We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Art Cafe

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015, 2017 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

About
Café and Gourmet sandwiches with an emphasis on homemade, organic, local produce. Great selection of vegan and gluten free. 50 seater restaurant, open everyday. Superb deals on outside catering.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
CUISINES
Cafe, British
FEATURES
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Wifi
Reviews (248)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveller rating
94
98
18
6
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
94
98
18
6
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch panini cakes veggie breakfast baked beans chicken seating upstairs shopping centre great little cafe order at the counter delicious coffee all day breakfast great place for lunch quick coffee take away order food full english
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 231 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is my favourite breakfast spot when I'm visiting Oxford. Just by the newly renovated Westgate centre. There's an extensive menu with plenty of dietary options. My go-to breakfast their muesli - a bowl full of good muesli topped with plenty of yogurt and fresh...More

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Mary-Anne D
artcafeox4d, Manager at Art Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for describing our muesli so beautifully. We very much appreciate your time. Happy you came back. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. 🍰☕️🍲

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It is not difficult to find the restaurant. The English breakfast is very delicious and the food is very tasty. I like the scones that they made. It tasted very good after it just baked. The staffs in the restaurant is also very friendly. I...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank kevinokla
artcafeox4d, Manager at Art Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your review. Glad you liked visiting us. Hope to see you again soon 🍮🍰🥘🥞🥗🍪🍩🥯🍳☕️

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at the Malmaison nearby, without breakfast included, and needed to find somewhere that would offer a good brunch. The Art Cafe is a few minutes walk away and was an amazing find. The staff were welcoming and friendly and the food was amazing. We...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank hertsfortysomething
artcafeox4d, Manager at Art Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for such a comprehensive review. Glad you liked our place. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. ☕️🍩🍰🥐🍳🥗

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I visited in order to see if the inside was as interesting as the outside, and it is an unusually shaped building, and I think it uses the space very well. I did not eat, but the food looked delicious and the staff were friendly....More

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank Kevin1862
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We only dropped in for a cup of tea, but you know what it’s like when you look at everyone else’s food and wish you had ordered something! The food looked great, especially their all day breakfast which was a huge plate of goodness! Will...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank tanagogo1
artcafeox4d, Manager at Art Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your review. You should come to try our delicious food. Looking forward to seeing you at the cafe ☕️🍰🍩🍪🥖🍳🥙🥐🥗

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The food at the Art Cafe is fairly good. They have a decent selection of baguettes and they do a good full English breakfast (both traditional and vegetarian). The coffee is decent and they bring out the food in a reasonable time. The main problem...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank oxfordjonathan
artcafeox4d, Manager at Art Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Jonathan Thanks for your review. Glad you liked our food, we’re hoping to start table service soon to avoid all the gathering at the entrance. It should be easier to get people seated more comfortably. Hope to see you again soon. ☕️🥐🥗🍳🍩🍪

Reviewed 13 February 2019

Good to find an independent cafe amongst all the chains in Oxford. Good choice of veggie/vegan food. I didn’t enjoy my falafel baguette but my husband loved his veggie chilli jacket potato.More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Ann C
artcafeox4d, Manager at Art Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2019

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Art Cafe. Glad your husband liked his potato. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. Ps. If you would like to tell us why you didn’t like your falafel baguette, I’d really appreciate it. Feed back...More

Reviewed 7 February 2019 via mobile

Right opposite the front entrance of the Westgate shopping centre, this cafe is spread over 3 floors. You order and pay on the ground floor and then take your items and walk up the stairs to tables on the floors above. Specially made items are...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank FerringFerret
artcafeox4d, Manager at Art Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2019

Thanks so much for your review. Glad you like going to independent cafés. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. ☕️🍰☕️🍰☕️🍰☕️

Reviewed 3 February 2019 via mobile

Food: 3.5/5 The English breakfast was affordable and tasty. The vegan version doesn’t come with a butter alternative, which was sad. The potatoes are lush though, crispy and fulfilling! We found some burnt crunchy beans in our baked beans, which was unusual, and the bacon...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank DoctorAdvice
artcafeox4d, Owner at Art Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2019

Thank you so much for such a comprehensive review. Glad you enjoyed coming to Art Cafe. Looking forward to seeing you again soon ☕️☕️☕️

Reviewed 2 February 2019 via mobile

I was served the wrong breakfast which I politely pointed out to the waitress and it got taken away. This was absolutely fine until someone else came up to my table to try and argue with me about what i had ordered!!! They told me...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank anony1112
artcafeox4d, Owner at Art Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2019

Thank you very much for your review. I’m sad that it happened. It shouldn’t have. Our rule is “customers are always right”. I’ll definitely investigate it. Sorry for letting you down.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 43 nearby hotels
Malmaison Oxford Castle
3,487 reviews
.09 miles away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
875 reviews
.12 miles away
Victoria House Hotel
165 reviews
.13 miles away
Euro Bar
180 reviews
.18 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 766 nearby restaurants
Sticks'n'Sushi Oxford
121 reviews
.06 miles away
Comptoir Libanais
240 reviews
.01 miles away
The Royal Blenheim
112 reviews
.07 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 393 nearby attractions
Carfax Tower
383 reviews
.11 miles away
The Story Museum
162 reviews
.13 miles away
Modern Art Oxford
113 reviews
.08 miles away
Westgate Oxford
210 reviews
.06 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Art Cafe staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing