We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mill House Hotel and Restaurant

Mill Lodge Station Road | Kingham, Chipping Norton OX7 6UH, England
+44 1608 658188
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent64%
  • Very good26%
  • Average4%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (8 reviews)
“sandwiches” (3 reviews)
“pastry” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Mill Lodge Station Road | Kingham, Chipping Norton OX7 6UH, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 30 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2016

Theset dinner menu changed daily and though the portions were not large, they were tasty and filling. There are several menus to choose from and diners could mix and match if desired without a 3 act play!

Thank LincolnshireLady_10
Millhousesales, Manager at Mill House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

Thank you for your lovely review of the Mill House Hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your food, we look forward to seeing you again!

Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

Came here for dinner with family. The food was great as was the service. We were even able to have our well behaved dog sitting with us. The establishment are nicely decorated and appear to be clean and homely. Look forward to returning.

Thank 683k_rose
Millhousesales, Manager at Mill House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

Thank you for your fabulous review of the Mill House Hotel. I'm glad your enjoyed your meal with us, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Reviewed 7 August 2016

We called in at The Mill for lunch with some friends and have to say it was a lovely meal and the service was also very good, would definitely go back.

Thank Christopher A
Millhousesales, Manager at Mill House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2016

Thank you for your lovely review, we look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

My wife and I have just spent a great 10 days at the Mill House Hotel and Restaurant. Set on the outskirts of Kingham, it was ideally situated for us to explore many of the beautiful villages in the Cotswolds as well as Oxford and...More

Thank Tarntyke
Millhousesales, Manager at Mill House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2016

Thank you for your wonderful review of the Mill House Hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your holiday here with us, we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Reviewed 27 July 2016

The meal had vast amounts of salt in the soup and the main course. We were very polite but the food was inedible sadly although the waitresses were extremely polite. The owner however was downright rude and said she was very angry that we had...More

3  Thank Jane A
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

The food was so salty it was inedible and when we mentioned this to the landlady she was extremely rude. There was no apology and she told us she was very angry that we complained about the food. We would never recommend this place to...More

Thank Dawn O
Millhousesales, Owner at Mill House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2016

I am so sorry you felt I was being rude to you following your complaint about your Sunday lunch with us, as I explained at the time I was very disappointed that you had not enjoyed your meal as we had served over 80 other...More

Reviewed 13 July 2016

good food, service friendly and down to earth, location excellent and outside seating with a view of ground area

Thank fireman50
Millhousesales, Manager at Mill House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2016

Thank you for your lovely review of the Mill House Hotel. We hope to see you here again soon!

Reviewed 13 July 2016

service and atmosphere good, just a nice place from bar to restaurant. great out door seating and surroundings

Thank fireman50
Millhousesales, Manager at Mill House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2016

Thank you for your kind review of the Mill House Hotel. We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 25 June 2016

Over charged for three drinks we never had . Soup dreadful I'm afraid it had no discernible taste just hot water should never have been sent without tasting . Barman a little abrasive , made to feel uncomfortable when simply wanted full salt and pepper...More

Thank Flower P
Millhousesales, Manager at Mill House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2016

I'm sorry to hear you had a bad experience. As hard as we try, unfortunately we can't please everyone.

Reviewed 25 June 2016

We visited mill house whilst on holiday and although we enjoyed its setting ( beautiful spot excellent planting in grounds ) we tried to ignore the niggles but there were to many so I wish to leave our feedback . We arrived choose a nice...More

Thank Flower P
Millhousesales, Manager at Mill House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2016

I'm sorry to hear you had a bad experience. As hard as we try, unfortunately we can't please everyone.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Wild Rabbit
652 reviews
.26 miles away
The Kingham Plough Restaurant
617 reviews
.43 miles away
Tattys Diner
237 reviews
.83 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The King’s Head Inn
6 reviews
1.03 miles away
The Cookery School at Daylesford
21 reviews
1.91 miles away
St Nicholas Church
26 reviews
2.07 miles away
St. Edward's Church
173 reviews
4.47 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Mill House Hotel and Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$34 - US$47
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Kids, View, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 09:30
12:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:00
Monday
08:00 - 09:30
12:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 09:30
12:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 09:30
12:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:00
Thursday
08:00 - 09:30
12:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:00
Friday
08:00 - 09:30
12:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:00
Saturday
08:00 - 09:30
12:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Mill Lodge Station Road | Kingham, Chipping Norton OX7 6UH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Chipping Norton
  • Phone Number: +44 1608 658188
  • E-mail
Description
The Mill offers a wide choice of dining options. The Mill Brook Room features an a la carte menu developed by our Head Chef. His accomplished and memorable cuisine is distinguished by clear flavours, which combine classic and modern styles. Our suppliers are predominantly local and organic. They include butcher Trevor Beadle from Cotswold Meats in Chipping Norton, Oxford Premier Cheese Company and Cotswold Dairies. Our fish is delivered overnight from Brixham Harbour in Devon by New Wave Seafoods of Fairford.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing