We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Peacock

££ - £££, British,
Baslow Road Owler Bar, Sheffield S17 3BQ, England
+44 114 236 1789
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent40%
  • Very good23%
  • Average17%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“seafood grill” (6 reviews)
“steak” (32 reviews)
“pudding” (21 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Baslow Road Owler Bar, Sheffield S17 3BQ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 594 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

We visited the Peacock for Sunday lunch yesterday, to say we were disappointed is an understatement, the food was disgusting,in fact I would go on to say it was inedible ,the beef was wafer thin tough and tasteless , the roast potatoes were soft and...More

Thank Michelle D
Andy C, General Manager at Peacock, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Michelle D Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I wish I could say I wasn't expecting this kind of feedback given the compliments we regularly receive with regards to the quality of our Sunday Roasts but you did use...More

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Just had a lovely meal at The Peacock at Owler Bar. The snow started falling and was thinking about cancelling our reservation but so glad we didn't. Had a gorgeous 3 course meal. Spinach soup for starter, Wagyu burger for main and hot chocolate fudge...More

Thank NYSarkar
Andy C, General Manager at Peacock, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi NYSarkar Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm really glad you enjoyed your visit to us in those wintery conditions! We look forward to seeing you and your four legged friends soon! Many Thanks Andy C General Manager

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Lovely meal. Sue the waitress was brill. Attentive and pleasant and restored faith in the peacock which we havnt visited for a while as service slow, not enough staff and food disappointing in the past. Couple of new staff around. Please dont leave!

Thank julie r
Andy C, General Manager at Peacock, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Julie R Thank you for your kind review. I'm really pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent visit to us and I will pass on your lovely comments to Sue. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Kind Regards Andy C General Manager

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Many thanks to the staff at The Peacock last night. We went to celebrate our second anniversary. The food was lovely and the service was outstanding. What made the perfect evening even better was having The Peacock ‘burn our bill’. Thanks again.

Thank Mike S
Andy C, General Manager at Peacock, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Mike S Thank you for your kind comments and I'm glad we could make your anniversary extra special for you. Congratulations on winning 'Burn The Bill', which runs every Friday! We look forward to seeing you again soon! Kind Regards Andy C General Manager

Reviewed 5 days ago

The restaurant has launched its winter menu with some really interesting and different specials. I can recommend the juicy mussels with bisque for starter, venison for main and an amazing ginger and lemon cheesecake for dessert.More

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank Vickie W
Andy C, General Manager at Peacock, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Vickie W Thank you for your lovely comments. I'm glad you enjoyed our Taste of Winter Specials, they will be running right through till 2nd March, so still plenty of time to come back and sample some more of those dishes! We look forward...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

My Husband & I planned to visit a Chef & Brewer restaurant after getting vouchers through Clubcard Boost. Peacock just so happened to be closest to where we were staying for the night (YHA Castleton Losehill Hall). The online booking system to book a table...More

Thank Jensadventure
Andy C, General Manager at Peacock, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Jensadventure Thank you for your lovely comments and for taking the time to leave us a review, I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Andy C General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago

We were all impressed witht the service the variety and quality of the food for starters and main course. We were unable to eat desserts as we were all too full. The 33% discount was a great bonus. I will do a high rated review...More

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank MikeBSheffield
Andy C, General Manager at Peacock, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi MikeBSheffield Thank you for taking the time to leave us this fantastic review, I'm glad that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Andy C General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago

In many ways I don't have a problem with this restaurant/pub. I had an excellent meal there on Sunday. However there does always seem to be a disproportionate wait on food so perhaps more staff required. And my gripe is for my partner who is...More

Thank dogs0504
Andy C, General Manager at Peacock, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi dogs0504 Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review. Having personally spoken to your partner on the phone when discussing the vegan options available, I did say one of the options on starters, which some people do was to have the...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Always come her and the food is Excellent never disappointed when we come here and my dog is always welcome

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank W3387KZnicolab
Andy C, General Manager at Peacock, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi W3387KZnicolab Thank you for taking the time to leave us this great review! I'm really glad you continue to enjoy your visits with us. We look forward to seeing you and your four legged friend again soon! Kind Regards Andy C General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited the Peacock on Sunday and what a delicious meal we had! We were greeted at the door with a friendly smile and shown straight to our table. The person greeting us also gave us our menus and offered to get us drinks (2...More

Thank Karen S
Andy C, General Manager at Peacock, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Karen S Thank you for taking the time to leave us this lovely review. I'm really glad you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you and the family again soon! Kind Regards Andy C General Manager

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 53 hotels in Sheffield
The Cross Scythes Totley
185 reviews
1.40 miles away
The Maynard
400 reviews
2.78 miles away
The Norfolk Arms
381 reviews
3.57 miles away
The Manor House Hotel
209 reviews
3.60 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Rutland Arms
19 reviews
2.04 miles away
The Grouse Inn
191 reviews
2.18 miles away
The Angel
246 reviews
1.67 miles away
The Fox House
607 reviews
2.19 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Grindleford Community Shop
23 reviews
2.95 miles away
The Forge Shopping Centre
35 reviews
3.73 miles away
Cliffe Park
10 reviews
4.05 miles away
Smiffy's Bar
5 reviews
3.99 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Benjamin E
13 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Kim N S |
Yes most definitely is
1
Vote
Emaggy9
7 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Martin T | Reviewed this property |
No there isn't. Only benches adjacent to the busy road and a car park. In a lovely setting and plenty of countryside around. Head into Hathersage if you want a play area. Or another option is the Cricket Inn at Totley. Has a... More
2
Votes
patriciaaskham
24 March 2017|
Answer
Response from Housely | Reviewed this property |
Not sure you meant to send this request to me. Apologies if you felt let down re a booking. I have eaten then on a few occasions and have enjoyed the food immensely.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$10 - US$20
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Baslow Road Owler Bar, Sheffield S17 3BQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  South Yorkshire  >  Sheffield
  • Phone Number: +44 114 236 1789
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing