We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Get food delivered
About
Our Giggling Squid Thai restaurant is located in a beautiful market town and home to the famous Regatta, Henley offers scenic river walks, museums and boutique shops, all within reach of our centrally located restaurant - just a short stroll from the local station. Giggling Squid is a Thai restaurant that is all about the spirit of Thai mealtimes - plentiful dishes, exotic ingredients and bold flavours to be enjoyed with your favourite people. Lunch or dinner - inside or under open sky - or a home feast with our takeaway and delivery options, we offer Thai favourites to suit your mood. Whilst our adventurous menus feature ingredients found only in Thailand, our expert Thai chefs also cook up
PRICE RANGE
£8 - £24
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
Asian, Thai
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (856)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
852 results
Traveller rating
400
250
91
65
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
400
250
91
65
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thai food spring rolls sticky rice green curry tapas prawns chicken lunch menu saturday evening attentive service starters henley massaman branch vegan lunchtime
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago

Starter and main course good. Cheesecake though was poor, still frozen. Highlighted to the waitress, who then tried to suggest it was hard because the biscuit base is hard! Definitely frozen…..

Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Having had a few visits to the Giggling Squid chain around England, when we saw this one we were delighted and it didn't disappoint, fabulous food as always

Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were a late table on Thursday night (9pm) and it was clear they’d had a busy evening. We were greeted by Jon as we entered, who was very professional and polite and promised us a table if we gave him a second to get...one ready for us. A table of 4 came in after us and were seated beside us and they were so loud, so we asked to move and he found us a quieter table. The food was amazing as always, and the service from Jon was fantastic. The manager in training for the Beaconsfield branch was also very friendly, and because of him we are looking into going to Thailand in February, he’s made some great recommendations to us! The other waitresses were not as enthusiastic, so we were grateful to have Jon serve us, he made the experience more memorable. We will be back!More

Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager , General Manager at Giggling Squid - Henley, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Lauren, I'm so overjoyed that your enjoyed your experience with us, I will pass on the amazing feedback to Jon and Nicholas! We will see you very soon. Thank you so much for the review!!!!!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Took ages to be served. Drinks sat in the bar next to us waiting to be made for 20 minutes. Food arrived cold. Not lukewarm warm, but actually cold, including a prawn starter and two of the mains. Won’t be back in a ling time,...such a shame. I think they put more focus on their takeaway business to the detriment of the actual restaurantMore

Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager , General Manager at Giggling Squid - Henley, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for letting us know RALONDON71 - we're so sorry you were left disappointed. If you could please email us directly at henley@gigglingsquid.com and include ref number 71931, we will look into this and do our best to put things right. Many thanks, Giggling Squid...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Would recommend this restaurant to everyone. The food is amazing and the staff are so helpful and accommodating. Will definitely be returning soon. If you love Thai, definitely give this place a go!

Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The food was fantastic and the service by all staff was superb, very friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble. I can highly recommend to everyone who enjoys Thai food.

Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager , General Manager at Giggling Squid - Henley, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your feedback, we hope to see you again in Henley for another great meal!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Me and my friend had a lovely meal, the food was wonderful, tasty and well presented. However the service entirely let down the experience. We weren’t met with a smile or warm welcome when we arrived for our table booking. In fact it seemed our...first waitress didn’t want to be there and this feeling was felt across the other two waitress’ that served us. Our order was taken but with little engagement from the team. Our food arrived quickly and was lovely but no food check back was done or were we asked for more drinks. It wasn’t particularly busy and the staff didn’t seem to have much care in making sure people were well looked after. We asked for our bill and paid the discretionary service charge but on reflection I wish we hadn’t. I actually fed back after paying that I felt it was very fair of us to pay the service charge given the most basics parts of service in a restaurant is a check back and this wasn’t done. I politely asked that this was fed back to the team but I was met with a reluctant apology and no confidence that any of my feedback was either taken on board or would be shared with the team.More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager , General Manager at Giggling Squid - Henley, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hey Sophie, looks like your experience at Giggling Squid - Henley wasn't up to our usual standard. We'd love to resolve this for you. If you could please email us directly at henley@gigglingsquid.com and quote ref 71825 and we'll look into this straight away! Thank...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The food as ever with the small family owned and run chain was amazing; however, really bad service. Has the get up and go find a waitress to find out where one of the dishes had gone, as it wasn’t brought to the table. It...was eventually brought out as they’d forgotten it. No one came to check that the food was ok whilst we were eating. I don’t mind paying a service charge but I do feel it’s other a service charge or a tip, don’t be so rude to ask for both aster deliverance of a far from acceptable level of service! I’ll still to the venue in Brighton in futureMore

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager , General Manager at Giggling Squid - Henley, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hey Paul, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're so sorry it wasn’t the excellent experience we always strive to deliver at Giggling Squid. Your feedback is crucial in ensuring we're constantly improving and can assure you this has been...More

Reviewed 8 May 2024

This was a first time visit for myself and my family and having heard great things we had high expectations. The food was nice but the dishes had an overwhelming amount of vegetables which were not advertised on the menu, nevertheless the soft shell crab...and prawns were cooked to perfection. The dessert was amazing, served beautifully and tasted delicious. The service was very slow but charming nonetheless.More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 April 2024

What a night! Had two lovely ladies Harriet and Grace look after me tonight, they need a pay rise! Would definietly recommend to all!

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 April 2024

Such an amazing time at giggling squid, especially thanks to Grace and Harriet! They were both so accommodating and made my night. Will defo be back

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 March 2024 via mobile

I had the most amazing evening meal at the Giggling Squid in Henley with my mum and mother in law to celebrate Mother’s Day. My MIL is celiac, so it can be hard to find restaurants that can safely accommodate and also have more than...one option for her to eat. We had Nadiia serving us and she was exceptional. She made sure to double check everything that was ordered to make sure it was gluten free. We all had the most delicious food and drinks and felt thoroughly well looked after. It was our first time visiting and I can’t wait to go again.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 February 2024

Went for my birthday while staying at a nearby hotel. It was a lovely experience. The staff were very polite and accommodated us arriving early. They also made me a lovely happy birthday dessert plate as a nice surprise. Highly Recommended.

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager , General Manager at Giggling Squid - Henley, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2024

Hi, thank you so much for leaving us a review, I am so overjoyed that you enjoyed your time with us a Giggling squid see you soon!

Reviewed 22 February 2024 via mobile

Dreadful experience there last evening. The place seemed to be fully booked, with one very large group of about 16 but only had two members of staff serving -who were totally rushed off their feet. We had to wait about 40 mins before we had...our order taken but there seemed to be a large number of people queuing for takeout orders including a Deliveroo man who was getting increasingly frustrated by the time that it was taking. To be fair, when we eventually got our food it was quite good but later when we wanted to order a dessert we were told that there was only one available so we gave it a miss. Dirty tables were not cleared promptly when people left as the staff simply did not have the time , I really felt sorry for them . We will not be returning.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager , General Manager at Giggling Squid - Henley, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2024

Hi Nessa, Thank you for your feedback, I am so sorry about the evening you had with us, I really do apologise and would like to resolve the issue, could you please send over your contact number to henley@gigglingsquid.com Look forward to hearing from you....More

Reviewed 15 February 2024

This is my second visit within a week. I love it so much the first time and came back. This time was a spacial occasion and we had so much food. Salt and pepper squid and pork belly, papaya salad, street platter, massaman curry, salmon...paneng, Ki-mow noodles, green curry, pork screwer and more. We enjoyed every single plate. Super tasty I had to order more and more!! We had a lot of food!! They were busy but the food came out so quick and so delicious. The service was outstanding, attentive and efficient, especially the young lady who took our order, she looked after us, always make sure we are ok and check back. To be honest everyone is just loverly and made us feel welcome. So 100% super happy and will be back again for sure. Thank you so much to all staff ❤️More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager , General Manager at Giggling Squid - Henley, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2024

Hi, OMG, I am overjoyed to read this lovely review - I am speechless thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review - we hope to see you soon!!!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Catherine Wheel
949 reviews
.07 miles away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
1,349 reviews
.10 miles away
Phyllis Court Club
222 reviews
.25 miles away
Greenlands Hotel
271 reviews
1.94 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Banana Tree Henley
123 reviews
.01 miles away
Villa Marina
872 reviews
.06 miles away
The Three Tuns
690 reviews
.11 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Lovibonds Brewery
58 reviews
.15 miles away
Henley Royal Regatta
72 reviews
.12 miles away
Kenton Theatre
20 reviews
.12 miles away
Jack's Gallery
11 reviews
.00 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
james97204
24 July 2018|
Answer
Response from sophlovesgreece | Reviewed this property |
I don’t know
-1
Votes
watershedSouthampton
19 July 2018|
Answer
Response from GigglingSquid | Property representative |
Dinner menu begins at 5PM and yes we have a disabled toilet
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

GIGGLING SQUID - HENLEY, Henley-on-Thames - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Food Delivery & Takeaway - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Giggling Squid - Henley

Yes, Giggling Squid - Henley offers takeaway services.

Yes, Giggling Squid - Henley is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Giggling Squid - Henley is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4