We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Perch inn

££ - £££, British,
Binsey lane, Oxford, England
+44 1865 728891
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good27%
  • Average9%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“perch” (262 reviews)
“ox cheek” (34 reviews)
“fish plate” (8 reviews)
Closed Now
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
££ - £££
Binsey lane, Oxford, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (731)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 699 reviews

Reviewed today via mobile

Just had a burger from the shed at the perch. Food was a joke, low quality tasteless burger, dry stale bun, a slice of tomato so thin it was practically transparent and a tiny smear of relish. How they have the audacity to charge £9.50...More

Thank sam p
Reviewed today via mobile

Overpriced for a burger.... £9.50 for solo burger and doesn’t even include chips?! Was served in a stale cheap dry bun with one tiny lettuce leave and a tomato.. the kids cheeseburgers didn’t even have cheese in them! Pretty poor and a shame that there...More

Thank PinkLemonade852
Reviewed today

We could not get table at the restaurant so had to resort to the garden, all really that is on offer are burgers which by the time you add chips and a side is over 12 quid. Incidentally the salad was taking the Mick £2.95...More

Thank RobAiers
Reviewed yesterday

We were in Oxford for the amazing honour of seeing our son graduate with a doctorate. We stayed in a lovely hotel, The Old Parsonage, but had a lovely walk across Port Meadow to the Perch Inn for dinner. What friendly staff they employ who...More

Thank Ruth F
Damien H, General Manager at The Perch inn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Ruth F, Over the moon to read such a warm review! Thank you most kindly. The team all keep an eye of Tripadvisor and will be very pleased to see that you enjoyed your visit.

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Amazing service, beautiful food (I loved the chicken and ham hock pie) Would recommend sitting outside Will definitely return!More

Thank Sarah D
Damien H, General Manager at The Perch inn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Sarah D, Our cooks make a lovely pie, don't they! We're more than a little proud of them and it's wonderful to see them receive such rave reviews. While we change the filling with the seasons, you can be guaranteed of a proper pie...More

Reviewed yesterday

Having grown up in Oxford, the Perch was a long-standing favourite. This trip back, with my children, was the first in 20 years. The setting, the Perch atmosphere, and the food were as beguiling as ever. Waiting staff were excellent but never obtrusive, the food...More

Thank Dimanche2013
Damien H, General Manager at The Perch inn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Dimanche2013, Lovely to see you returning with family after so many years! We're thrilled to see that you enjoyed the food, drink and service and hope to see you a little sooner next time.

Reviewed 2 days ago

Nice summer evening so decided to sit outside, we selected bar menu food as we had not booked for outdoor restaurant. My first impression was nice bubbly staff, the card payment machine was VERY sticky with stale alcohol which I thought was disgusting and had...More

Thank tanya n
Damien H, General Manager at The Perch inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hello tanya n, Naturally, very disappointed to read your review. We use sachets of condiments for the garden because of the very large numbers of people that frequent them. We started with bottles of sauces and condiments when we opened in 2015 and soon found...More

Reviewed 3 days ago

Whether it be snacks or a meal, this place has got it! I was there on a spectacular weather day, so it was wonderful. Staff was accommodating and friendly. Food was great. Topped the day off with a nice walk along the river. perfect!

Thank london0574
Damien H, General Manager at The Perch inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi london0574, Pleased as punch that you enjoyed your visit. Particularly gratifying to see that the team were accommodating and friendly. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you take a relaxing break from the Big Smoke.

Reviewed 4 days ago

We went to The Perch for dinner the evening after dining at The Trout. Poles apart, The Perch wines hands down. All the classic pub dishes to a very high standard, all courses delivered together and on time each course -- six of us dining....More

1  Thank Sinopticus
Damien H, General Manager at The Perch inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hello Sinopticus, Very pleased to see that you enjoyed your meal with us. We hear you loud and clear regards listing wine vintages. In truth, it's a comment that we receive rarely and certainly have nothing "to hide". Your feedback will be considered when the...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

Walking across Port Meadow as the sun is setting and arriving at the beautiful Perch is one of the most English of pub experiences - a really wonderful setting, good pub food, excellent service - I would definitely come back and look forward to a...More

1  Thank lucygB449SW
Damien H, General Manager at The Perch inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi lucygB449SW, Over the moon to see that you think so highly of the pub. We are trying to epitomise that classic, old school, proper pub and it's lovely to see that the hard work is paying off.

Nearby HotelsSee all 45 hotels in Oxford
Richmond Hotel
112 reviews
1.08 miles away
River Hotel
315 reviews
1.13 miles away
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
910 reviews
1.15 miles away
Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel
882 reviews
1.18 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
16 reviews
.92 miles away
The Old Bookbinders Ale House
628 reviews
.89 miles away
The Standard
284 reviews
.96 miles away
Brasserie Blanc
1,294 reviews
.90 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Port Meadow
300 reviews
.72 miles away
Oxford Canal
294 reviews
.87 miles away
Bainton Bikes Cycle Hire & Tours
105 reviews
.88 miles away
College Cruisers
68 reviews
.88 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Michele T
7 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Damien H | Property representative |
Hello Michele, We have gluten-free breads and a number of dishes that can be altered for those with an intolerance to gluten. There is plenty of choice. Just let your waiter know what you need to avoid and they will be able... More
Daniel C
18 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from BenMacDow | Property representative |
I'm sorry we didn't see your question in time. I hope you came along anyway and were able to eat with us. If you ever want to book short notice it is best to contact us by phone on 01865 728891.
18 September 2016|
Response from DeirdraMcA | Property representative |
Hi, Indeed we are very dog friendly! Dogs welcome in the pub and should you wish to dine with us please let us know when booking. See you soon!
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$8 - US$39
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene, View, Kids
Open Hours
10:30 - 22:00
10:30 - 23:00
10:30 - 23:00
10:30 - 23:00
10:30 - 23:00
10:30 - 23:00
10:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Binsey lane, Oxford, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Oxford
  • Phone Number: +44 1865 728891
  • E-mail
A beautiful 300 year old thatched inn on the River Thames very close to Oxford City Centre. We serve a freshly prepared British influenced menu with superb beers and wines. We have a beautiful, large garden and a bespoke marquee that is perfect for weddings and events.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing