We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

#94 of 185 British in Bath
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Cafe, British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (127)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveller rating
85
19
7
5
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
85
19
7
5
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cakes vegetable quiche breakfast sandwich samosas bath skyline lovely cafe excellent coffee lunch stop quirky decor quick lunch lovely food larkhall vegan cappuccino regulars
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 28 April 2024

Extremely disappointing experience this morning. Staff were completely indifferent to the quality of food and service. Cold, dry breakfast sandwich (defrosted bread, no butter, overcooked egg, dry, cold plates). Lunch options look better as they appear to be bought in. Staff didn't ask for feedback...and ignored us once food was delivered. Gluten free option was ok, but still arrived cold and when ordering I felt like I was being fussy for being coeliac.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 February 2024

Popped into their new location in the Ram this morning, with a friend. Amazing, great coffee, a secret sausage roll to die for, great staff...time to chat and a great atmosphere.

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 October 2023

A return visit to buy more vegan tiffin! This time I also bought a delicious sausage roll ,the two items for my lunch stop on a walk from Bath to Bradford on Avon. I had first bought the tiffin a couple of months ago and...couldn't wait to buy more ,hence this return visit! It is absolutely perfect with thick chocolate and rich biscuit and fruit! Friendly staff, reasonable prices and prompt service all added to a good experience. Thank youMore

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jon Ison, Owner at Widcombe Deli, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2023

Thank you very much for your kind words, and for taking the trouble to post, very kind. best wishes jon

Reviewed 22 September 2023

Love it when I have deliveries to local garages in this street, lovely staff, excellent food, please support we need to use these great local outlets they are assets to the high streets and back streets of local areas. Great little place for food and...coffee, 100% recommend, RayMore

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jon Ison, Owner at Widcombe Deli, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2023

Thank you very much for taking the trouble to write your kind words, best wishes jon

Reviewed 17 August 2023

WOW! You won’t be disappointed! Beautiful fresh homemade food, altered menu to my liking, service spot on and so friendly! Fabulous eclectic vintage wonder! ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️🇦🇺

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jon Ison, Owner at Widcombe Deli, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2023

That's very kind, thank you so much, makes it all worthwhile x

Reviewed 5 June 2023

Disappointing breakfast. Eggs were poached undercooked with snotty whites, we weren’t asked how we wanted our eggs, if so would have been fried not poached. Sausages over cooked and hard seemed like they were yesterdays. With a little more effort could be a good breakfast....Have eaten here in the past and breakfast was always good.More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jon Ison, Owner at Widcombe Deli, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2023

We're so sorry you were disappointed with your breakfast, (it does say on the menu that poached eggs are standard but you can have them any way you like) it would be great if you could tell us which day it was, also if you...More

Reviewed 1 June 2023 via mobile

Absolutely love this place, staff are always welcoming, you get treated like family and even occasionally get called Babe- which is fabulous

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jon Ison, Owner at Widcombe Deli, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2023

thanks babe!

Reviewed 6 March 2023 via mobile

What a fabulous place! My husband and I have walked the Bath Skyline twice in recent years and both times have stopped off here for lunch. The food is always tasty and varied and the staff very friendly. We love the higgledy-piggledy, eclectic decor too;...so charming and welcoming. We were touched to see that children from low income families can (discreetly) enjoy free lunches here during school holidays too. What kind and community spirited people the owners must be. The only reason we haven’t given 5 stars is because we felt the food was on the pricier side, but this absolutely would not deter us from coming back. It’s a great deli and we’d certainly recommend.More

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jon1974, Owner at Widcombe Deli, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2023

that's very kind of you. The "angel cakes" initiative for kids of struggling parents is permanent - not just in holidays!

Reviewed 3 March 2023 via mobile

Great place to visit for a relaxing breakfast/lunch/coffee and cake. Good mouthwatering range of freshly made dishes and cakes available, suitable for many dietary requirements including glutenfree, vegetarian and vegan Pleasant relaxing atmosphere with plenty of seating both inside and out. Well worth a visit.

