We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Travellers Inn

££ - £££
Bar, British, Pub, Steakhouse
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
286 The Common | Ecclesfield, Sheffield S35 9WP, England
+44 114 246 8893
Website
Today
10:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

98 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 98: English reviews
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have visited a few times for breakfast, lunch and dinner (separate occasions). The food is always to the standard you would expect and the staff are always lovely and friendly. The only down side is on everything Visit they have been out of at least two or three items on the menu!

Helpful?
Thank CharlieJCI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A dreadful experience. After waiting 35 minutes after ordering the food arrived. It really was of a poor quality - a child's pizza was mostly thick base with a dried up topping. The chicken nuggets were dry and rubbery. Our adult meals were no better. We will not return.

Helpful?
Thank Sylvia H
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

We come here regularly with our sons. Always great service and the staff are lovely. The food is great and very reasonably priced. That have some great offers on too. Keep it up!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Management response:

Thank you for leaving positive feedback on our Travellers Inn site, we really appreciate it especially at Christmas time, I will pass on the positive feedback to the team! Thanks Bridie Martin Assistant Manager More 

Houghton-le-Spring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

Popped in for lunch on our way for a night away. Staff friendly, service was prompt, food was good, good value too.👍🏻

Helpful?
Thank MICK10EY
Management response:

Thank you for leaving us positive feedback, we really appreciate it and are so happy you had an amazing experience with us! Thanks Bridie Martin Assistant Manager More 

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2016

we called on our way to Morrison's for a quick bite to eat, before shopping. Order taken at the bar, Chicken Italian style, and chicken with ribs. We took our drinks and gave our table number. Food arrived after 40 mins wait, even though place was fairly empty, no apology for wait. Food was ok nothing to rave about, filling,... More 

Helpful?
Thank johnl1950
Management response:

Thank you for leaving us a review on our trip advisor site. We apologise for our wait on your food, we will use your feedback to improve our service. Thank you for taking the time to dine with us. Bridie Martin Assistant Manager More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

Good value food. Staff very attentive. Good range of food and drink. Lots of tv's showing sky sport.

Helpful?
Thank 268andyp268
Management response:

Thank you for leaving a positive review on our page, we really appreciate it! We hope to see you again soon! Bridie Martin Assistant Manager More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

Went here twice in a matter of days for different celebrations and safe to say I didn't eat my burger as there's cooked and chargrilled I feel sorry for the bar staff there's 1 or 2 on a saturday evening when the pub was packed the food time was well over an hour even in mid week it's 45 minutes... More 

Helpful?
Thank Terrilouise91
Management response:

We are very sorry to hear about your repeated experiences, how ever we do appreciate you taking the time to tell us about this. I will putting this forward to the kitchen team and the head chef in a way for us to improve our future meals and to encourage guests to leave happy. This Saturday just gone (26/11/16) was... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2016

we have eaten here regular and since it became a sizzler its so poor . the food is awful not a great menu and tastes vile. we went last night which will be our final time couldnt get what we wanted to eat so settled for something else which came out the wrong food . my partner left his steak... More 

Helpful?
Thank Candi5A
Management response:

We're very sorry to hear about your experience. After looking into this matter with my team, the match in question we did not advertise, and on the night we had quite a crowd ask for the Chelsea match, and our in house policy is to go with the match most in demand and unfortunately on this night it was the... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

We come here often for meals and the food is amazing as well as the service. There is also a children's outdoor play area and picnic tables .

Helpful?
Thank lisa26x
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to write this, we love to hear that you have had a good experience and we hope to see you again soon! Thanks Bridie Assistant Manager More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

Met three friends for lunch and a chat. There were literally only half a dozen tables occupied so we ordered a simple lunch of a wrap with chips. We waited 55 minutes for our food to be served. I would understand this if it had been busy but it wasn't. There was only one person on the bar taking food... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank sunflower63
Management response:

Sorry your experience with us we have let you down which we apologise for. Hopefully it won't stop you giving us another chance at some point in the future. Either way thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback, we will use this to improve. Thank you Bridie Assistant Manager More 

Travellers who viewed The Travellers Inn also viewed

 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to The Travellers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$5 - US$18
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Steakhouse
Meals
Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Takeout, Reservations, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 23:00
Monday
10:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 23:00
Thursday
10:00 - 23:00
Friday
10:00 - 23:00
Saturday
10:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 286 The Common | Ecclesfield, Sheffield S35 9WP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  South Yorkshire  >  Sheffield
  • Phone Number: +44 114 246 8893
Description
We are a pub and restaurant, and we are now part of an amazing Sizzling Bar and Grill with great value for food and drink!

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Travellers Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?