We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Perch inn

Certificate of Excellence
££ - £££
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Binsey lane, Oxford, England
+44 1865 728891
Website
Today
10:30 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 10:30 - 22:00
Mon - Sat 10:30 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

414 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 395: English reviews
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Lovely atmosphere at the perch, had a scrummy Sunday roast, the lamb was so delicious. Served by a lovely girl called Maddy who recommended the yummy pork belly bites !!!! Amazing!!!!!!

Helpful?
Thank Liv H
BenMacDow, Manager at The Perch inn, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know what a good job Maddie is doing. I'm glad she looked after you so well, and will make sure she gets this feedback and is equally well looked after. Look forward to welcoming you again. More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Awesome pub, with great service, fantastic Sunday lunch's and the Worlds best sticky toffee pudding.

Helpful?
Thank julianrawlinson
BenMacDow, Manager at The Perch inn, responded to this review

Thank you for such a perfect summary! No one here will be arguing about the sticky toffee pudding - we can't claim it the world's best, but definitely one of our favourites! More 

Little Rissington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Walked in the vicinity of The Perch via The meadows and Oxford Canal to from Wolvercote; splendid well delivered and cooked Sunday Roast Lunch, under cover from the elements, excellent starters, and sleek menu of delectable puds. Pub location second to none for walkers, though limited parking 20+ cars, ideal for family get together, family and DOG FRIENDLY PUB. Suggest... More 

Helpful?
Thank TinyTimTulips
BenMacDow, Manager at The Perch inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent feedback! We are very proud of our location, and frequented by a lot of walkers as you suggest. Dogs are always welcome and the team love the opportunity to fuss over them as much as our guests. Booking in advance is a sensible suggestion on weekends and bank holidays. Whilst parking is limited we have... More 

Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
818 reviews
346 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 355 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

A group of five of us walked to the Perch from Oxford. It was a pleasant walk passing Worcester College, Walton Street and then across Port Meadow and took about half an hour. We went on a Zunday and were very pleased we got there before 12:00 as we put in our order and were served promptly. The pub filled... More 

Helpful?
Thank SergeLourie
BenMacDow, Manager at The Perch inn, responded to this review

I'm pleased we were able to be part of what sounds like such a lovely day! There are many nice routes to walk to us, including walks along the Isis which is a lovely stretch of the Thames. We do fill up on Sundays so it is always worth booking to make sure you're not disappointed. We look forward to... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We phoned last-minute on a Saturday night to find a table for three, and the staff went to great lengths to fit us in at 7pm instead of having to wait till 9pm. We were made to feel very welcome on arrival, despite it being "rush-hour" for guests just then. The 10 minute drive to the Perch is also an... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marcus S
BenMacDow, Manager at The Perch inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback! We never like to turn people away, especially when they've made the effort to travel to us, so will always do our best to find a table, even at busy times. I'm pleased you were able to dine with us on this occasion, and that you enjoyed the food so... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

an amazing place to end a wonderful weekend in Oxford very busy and the staff very friendly would go again

Helpful?
Thank Hugh J
BenMacDow, Manager at The Perch inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm glad we were able to help make your visit to Oxford special. I hope you visit Oxford, and us, again. More 

Level Contributor
70 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Four of us had dinner there recently. We arrived circa 6 pm on a Friday hoping to have a drink by the fire but the sofa was full of people with their dogs who were clearly going nowhere having been clever enough to get there earlier. We had a round of drinks then went into the restaurant area. This was... More 

Helpful?
Thank KPS61
BenMacDow, Manager at The Perch inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave such detailed feedback. I'm sorry to hear your choices were not to your liking on this occasion. Our house wines are usually well received (the white is a Chenin Blanc which is medium and therefore not to everyone's style), but the staff are well trained on the list and can happily recommend,... More 

Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We come to the perch as a couple regularly, it's a beautiful pub in a stunning location but, it's the staff that make it such a fantastic place. We brought family for a birthday meal and were so well looked after. The food as always was fantastic, i am a very fussy roast critic and can honestly say this is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
BenMacDow, Manager at The Perch inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice comments. We like to make people looked after, so I'm glad you visit us regularly. I will make sure all the team you mentioned are made to feel special too, especially Alex! We look forward to welcoming you again soon. More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Took advantage of the nice weather and went here with the family. The food was grand and the staff were very attentive. Will be back

Helpful?
Thank lucyjaneclark
BenMacDow, Manager at The Perch inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. In nice weather the venue and garden really come alive, but in the cold winter months it's cosy inside too! We look forward to seeing you again. More 

Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I visited The Perch inn on Saturday 4th March. The overall experience was excellent. The staff were very friendly and gave great effort in making sure our experience was the best it could be. For my main meal, I had the 'Chargrilled 8oz Burger'. I enjoyed every single part of my main meal, especially the triple cooked chips. For my... More 

Helpful?
Thank aimee997
BenMacDow, Manager at The Perch inn, responded to this review

We are happy that we helped you have such a lovely experience! It is our aim to help everyone enjoy their time with us, and make everyone's experience the best it possibly can be. I look forward to welcoming you again soon. More 

Travellers who viewed The Perch inn also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Perch inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$7 - US$37
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, View, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
10:30 - 22:00
Monday
10:30 - 23:00
Tuesday
10:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
10:30 - 23:00
Thursday
10:30 - 23:00
Friday
10:30 - 23:00
Saturday
10:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Binsey lane, Oxford, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Oxford
  • Phone Number: +44 1865 728891
Description
A beautiful 300 year old thatched inn on the River Thames very close to Oxford City Centre.
We serve a freshly prepared British influenced menu with superb beers and wines.

Our beautiful gardens and bespoke Bedouin tent make for perfect weddings and events.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Perch inn and other visitors
7 questions
Ask a question
Amersham, United Kingdom
6 months ago
Surrey Hills, Australia
6 months ago
7 days ago
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Perch inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?