We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Squirrel

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (738)
Filter reviews
738 results
Traveller rating
194
168
133
101
142
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
194
168
133
101
142
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rump steak pudding pub grub evening meal travelodge helen pint
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 738 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Me and my partner popped in to this restaurant on our way home. We are normally quite sceptical about chain restaurants but when we entered we were pleasantly surprised. We were given such a warm welcome and a lovely waitress by the name of Hannah...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Gwenfrompen
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We stopped by on our way home from a short break away, and we are so happy that we did! We were greeted by the manager Steve who was really nice and very welcoming. As we sat down we were then greeted by another member...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank SharonSmith5473
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We went to the squirrel for a Friday treat at lunchtime and had an excellent time. On entry, we were greeted by the welcoming staff and warm feel. The food was to a great standard, coming out promptly - definitely worth trying to leave room...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank N6223SZaw
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have been to this pub on several occasions and unfortunately 90% of the time come away feeling disappointed and unsure as to why we visited again. This was the case again and do not think we will return again. We have previosuly been as...More

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank knd_321
GMSquirrel, General Manager at The Squirrel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for your review, sorry to read that you were left feeling disappointed from both service and food. All the points you have mentioned will be passed onto the relevant team member.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Hubby had booked a surprise trip to my favorite place Ludlow and decided as only couple nights to go to Travelodge. Next door was The Squirrel and what a wonderful find. Fabulous staff so attentive and friendly. Couldnt do enough for you. Food was also...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank icelandworker
GMSquirrel, General Manager at The Squirrel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

I’m glad you enjoyed your visit to the squirrel, it’s lovely to read that you enjoyed your food and that our staff were very attentive and friendly. Hope we see you again next time you visit ludlow.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

When we sat down a lovely waitress came and alerted us of the specials. Everything on the menu looked so delicious! And everything we ordered tasted so good too! I had the roast chicken. The chicken was tender and the vegetables were perfectly cooked. Thanks...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank SueDaw89
GMSquirrel, General Manager at The Squirrel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely review, it’s always a pleasure to read that the staff have been lovely and that you enjoyed your meals. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Took my mother to the Squirrel to give the place the benefit of the doubt. We have been there on numerous occasions over the years. Sadly we always come away from the Squirrel disappointed. When our sandwiches arrived the bread felt like it had been...More

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank JargonBuster
GMSquirrel, General Manager at The Squirrel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for your review and feedback, I’m led to believe that your issues were dealt with in house by the duty manager and apologise made on our behalf. All reviews and complaints are replied to and all feedback is taken seriously, passed on to...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Called in here for an early dinner, not many people in the place. It has ample parking and is tastefully kitted out. We sat at a table and after waiting for (I kid you not) 25 minutes no one had come to take our order....More

Date of visit: January 2019
2  Thank Steve57C
GMSquirrel, General Manager at The Squirrel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for your review, I’m sorry you had to leave after not receiving any service. I’m not sure where you were seated but we have been trailing a new concept in the pub, where half the pub is now a bar area and order...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We decided to give the squirrel another go after a long break since our last disappointment. It wasn't really busy at all - looking good. We had pre-booked as well for a birthday. Drinks were no fuss as we got them at the bar. Now...More

Date of visit: January 2019
2  Thank dinohead
GMSquirrel, General Manager at The Squirrel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for your review and your feedback, this is something we take very seriously and will look at way to improve.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited the Squirrel for lunch for my Mom’s 50th birthday with her partner and was greeted by lovely staff. A waitress called Hannah served us and was very helpful and attentive. The manager Steve also took care of us and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank 150tashah
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
natara p
9 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from biking_betty | Reviewed this property |
It does outside.
1
Vote
davandra
21 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Gentleman-diner | Reviewed this property |
It wasn't when I went during the week. Not sure about weekends.
0
Votes
Derran J
5 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Bankss-Brewery | Property representative |
Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the premises.
0
Votes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing