. We are very pleased to hear that our service and food was enjoyable, we are always striving to do better and reviews like this motivates us more. We look forward to see you again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We've tried a few - we'd almost say we were something of curry connoisseurs! With our two youngest girls away on sleepovers, this was our opportunity, along with our eldest son, to get out and try something new. We were not disappointed! The food was...More

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank Caroline S
ahadullahshah, Public Relations Manager at Spice Lounge Burford, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Caroline S, Thank you for taking the time to leave this lovely review. We are very pleased to hear that "curry connoisseurs" have given us a thumbs up.We are glad that we were able to accommodate your needs. Our aim is to always deliver...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Well Iam pleasd to say after our last experience which wasn’t good we had a really nice meal the staff were excellent. Hopefully we will be going back soon really good.More

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank David P
ahadullahshah, Public Relations Manager at Spice Lounge Burford, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear David P, Thank you for taking the time to write your review, our customers views are extremely important to us. I am very pleased that your experience with us was a good one, we always strive to do better and please our customers. We...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely restaurant with great service, food was stunning, a must visit if staying in Burford. You won't be disappointed

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank Jonathan A
ahadullahshah, Public Relations Manager at Spice Lounge Burford, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Jonathan A, Thank you for a great review. We are pleased that you enjoyed our service and food. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 6 January 2019

If ever I fancy an Indian, this is the place I go to and I always recommend the Spice Lounge to friends and family. I mostly dine in, and the waiters are really friendly and efficient. I have also collected a take-away order, and the...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank BNewt93
ahadullahshah, Public Relations Manager at Spice Lounge Burford, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Bnewt93, Thank you for leaving a lovely review, customer feedback is extremely important to us. We are pleased that we are able to deliver a good service, and you enjoy our freshly cooked food. It is reviews like this that motivates us to work...More

Reviewed 3 January 2019 via mobile

We went with high expectations but two of our family were delayed arriving. Initially we decided to have a drink and wait but in the end we tired of listening to a child at the next table watching a Disney video on loud speaker so...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Jan O
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 8 nearby hotels
Golden Pheasant
401 reviews
.01 miles away
Burford House
339 reviews
.03 miles away
The Bull at Burford
674 reviews
.05 miles away
The Bay Tree Hotel
763 reviews
.09 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 40 nearby restaurants
The Royal Oak at Burford
580 reviews
.08 miles away
The Highway Hotel Restaurant
306 reviews
.07 miles away
The Carpenters Arms
330 reviews
.43 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 16 nearby attractions
Burford
207 reviews
.07 miles away
St John the Baptist
95 reviews
.12 miles away
Burford Garden Center
77 reviews
.72 miles away
The Burford Tour
29 reviews
.21 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
derekrF4428JP
12 September 2018|
Answer
Response from SammyJoe1975 |
Taxi are available, however advanced bookings are essential as they have to be dispatched from nearby towns
0
Votes
MarkB994
9 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Lee C | Reviewed this property |
I would book, it’s not huge inside, but very popular. I’m not a local, but I’m assuming it would get very busy. We went for 6pm when it opened.
2
Votes
angel4gaz
12 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Troublemaker72 | Reviewed this property |
They serve Beer and wine for sure. Didn’t ask about bringing bottle or corkage fee.
0
Votes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing