We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
£3 - £15
CUISINES
Cafe, British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (688)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
680 results
Traveller rating
454
139
48
16
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
454
139
48
16
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch pancakes potatoes fries lovely cafe worth the wait long wait smoothies latte egg avocado
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is our go to now if we treat ourselves to breakfast/brunch. We’ve tried other places but nothing compares. The food is just so SO good every time. The coffee is outstanding. Milkshakes are insane if you’re really indulging. Huge thank you to the staff...as well as they are always attentive.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 December 2023 via mobile

Used to be excellent now it’s average. I had eggs royale. Muffin wasn’t toasted. Small portion of salmon and swimming in cold hollandaise. I ordered pancakes for my two children. They put 1 pancake on a saucer each with a tiny cup of syrup and...charged me £6 a portion. After seeing that they did gift vouchers and could post them out I phoned for days until eventually someone answered and said no they don’t post them out and to go in. This is how I ended up having breakfast there. I’m over this place, the food has gone downhill I’m sick of standing in the cold waiting for a table as they don’t have a booking system, the parking is awful and the list goes on.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 November 2023 via mobile

The menu is substantial and diverse with veggie and vegan tastes catered for. I had the Turkish style eggs with chorizo and my pattern had eggs Benedict royal. Absolutely incredible. You won’t leave here hungry for sure. Excellent size portions and beautifully prepared and presented...food. If you’ve not been, just go !!! I’m coming back as I want to get through the rest of the menu!!!More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 October 2023

Terrible customer service. Rude, aggressive and abrupt staff. Food is average. I used to enjoy going to Cafe Yolk but they have lost focus on how to deliver a good customer experience. Would not recommend.

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 October 2023

Incredibly rude. We have been here several times but this is the last time. The staff we incredibly rude. An unnecessarily aggressive tone and unhelpful attitude. When arriving with young children this is not expected or appreciated.

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 August 2023 via mobile

Visited while in the area for Reading fest. Was excited as the reviews were so good, but for a place called Cafe Yolk, my eggs were average. I decided to have poached eggs and they were essentially hard, which was a shame and made for...quite a dry breakfast. Herby potatoes were decent but not outstanding, hence the three stars. Staff were lovely enough but it is all order at the till. It's also a shame they do Alpro Oat instead of a creamier/more popular oat alt milk.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 August 2023

I went for the first time with family, I ordered 2 vegetarian breakfast. Had to wait 15/20 minutes to be seated outside in the rain. People just sit there once finished and are not asked to leave. Once seated had to get back up to...go and give my order. It took a while for the orders to come, as I started eating I noticed a hair in my plate. I expected a full refund with another serving however was told I could have one or the another. It was really disappointing and I will not be going back there.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gurmit Singh, General Manager at Cafe YOLK, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2023

Dear Naz We are disappointed to see your review today. We have in fact refunded your breakfast and offered you a replacement meal. Which you accepted. You seem very satisfied with how we dealt with the situation on that day. This review seem very unnecessary....More

Reviewed 12 August 2023 via mobile

Had an amazing breakfast! Didn’t have to wait for a seat. Staff were friendly, didn’t have to wait long for our food. Ordered two Canadian breakfasts. Giant portions, not greasy, amazing pancakes. Already planning on coming back!

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 July 2023

First visit and I can see why it’s so popular. Really good fried (non greasy) breakfast. It’s made very clear that you can’t book and therefore might have to queue but they turn the tables around quickly. But in my opinion it’s worth a brief...wait; the food was top notch. Digging deep for a criticism; no black pudding on offer. Pricing was sensible and service was friendly.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 April 2023 via mobile

Wanted to go here for ages but its a very popular busy venue. It's walk in only no booking, so you have to pick what you think is a good time and be prepared to wait. Ordered the Canadian and it was epic! Delicious. I...was stuffed. Really good food. Very tasty. Hubby had the pancakes which were fluffy and satisfying.More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 April 2023 via mobile

Our son who is a student at Uni recommended we try here when visiting and it was a great choice. We all loved our choice of breakfasts (full English and the Canadian). Coffees and Juices too. We visited on a Sunday morning at around 9am...and experienced no long queues. Nice atmosphere and clean. We will be back!More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 April 2023 via mobile

After a relatively short wait in the outside only queue, bring a coat and an umbrella, we were seated in a lovely enclosed sun room. Once seated you need to pick your meal and then stand in another queue at the register to order so...don’t dally! We both had the eggs Benedict and some coffees. Coffee was good. Worst Benedict we’ve ever had. Room temp in toasted/grilled muffin, cold avocado, and the sauce was mostly mayonnaise without any mustard, butter, salt or many other ingredients you would expect to be included. Very poor and cold breakfast and what appeared to be a very long wait for those after us.More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 April 2023 via mobile

Never been able to get here because it’s always so busy so was looking forward to coming. Found a quiet time but as soon as I got in the door the staff were super passive aggressive not being pleased they were quieter than normal and...left us sitting for 10 minutes without telling us to order at the counter. The toilet was broken with workmen working very loudly on it in the background. We had a traditional breakfast and eggs Benedict with a lemon iced bun. Both arrived quickly and looked good, the breakfast tasted good; however, the sauce on the eggs benedict was really bland and the Easter lemon flavoured pastry I had tasted of icing sugar with no discernible lemon flavour in the icing or lemon curd within. It’s pricey here so I expected better.More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 March 2023 via mobile

Have eaten here several times and I will still always go back because I never have a bad time. The food is always delicious and it always looks nice and clean on the inside.

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 February 2023 via mobile

I cannot believe some of the reviews here about Yolk Cafe . Astonishing. We had to wait outside in the rain for a table . Mm Could that be because it’s so popular and everyone wants to eat there . Went Wednesday 1st Feb ....My grandson treated me like he ofen does to a super full English in our party were 5 adults and a baby in her buggy . Member of staff came out told us the possible waiting time , no problem , al staff smiling happy lovely . Came out a few times , won’t be too long now . Still people joining the queue , Know why , because it’s so popular . We were cold one said , yes it’s an outside space covered in as best they can with little electric heaters above our heads . Where else do you expect them to be , I took my cost off once inside , The reason it got a little cold at times Is the door opening and closing , can’t help that can they . The food was excellent, hot tasty well presented. Good customer service , why people go back time and time again . Go by there any morning , it full same as lunch time . It really is quite shocking what some have written about this lovely cafe . Please go and and find out for yourselves , you won’t be disappointed, Of course if it’s raining and it’s full you will be waiting in the rain , where else could you go , use your common sense . This place deserves better than those nasty reviews. Everyone’s entitled to their opinion of course . I live near this cafe and see how busy it is everyday of the week . They must be doing something right .More

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Donnington House Hotel
12 reviews
.22 miles away
Tower House Hotel
25 reviews
.39 miles away
Sure Hotel by Best Western Reading
1,267 reviews
.62 miles away
Great Expectations Hotel & Bar
267 reviews
.81 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Monty's Cafe
155 reviews
.08 miles away
Gulab Indian Kitchen
633 reviews
.52 miles away
"Piwnica" Restaurant
186 reviews
.31 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Museum of English Rural Life
196 reviews
.45 miles away
Reading Abbey Ruins
144 reviews
.53 miles away
The Cole Museum of Zoology
29 reviews
.57 miles away
South Street Arts Centre
25 reviews
.72 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Eric N
26 September 2023|
Answer
Response from Clare B | Reviewed this property |
Walk in only.
0
Votes
Ambassador58497
26 June 2021|
Answer
Response from davrob04 | Reviewed this property |
I think so but not 100% sure, give them a ring they are really lovely there
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

CAFE YOLK, Reading - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Cafe YOLK

Yes, Cafe YOLK offers takeaway services.

Cafe YOLK is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5