We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Dower House at Royal Crescent

#81 of 415 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
16 Royal Crescent, Bath BA1 2LS, England
07568365937
Website
Today
12:30 - 14:00
19:00 - 22:00
07:00 - 10:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:30 - 14:00
19:00 - 22:00
Tue 07:00 - 10:30
Wed - Mon 07:00 - 10:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

235 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 230: English reviews
Norton St. Philip
Level Contributor
109 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Our dinner here was for a special family celebration. From the time I first made the booking some 2 months before the event all the way through to the end of the meal the service was faultless. A particular reason for choosing this restaurant was the vegetarian choice offered and we were not disappointed. The sommelier was not happy about... More 

Helpful?
Thank chromeorange
David C, Head chef at The Dower House at Royal Crescent, responded to this review

Thank you for such lovely feedback on your family celebration. Nice to know the event from start to finish was managed exactly as you would have wished for and expected. Will pass on your kind words to the team, and especially To Jean Marc our Resident Wine guru and his protege Luke, The sound of Glasses clinking will reverberate along... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is my second visit for Afternoon Tea at The Dower House at Royal Crescent and on both occasions we had exceptional food, service and experience! Booking online was straight forward. You are warmly greeted by friendly, professional staff. The afternoon tea menu was explained and nothing was too much trouble. It was busy on both occasions, but the staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank frb70
David C, Head chef at The Dower House at Royal Crescent, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing such positive feedback on Afternoon tea with us at the Hotel, always great to know that the effort we put in front and back of house to create a memorable occasion for our customers is appreciated. Will pass on your comments to the staff, hopefully your less than subtle nudges to the hubby will see you return... More 

london
Level Contributor
84 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Taking a dear friend to lunch or dinner on their birthday can be a little tricky. You have high hopes that your choice lives up to explanations Even the best of places can be a let down. Not at the Dower House it is simply hard to rave about it enough. It was like being a movie set from the... More 

Helpful?
Thank asksteve2cu
David C, Head Chef at The Dower House at Royal Crescent, responded to this review

Thank you Steve for sharing what a fantastic time you had with us for your friends Birthday lunch, so glad your choice of venue lived up to and surpassed expectations, it was our pleasure! Will pass on your wonderful comments to the team and hopefully we will see you back at some point in the near future. Many thanks David. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The location itself makes this place special. The restaurant itself is very spacious and relaxing with a great wine list. The food is at the upper end in style and taste. The venison was a great choice. The food is very refined, did however lack some sort of juiciness.

Helpful?
Thank Rami L
David C, Head Chef at The Dower House at Royal Crescent, responded to this review

Thank you Rami for such a positive review, Jean Marc, our head of anything bottled, will raise a glass to himself upon hearing your comments regarding his Wine list! Hopefully we will welcome you back sometime in the near future. Thank you. More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2017

My wife and I had a most amazing meal at the Dower house restaurant, excellent food and wine offering underpinned by superb customer service. The food was beautifully presented and tasted as good as it looked. We went with the wine suggested by the sommelier and that was a great match to what we ate

Helpful?
Thank MartinAdrien
David C, Head Chef at The Dower House at Royal Crescent, responded to this review

Thank you Martin for such a positive review of your Dinner With us, Will pass on your words to the team. Glad you enjoyed so much and hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in the near future. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2017

We were here for the Afternoon tea and tried three of their four combinations, plus a children's tea. The garden is lovely, but we had much higher expectations both for the service and the food.

Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin M
David C, Head Chef at The Dower House at Royal Crescent, responded to this review

Very Sorry to hear that on this occasion you felt let down by both food and service, i have sent you a message on here to contact me personally to discuss feedback. We always strive to exceed customer expectations so are most sorry that you feel this way. Thank You and look forward to hearing from you. More 

Kensington, Maryland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

Beautiful setting overlooking the garden, friendly and attentive service, and amazing champagne made this a memorable first high tea in England. We all loved it - highly recommend!

Helpful?
Thank Holly D
David C, Head chef at The Dower House at Royal Crescent, responded to this review

Thank you for such a great review, will pass on your comments to the team, Hopefully we will see you return in the near future. More 

California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2017

The cost for afternoon tea is stupidly expensive, but when all was said and done, we were happy that we had done it and felt that even though it was really expensive, we left happy and full. The service was wonderful, the tea and sandwiches excellent and the ambiance peaceful and relaxing. Our server, a gentleman from Hungary, could not... More 

Helpful?
Thank yeatswan
David C, Head chef at The Dower House at Royal Crescent, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, Very happy you enjoyed our Tea, service and the lovely setting that comes with it, Will pass on your praise to Lucas himself. We feel that our Tea is excellent value for money in terms of choice, quality and quantity, in comparison to London prices it's relatively inexpensive! Thanks for the kind words and hopefully... More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2017

We had planned for 8 of us to go here to celebrate a 30th and 60th birthday, We wanted to go here as they have a choice of afternoon teas and it looked lovely. When trying to book we were told that 8 people is an 'event' and we couldn't have a choice of afternoon tea, we can only have... More 

Helpful?
Thank ManFlu
David C, Head Chef at The Dower House at Royal Crescent, responded to this review

Apologies we could not accommodate your joint Birthday celebrations. We regularly have, and at times simultaneously large groups in for Afternoon tea, for groups of above seven we only serve our sweet tea, This is to help us anticipate service requirements and to ensure a smooth service for both Guests and staff alike, with four teas to choose from, plus... More 

Dudley
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile

Can't fault the place nor the service nor anything else but the food simply wasn't to our taste. If you are in to this sort of cuisine then don't be put off as I imagine you will love it here

Helpful?
Thank Stenjay
David C, Head Chef at The Dower House at Royal Crescent, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review the Dower House, Very glad you enjoyed and appreciated the service and setting. Apologies the food was not to your taste, we try to make sure we cover as many bases as possible whilst staying true to our beliefs of serving modern British seasonal food, it's a subjective area and we appreciate that... More 

Travellers who viewed The Dower House at Royal Crescent also viewed

 

Been to The Dower House at Royal Crescent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
British, European, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, View, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:30 - 14:00
19:00 - 22:00
07:00 - 10:00
Monday
12:30 - 14:00
19:00 - 22:00
07:00 - 10:00
Tuesday
12:30 - 14:00
19:00 - 22:00
07:00 - 10:30
Wednesday
12:30 - 14:00
19:00 - 22:00
07:00 - 10:00
Thursday
12:30 - 14:00
19:00 - 22:00
07:00 - 10:00
Friday
12:30 - 14:00
19:00 - 22:00
07:00 - 10:00
Saturday
12:30 - 14:00
19:00 - 22:00
07:00 - 10:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 16 Royal Crescent, Bath BA1 2LS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Bath
  • Phone Number: 07568365937
Description
The Dower House restaurant at The Royal Crescent Hotel in Bath –if an English hotel and restaurant have a more perfect setting, we don’t know of it. The frontage of the Royal Crescent is a masterpiece of Georgian architecture and the gardens, where The Dower House restaurant is set are leafy, secluded and lovely. Newly refurbished, The Dower House now features an elegant dining room and a super cool bar as well as a sunny terrace and manicured lawns for romantic al fresco dining. Head Chefs Gordon Jones and Mark Brega have created a modern British menu inflected with Asian and Mediterranean influences. Our pick? The French quail tart with creamed leeks and braised Puy lentils with Pommery mustard thyme sauce.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Dower House at Royal Crescent and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Dower House at Royal Crescent staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?