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 February 2023

I went in for the full set breakfast. There was nobody else in there when I went in but the food took a very long time to arrive. It was served on a cold plate; the quantity was very small, considering the price; the toast...was cold; the sausages were small, not very tasty and cold; the bacon was cold and rather tough; the eggs were very cold. The tea was cold and tasted unpleasant. Cutlery was provided wrapped in a soggy napkin. If I hadn't been pressed for time, I would have complained and sent it back. Despite its good location, I would not recommend this cafe/deli.More

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jon1974, Owner at Widcombe Deli, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2023

Always be wary of reviewers who've only ever left one review, may be false.

Reviewed 8 December 2022

We thought we would go up to the Bath Skyline walk and ended up passing through Widcombe where we found the Widcombe Deli. Just our sort of place. Pleasant atmosphere (slightly quirky in a nice sort of way), attentive friendly staff and smashing food. I...would certainly return...........More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jon1974, Owner at Widcombe Deli, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2022

Thank you so much that's very kind x

Reviewed 12 November 2022 via mobile

Staying nearby we decided to come here for breakfast, although food was ok a few of the items were over cooked, both the eggs and bacon on the well done side, very difficult to eat the breakfast sandwiches as bread was crumbly. Coffee was tasty,...the “regulars” were greeted in a friendly manner, visitors on the whole ignored. Whilst the additional flowers on food are attractive they aren’t something any of us particular welcome.More

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 October 2022

We were expecting a lot more here today after seeing the reviews. We were staying just a few metres away so location was great. Two of the breakfasts were ok, two weren’t. One breakfast had overcooked eggs and cold beans in a cold dish. My...eggs were ok but not that warm. The plates you are serving on need to be at the very least warm. If you are offering two eggs on toast it should be one egg per slice of bread, not one egg per half slice. Also when a customer simply asks for the beans on the toast and eggs on top, A) don’t roll your eyes and B) Do what was asked! We don’t mind paying the price for these breakfasts but we need to go away happy and thinking we had value for money. Sadly today we didn’t. Maybe just a one off, after seeing your reviews. It’s a nice location and a nice little deli / cafe, just not for us today. Also this is the response we got from same review on Google. ''eye rolling" is our standard response to awkward and patronising customers - good customers get great service - it's worth remembering...." If these people think asking for the beans on the toast with the eggs on the top is being awkward then something is wrong. I was giving them the benefit of the doubt after seeing the other reviews and putting it down to a one off. I hope other people see your response and avoid!!More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 September 2022

We came in for a quick lunch. There were some good choices of food for a vegan. Coffee was nice. Worth a visit.

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jon1974, Owner at Widcombe Deli, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2022

thank you so much, we try to offer something for everyone.

Reviewed 25 September 2022 via mobile

Saw this whilst walking along the canal. Excellent coffee and cakes. Really worth the time to visit. Sat outside and was lovely.

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jon1974, Owner at Widcombe Deli, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2022

thanks so much, we're glad you enjoyed it.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Travelodge Bath Waterside
2,177 reviews
.06 miles away
Royal Hotel
2,280 reviews
.14 miles away
Hotel Indigo Bath, an IHG Hotel
456 reviews
.26 miles away
Abbey Hotel Bath, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
2,204 reviews
.31 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Bikano's Indian Cuisine
316 reviews
.03 miles away
Ring’O’Bells
484 reviews
.03 miles away
Cafe au Lait
410 reviews
.16 miles away
Mokoko Coffee, Southgate
183 reviews
.18 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Bath's Old Orchard Street Theatre
195 reviews
.27 miles away
St John The Evangelist Church
66 reviews
.23 miles away
Bath Botanical Gin Distillery and Herbal Apothecary
28 reviews
.07 miles away
Bath Abbey Heritage Vaults
37 reviews
.22 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Mike H
18 May 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Axyl100 | Reviewed this property |
No, nor bank holidays
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

WIDCOMBE DELI, Bath - 18 Claverton Buildings - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Widcombe Deli

Yes, Widcombe Deli offers takeaway services.

Widcombe Deli is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5