We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bel and The Dragon

Reserve a Table
Thu, 1/24
20:00
2

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015, 2017 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

Local cuisine, European, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
CUISINES
European, British
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Reviews (791)
Filter reviews
780 results
Traveller rating
321
227
125
67
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
321
227
125
67
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews suckling pig tarte tatin steak pork whitebait potatoes pudding sea bass sunday roast biscuit factory great setting eton mess house wine sit outside side dishes town centre special occasion
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 780 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Plenty of good things and plenty of not-so-good things to say about this place. The good: delightful waterside setting; lovely, old room with a high, steeply-vaulted ceiling (we assume it was once a chapel or some other building in which Victorians ‘improved’ themselves); menu full...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank 367billb
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ok so we went there for our Christmas dinner but the place sadly failed to impress. We arrived early for a drink in the bar which was had some decent beers on tap. We were shown to our table which was in a corner of...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank AndrewN424
Lucia G, Guest Relations Manager at Bel and The Dragon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there, I am very sorry to hear that we did not manage to live up to your expectations for your Christmas dinner. Due to the large size of the building and it's high ceilings we do our best to ensure it is not too...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went back with the family after a year of avoidance and were very pleasantly surprised. The food was back to its former glory - absolutely delicious gravy accompanying crackling skin of suckling pig - and the service was spot on. I am so glad...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank 106delphinep
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went here for a family birthday, excellent menu. I had the Haddock in Tempur batter, superb. Everyone’s main course was excellent. One down side, avoid the baked Alaska dessert, there was nothing baked about it, just some hot alcohol poured over wet meringue, left it...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Stephen E
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I like to come here for a nice lunch with friends or a sunday roast. I also enjoy coming just for a drink, especially when it is cold, as the fireplace will make a great atmosphere. The food is delicious and they have a great...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank laoretta92
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had our son and daughter in law’s wedding reception at the Bel and Dragon last weekend, and if you want a stylish,quirky venue, excellent food that caters to all tastes, and friendly staff who bend over backwards to make your experience the very best...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank gill_blackledge
Reviewed 17 December 2018 via mobile

Very disappointing experience as B&TD failed terribly! First of all it was cold inside and we were sitting in our coats all the time. The restaurant took a booking at 2pm even though had an event at 4pm (wedding) and told us the kitchen closes...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Magda Ż
Lucia G, Guest Relations Manager at Bel and The Dragon, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2018

Dear Magda, I am truly sorry that you had such a disappointing experience with us. Our managers did call you a few weeks prior to your booking to inform you that we did have a private function well in advance of your visit. I can...More

Reviewed 15 December 2018 via mobile

I like the Bel and Dragon chain but they can be a bit hit and miss. This visit the waitress didn’t know the menu and didn’t speak good English. The food was good but we had to order more after seeing small portions and lack...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Coastal787068
Lucia G, Guest Relations Manager at Bel and The Dragon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2018

Hi there, I am very sorry to hear that we did not manage to meet your expectations. We do dedicate a lot of hours training our team members to know the menu inside and out but you were served by a very new team member...More

Reviewed 14 December 2018 via mobile

Service was very good and staff super friendly , good cookery and food was cooked nice . Overall a good experience .

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Sourabh S
Reviewed 3 December 2018

Service is included on the invoice, and I can see why. We each asked for a sandwich without cranberry sauce, but it still came with it in. When we finished our meals we sat with our dirty plates in front of us for some time....More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank niccarroll85
Lucia G, Guest Relations Manager at Bel and The Dragon, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2018

Hi there, We are truly sorry that we did not manage to live up to your expectations. We dedicate a lot of hours training our team to provide attentive and efficient service, and it certainly sounds like we were not on the high form we...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Jumbly G
14 June 2018|
Answer
Response from Lucia G | Property representative |
Hi there, Yes we do, our menu is very much gluten free as it is. If you are coming on a Sunday, I imagine you might want a roast dinner - our gravy is gluten free but our Yorkshire Puddings are not sadly. The other thing I... More
1
Vote
Noonie1911
19 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from wimpieb2019 | Property representative |
Dear Noonie1911 We have a private car park for all our guest It is right next to the main building and have ample spaces If you have any other question you are more than welcome to contact myself and my team... More
1
Vote
guildfordfourtour
1 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from wimpieb2019 | Property representative |
Most definitely!!!
0
Votes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing