We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Royal Oak

££ - £££
Bar, British, Pub, International, Gastropub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
42-44 Woodstock Road, Oxford OX2 6HT, England
+44 1865 310187
Website
Today
12:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Wed 12:00 - 23:00
Thu - Fri 12:00 - 00:00
Sat 11:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

167 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 158: English reviews
Riverton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
126 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

I found the Royal Oak while looking for my rental property. Walked in and found many quaint smaller rooms to choose from. Some with fire places. Staff was friendly but a little standoff. The service was good and the food came up fast and hot. My portion was a little on the small side but very tasty. It's worth a... More 

Helpful?
Thank brernick
RoyalOakOxford, Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Brernick, thank you for leaving this detailed feedback about your experience with The Royal Oak, Oxford. We'll pass your feedback re portion size on to the kitchen manager and see what he can do going forward, as well as working on our warm welcome from the team ! We are glad you enjoyed the rest of our visit and we... More 

Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2016

chosen because they are dog friendly and they definitely lived up to that. our puppy was given water and they were genuinely pleased to have her there. the food was simple pub fair but for that it was hearty and came promptly and together interior is a little tired

Helpful?
Thank Paul M
RoyalOakOxford, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Paul M, thank you for leaving this detailed feedback about your experience with The Royal Oak, Oxford. Wishing you a great day until the next time we meet - especially if you bring your beautiful puppy back to meet us again ! Thanks Michelle More 

Gaborone, Botswana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2016

Having booked online with a friends recommendation I took my son for lunch. Coffee: very weak. Looked like 2 cups had been made with the same grounds. Main courses. For the price not what we expected. My fish was not that fresh and the cobbler my son had had a foreign body in it, like a blue piece of cloth... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank gjhoward
RoyalOakOxford, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Hi, Gjhoward, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. Our manager would really like to help turn your experience around. If you would be willing to give us another chance, please contact myself at 441865310187 to discuss what we can do to help. Many thanks Michelle More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2016

We have visited The Royal Oak twice each time on Wednesday because of the burger day :D both times we were treated in very nice manner, our waiter - Jasen was welcoming, funny and made us comfortable and happy. Food was awesome!

Helpful?
Thank Sabina W
RoyalOakOxford, Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback, Sabina W. We strive to provide excellent service to our customers at The Royal Oak, Oxford. We always love to receive great feedback. Thanks for taking the time to write a review for us ! Michelle More 

East Anglia, UK
Level Contributor
227 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2016

It all looked good: location, general feel, booking worked fine, and they allowed in our dog. Great! But some staff were very much of the "you're an inconvenience" as opposed to realising we pay their salaries. The handling of an incorrect main course being served for one of the group was very poor. Some of the dishes were fine, but... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank tlwmd
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

After a mix-up over our booking the friendly Landlord found us a table to our liking and we soon settled down with a selection of drinks. The Pub was very busy but because of its layout did not feel too claustrophobic. The highlight of the evening was the menu and food quality which was above expectation. The Belly pork stuffed... More 

Helpful?
Thank BlackMirror
RoyalOakOxford, Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Hi BlackMirror Thanks for taking the time to write us a review - we really do appreciate the feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed the Pork Belly special that was on our menu that day ! We hope to see you again soon. Thanks Michelle More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2016

Sunday lunch used to be excellent, but this Sunday was so disappointing. My first choice of chicken pie was off, so I had roast pork with trimmings but it was all overcooked, with the crackling impossible to eat. I paid extra for leeks, but was given cauli cheese (no cheese, served in watery cream) and was told that was what... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alison C
RoyalOakOxford, General Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Hi Alison C We are really sorry that you had a disappointing visit to us on Sunday - it appears we had a bad day and disappointed your party. We would like to make this up to you and show you this is not our normal standard of performance - drop us an email so we can try to put... More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2016

We ate here on a busy Friday evening, the pub was busy and lively, being close to the centre of Oxford. The choice of food was good, as was the quality and the service. There was also a good choice of beers, lagers and wines. Would recommend this establishment to anyone looking for just a drink, but especially for anyone... More 

Helpful?
Thank BosworthBattlers130
RoyalOakOxford, Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Hi BosworthBattlers130 Thanks for taking the time to write a review for us - we really appreciate the feedback and are glad you enjoyed your Friday evening with us ! We hope to see you again soon Michelle More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

We were visiting Oxford with some friends and stopped in that pub for lunch.... what a disappointment.. the staff were just meh... not mean but not helpful at all. I made the mistake to order the beef roast dinner..... the meat was super overcooked and ridiculously chewy. Yorkshire pudding was just alright and so were the veggies... I also ordered... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ladyteezo
RoyalOakOxford, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Hi Ladyteezo Thanks for taking the time to write a review - we appreciate the feedback so we can address your issues. We are super disappointed you did not enjoy your visit with us. If you could email us directly we would love to invite you back to show you how tasty our food can be ! enquiry@theroyaloakoxford.co.uk We look... More 

Level Contributor
94 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2016

I came here for a friend's viva celebration! The atmosphere was great and the food was surprisingly great. I got a chicken pie and believe it to be Paul Hollywood worthy. We were sat in a slightly dingy corner though - would definitely come again but maybe find a better seat!

Helpful?
Thank Bourdain_ftw
RoyalOakOxford, General Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Hi Bourdain_ftw Thanks for writing us a review - firstly congratulations to your friend for the most exciting viva celebrations ! As fans of GBBO we are incredibly proud of your comments - thanks very much. In terms of lighting - if you can let us know where about you sat maybe we can look at improving the lighting in... More 

Travellers who viewed The Royal Oak also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$11 - US$20
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, International, Gastropub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 00:00
Friday
12:00 - 00:00
Saturday
11:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 42-44 Woodstock Road, Oxford OX2 6HT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Oxford
  • Phone Number: +44 1865 310187
Description
One of the cosiest pubs in Oxford.When it comes to Oxford pubs The Royal Oak is the genuine article. Much like our well-kept real ales and impressive range of world beers, wines and spirits, our interiors are drenched in class, character and a dash of urban cool, with lots of rooms and cosy little corners to kick back in. It's just the place to enjoy a plate of seriously good pub food.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Royal Oak and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
18 days ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Oak staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?