We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Osteria Da Paolo

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
CUISINES
Italian, Mediterranean
FEATURES
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Reviews (542)
Filter reviews
540 results
Traveller rating
390
85
33
16
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
390
85
33
16
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pasta fillet steak pancetta tiramisu garlic bread prawns pudding authentic italian food great atmosphere saturday night house wine large party three courses fantastic meal visit shrewsbury have eaten here birthday meal
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 540 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We visited recently and found all of the same issues mentioned in the other reviews. No bolognase, over cooked food, fatty untrimmed steak and lasagne the size of a starter in a dish so small you couldnt get it out.... The atmosphere had gone down...More

Date of visit: January 2019
2  Thank Coopershyde
Alex D, Owner at Osteria Da Paolo, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear fake customer, we love to read this tale from someone who has never been inside the restaurant before. If you have an overwhelming urge to write non fictional stories about the hard work we're doing, please don't be bothering to visit us "again". Just...More

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We ate here a few weeks ago and I was debating reviewing as the waiters and waitresses were so pleasant, that’s the only thing stopping this being 1*... Like 90% of the customers, we’ve been coming to Paolo’s for years and it’s always been decent...More

Date of visit: February 2019
4  Thank restaurantlover19
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

There’s a word for this restaurant and it’s average. Everything is average, the menu, service and food. Firstly we sat in what felt like a corridor, it was unwelcoming and cold. We asked to move table but they just switched on a heater. The food...More

Date of visit: February 2019
3  Thank Lisa P
Alex D, Owner at Osteria Da Paolo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Customer We are sorry that you found your evening with us so disappointing. Unfortunately we were unable to relocate you due to the restaurant being fully booked up. As for the issues with your meal we were informed by our serving staff that this...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

It’s with a heavy heart I have to complain, but believe me if my husband writes this it will be more graphic. We visited paolo’s on Saturday evening, we were shown to our table straight away at 8.20pm. The waitress was polite and gave us...More

Date of visit: February 2019
5  Thank Julie M
Alex D, Owner at Osteria Da Paolo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear customer We accept our performance on your visit was completely unacceptable and all we can do is apologise We would love for you to give us a second chance to prove that this was just a rare off night and that we are a...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It was our favourite restaurant. We visited last night for a much needed date night, we were seated to at our table and noticed things were a little different.. the restaurant was busy but there was plenty of staff serving, we had to remind the...More

Date of visit: February 2019
4  Thank JasSinghDhillon
Alex D, Owner at Osteria Da Paolo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Unfortunately everything that could have gone wrong did go wrong last Saturday this is not an excuse by any means and for that we can only apologise However, we also believe that we deserve fair representation when being reviewed by our customers. Whilst the time...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

6 of us went for an early dinner before the pictures. The menu had so many good choices and then we had the specials read out which meant we had to choose again! Everyone enjoyed their meals, the prices are reasonable for good quality food...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank KimGTelford
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What a disappointing evening. A few years ago my partner and I lived in Shrewsbury. I decided this weekend to take him back to his favourite restaurant for his 25th birthday. Upon arriving there was swearing in the kitchen... Not a good start! We happily...More

Date of visit: February 2019
3  Thank Traveler93363
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We come to Shrewsbury from Barry, South Wales to this wonderful restaurant on a regular basis. It is our favourite Italian place to eat. I am vegetarian, and there were so many choices it was hard to pick one thing. All the other dishes are...More

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank RachieJ74
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It was my 30th birthday party Saturday night and I couldn’t recommend this place highly enough food was amazing and the staff were great and were friendly and full of banter !! Will defiantly be returning very soon. Such a good vibe here !!

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank RNA1989
Reviewed 1 January 2019 via mobile

We've been there for New year's dinner and it was amazing. The new chef Alessandro is doing an amazing job. All the courses ware amazing. Really nice presentation and delicious. There is also a good selection of italian wines. The staff is really attentive and...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank octavianmariusm
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 17 nearby hotels
The Shrewsbury Hotel
809 reviews
.12 miles away
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel
1,753 reviews
.29 miles away
Prince Rupert Hotel
1,386 reviews
.31 miles away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury
1,218 reviews
.41 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 409 nearby restaurants
La Dolce Vita
725 reviews
.13 miles away
Riverbank Bar & Kitchen
522 reviews
.03 miles away
Istanbul Restaurant
606 reviews
.14 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 169 nearby attractions
The Quarry
1,400 reviews
.20 miles away
St.Chads Church
255 reviews
.14 miles away
Theatre Severn
312 reviews
.15 miles away
Shrewsbury Museum and Art Gallery
500 reviews
.28 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
thugulike
8 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from wravis | Property representative |
Hi many thanks for your question There is 3 big car parks outside the restaurant The first one is free after 8pm the other 2 are free after 6pm
1
Vote
spaghetti77
2 July 2017|
Answer
Response from wravis | Property representative |
Hi unfortunately there is only the stairs as we are in the basement Again sorry there isn't a disabled toilet
0
Votes
Heljon2015
11 May 2016|
Answer
Response from beccibecci123 | Reviewed this property |
Its around a 10-15 min walk from the train station. Everything is cooked fresh so I am sure they can offer alternatives. You would be able to get a big table but definitely phone up in advance as only a small place.
1
Vote
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing