We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Plough Inn

Reserve a Table
Sun, 1/20
20:00
2

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Reviews (253)
Filter reviews
250 results
Traveller rating
196
35
10
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
196
35
10
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish and chips burger wild mushrooms rack of lamb cheesecake sirloin ice cream cheese board sunday roast risotto mash bread pudding the pub warm welcome his customers his son
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 250 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

The wife and I took twenty Ramblers on a five mile walk from the Plough to Charlbury . Arriving back at the Plough, we found Guy had laid up tables for us in the bar. The beer was exceptional (was it 4 or 5 real...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank gregbur2n
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My family came along for a delicious New Year’s Day brunch. As soon as we walked in, the atmosphere was friendly and warm, with a fire lit and groups of families dotted around the pub. We were immediately shown our table with care and attention....More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank emilyph90
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My family and I visited the plough on New Year’s Day for a delicious and generous brunch. We were made to feel very welcome and guy the landlord was very accommodating. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and will be returning very soon. Highly recommended for...More

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank DonnaPratley
Reviewed 1 week ago

I came to the pub on a fish and chip Tuesday (2 for 1) and I was blown away with the quality and the portioning!! Guy the landlord is a delight to behold and the barman Callum just as much! Couldn’t fault the service and...More

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank Smiffy0123
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked a table for Sunday Lunch after reading the excellent reviews for The Plough and were not disappointed. From arrival and throughout our meal the friendly landlord and his efficient staff were excellent. The food was superb - roast beef and pork and all...More

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank steeplejack60
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just been to the Plough with our ever-hungry grandson! The food was delicious and plenty of it. So well cooked - all credit to Jordan as always! Guy , the publican , the perfect host - always so welcoming and friendly. The fantastic team behind...More

Date of visit: January 2019
2  Thank Liz S
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I've been to this wonderful pub before and it never disappoints. I travel all the way from Maidenhead for the pleasure of eating here!

Date of visit: January 2019
2  Thank sutty999
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We come back to the UK, from Texas, every Christmas and summer to visit family. Our first stop is always The Plough Inn in Finstock. Guy, the landlord, greets us like we've never been away. We just love this place with its quaint thatched roof,...More

Date of visit: December 2018
3  Thank thebrit69
Reviewed 11 December 2018 via mobile

What a sweet, quaint little village pub. Stopped by here for what I was planning to be a small lunchtime snack. After seeing the delicious menu I opted for the 8oz sirloin and was not disappointed. The landlord Guy and all of his team are...More

Date of visit: December 2018
2  Thank CGPrat
Reviewed 7 December 2018

Visited recently whilst staying at a hotel where we didn’t fancy the menu. The Plough was delightful, how I would expect a village pub to be with locals sitting & chatting.......I want to live in Finstock! Staff were welcoming & made sure we were happy...More

Date of visit: November 2018
2  Thank Helen S
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Ustaritz
11 December 2018|
Answer
Response from TrishP | Reviewed this property |
The postal address is Finstock, Chipping Norton, and TA listings are based on postal addresses.
0
Votes
G1RLONE52
16 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from guy w | Property representative |
Yes
1
Vote
Angela S
4 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from 471rf | Reviewed this property |
The main meals are from about £12.00 to £20.00 for a steak. This reflects excellent value as the food is all cooked using fresh ingredients. I often have to pay as much or more for frozen/reheated dinners at events I have... More
1
Vote
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing