We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Palmer Tavern

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
Bar, Pub
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner
FEATURES
Buffet, Parking Available, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
View all details
features, about

Location and contact

Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
3
2
0
2
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
3
2
0
2
11
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
What did you think of The Palmer Tavern?
Click to rate
1 - 10 of 18 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2019

Visited on a Sunday lunchtime for a light lunch. We were told they only had a very limited range of food available as they had failed to restock from the day before. So we ordered what they had. It then transpired that the gentlemen serving...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank NigelBowen
Reviewed 28 July 2018

Worst decision to go to the pub over the road after sports day with my other teaching colleagues. I have now received a £60 fine for parking on the premises. First time I had visited, was very quiet at 3pm in the afternoon, saw no...More

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank pheeenixsong
Reviewed 28 July 2018 via mobile

£60 parking fine for parking for longer than 10 minutes, no warning despite their assuring that there is, completely useless management who allow it to happen. The moment you park, you have started a 10 minute countdown to being fined; if you do not notice...More

Date of visit: July 2018
3  Thank ezekiel5640
Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

Absolute con. They offer car parking then send a parking charge notice demanding £60 with threats to raise it to £100 if not paid in 14 days. I will never use this place again and would strongly recommend others avoid. It ruined an otherwise pleasant...More

Date of visit: February 2018
5  Thank joco1000
Robyn S, Manager at The Palmer Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Hi, We do understand that it must have been frustrating receiving a ticket from Smart Parking relating to the car park. The car park is a pay and display car park managed by Smart Parking who allow us to offer free parking to our customers,...More

Reviewed 9 February 2018

I'll start with the food, It was awful but sometimes you have a bad meal I get that, However when I complained no discount or even apology was offered which I think is terrible. On a final note I received a parking fine through the...More

Date of visit: January 2018
3  Thank Cbaars11
Robyn S, Manager at The Palmer Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Hi, I am very surprised and disappointed to hear about your food experience. It is very unusual to hear such a complaint, especially in respect of the lack of response from our staff. I can only apologise for this and it is most certainly not...More

Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

The owners of this pub are allowing a cowboy private parking firm to issue £60 fines to anyone who doesn’t register their number plate behind the bar. Would be just lovely if they made it clear that was necessary in the first place! Patronise a...More

Date of visit: November 2017
5  Thank RobBarbour82
Robyn S, Manager at The Palmer Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Hi, We do understand that it must have been frustrating receiving a ticket from Smart Parking relating to the car park. The car park is a pay and display car park managed by Smart Parking who allow us to offer free parking to our customers,...More

Reviewed 8 November 2017

Met my mate for a quick drink. In there for 40 minutes and got a £60 parking fine. They give you an opportunity to register your number plate but I didn't notice the inadequate signage. How many pubs run this system? None that I know...More

Date of visit: October 2017
4  Thank Matthew W
Robyn S, Manager at The Palmer Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Hi, We do understand that it must have been frustrating receiving a ticket from Smart Parking relating to the car park. The car park is a pay and display car park managed by Smart Parking who allow us to offer free parking to our customers,...More

Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

Popped in for an evening drink and the landlady neglected to say that the reason there's a tablet at the bar is to register your license plate, otherwise you will be fined for parking! Good thing I asked when getting drinks. She had an absolutely...More

Date of visit: November 2017
2  Thank Sunshine742389
Robyn S, Manager at The Palmer Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Hi, We do understand that it must have been frustrating receiving a ticket from Smart Parking relating to the car park. The car park is a pay and display car park managed by Smart Parking who allow us to offer free parking to our customers,...More

Reviewed 6 November 2017

Make sure you register on arrival or you get hit with a £60 fine for parking. Green King and their lessors should be ashamed of the system used. A great way to lose custom!!More

Date of visit: October 2017
1  Thank SVfromUK
Robyn S, Manager at The Palmer Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Hi, We do understand that it must have been frustrating receiving a ticket from Smart Parking relating to the car park. The car park is a pay and display car park managed by Smart Parking who allow us to offer free parking to our customers...More

Reviewed 17 October 2017

I was collecting my partner as she was having a drink with group of friends in the pub at the end of August. I'm currently being intimidated by the parking company that operates this car park. I only received a fine sent to my parents...More

Date of visit: August 2017
5  Thank diarmuidcoffey
Robyn S, Manager at The Palmer Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Hi, We do understand that it must have been frustrating receiving a ticket from Smart Parking relating to the car park. The car park is a pay and display car park managed by Smart Parking who allow us to offer free parking to our customers...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 32 nearby hotels
Elmhurst Hotel
134 reviews
.52 miles away
Donnington House Hotel
12 reviews
.65 miles away
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
1,062 reviews
1.06 miles away
Great Expectations Hotel & Bar
243 reviews
1.29 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 711 nearby restaurants
Magic Wok
5 reviews
.10 miles away
Miah's - Garden of Gulab
508 reviews
.02 miles away
Reading Tandoori
76 reviews
.22 miles away
Istanbul Griill
20 reviews
.09 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 194 nearby attractions
Fusion Beauty & Health
8 reviews
.51 miles away
The Museum of English Rural Life
144 reviews
.94 miles away
Harris Garden
25 reviews
.62 miles away
The Cole Museum of Zoology
27 reviews
.58 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Palmer Tavern staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing