We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice2023
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
£15 - £56
CUISINES
British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Sponsored by: The Pump Room

Top 3 Reasons to Eat Here

1. Such a refined treat!
1. Such a refined treat!
"What a delight! The finest teatime treats "
rebeccaealey
See reviews that mention Such a refined treat!
2. Afternoon Tea
2. Afternoon Tea
"Beautiful room, great service, really delicious food and tea."
Talia829
See reviews that mention Afternoon Tea
3. In Historic Bath
3. In Historic Bath
"Such a beautiful venue located in the heart of the city centre."
SeanTov
See reviews that mention In Historic Bath
Reviews (3,238)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
3,066 results
Traveller rating
1,682
842
331
147
64
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
1,682
842
331
147
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scones cake roman baths afternoon tea pianist playing spa water string quartet beautiful room jane austen bath bun birthday treat happy birthday special occasion lovely atmosphere trio cello england
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked the brunch and Roman baths combo which seemed like a good deal, especially as I hadn't realised it included a glass of Buck's Fizz or a cocktail. Staff were very charming and extremely efficient but didn't hurry us (and we sat there for...quite a while). The brunch menu is short (eggs Benedict/Royale/florentine) with tea/coffee), but they do it extremely well with perfectly poached eggs. Cakes and buns were also available. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and the aforementioned unexpected drinks in this beautiful room.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniel Graham, General Manager at The Pump Room, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your excellent feedback.

Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed 3 December 2023

Visiting Bath for the Christmas market and managed to get a table ad hoc. Loved the afternoon tea and the service and attention from the staff was excellent, yes it’s is expensive but worth it. The food was all delicious.

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniel Graham, General Manager at The Pump Room, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2023

Thank you for the fantastic review.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Nice brunch. Make a reservation as the place is quite wanted. Its like you're back in the days... A bit Downtown Abbey feeling. The pianist in the rear is making the setting complete.A nice starter with a peach bellini to set off with your brunch....Friendly staff and all kinds of people who are coming just to experience this out of curiosity.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniel Graham, General Manager at The Pump Room, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for the generous feedback.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There is a lot to recommend this historic tea room - the ambience and location are fabulous, being right next door to the Roman Baths. The dining room is beautiful and it's a great treat to have an English afternoon tea listening to classical music...being expertly played by three musicians (piano, cello, violin). Everything was delicious and looked amazing. Our only complaint is that we felt rather hurried - plates were whisked away rather rapidly and the bill arrived very promptly (we had paid when we booked but the service charge was additional). Other than that it was a very good experience.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniel Graham, General Manager at The Pump Room, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for the balanced and helpful feedback.

Reviewed 12 March 2024 via mobile

We had a truly wonderful experience! We had pre booked for a family get together. It was my first time enjoying an authentic afternoon tea and it was truly lovely. The service team was polite and attentive. All the plates were delicious too!

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniel Graham, General Manager at The Pump Room, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2024

Thank you so much for the fantastic review.

Reviewed 12 March 2024 via mobile

On our 2nd day in Bath, after a tour of the Roman Baths we decided to have high tea in the pump room as a treat. What should have been a wonderful experience was actually an average one. The room ..a beautiful period space is...light and high ceilings is bland, lacking colour and decorations. Flowers would make a huge difference...a display in each window. The few anaemic looking "ferns" looked like b&q cast offs! The carpet does nothing for the space...a dreadful bland 1980s corporate pattern, what a shame. No ambience...even the trio that eventually played struggled to lift the atmosphere of people trying to swallow pastries quietly. The tea itself....overall it was nice and value for money. The addition of a layer of savouries added to the cake stand was a lovely touch. Scones still warm, good selection of teas. Disappointing on the alcohol front, the bloody Mary was bland and lacking flavour...this should be easy to make, and pack a punch with pepper and worcestershire sauce (which was lacking) a shot of vodka with tomato juice is not a bloody mary. More thought is needed here, the table quickly becomes cluttered. Overall, if you are here and would like a treat, do come, but also lower your expectations. This place serves good food, but lacks fun and vivacity.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniel Graham, General Manager at The Pump Room, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2024

Such a shame you found your visit to be disapointing. Thank you for your interesting and helfpul feedback, we will certainly bear this in mind in the future. I regret you found your Bloody Mary to be lacking taste, as indeed as you have specified...More

Reviewed 10 March 2024 via mobile

My brother in law and his American fiancée came to visit. My husband booked this as a traditional English thing to do. The food was absolutely amazing. The lady that served us had dirty marks all over her shirt arms and her tie looked like...she had eaten her dinner off it. I waited for half hour for a fresh cup for my tea it never came. As mentioned food out of this world but sadly I was put off it by her appearance being dirty.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniel Graham, General Manager at The Pump Room, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2024

Thank you for taking the time to give us this helpful feedback which we will address straight away. We hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewed 10 March 2024 via mobile

Brilliant mothers day afternoon tea spent there staff were absolutely lovely food was yummy and atmosphere was very refined and relaxed

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniel Graham, General Manager at The Pump Room, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2024

Thank you for the amazing review.

Reviewed 9 March 2024 via mobile

It was a great experience for a family of 4 adults and 2, 18-year-olds. We made reservations and were quickly seated. The food was great, the tea, coffee, and hot chocolates were delicious. It was a unique experience for everyone and then we had a...great tour through the Roman Baths.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniel Graham, General Manager at The Pump Room, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2024

Thank you for letting us know you had a good time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewed 6 March 2024 via mobile

We popped in today only intending to having cake and coffee but, it was afternoon tea time and it would have been rude not too treat ourselves. My husband is vegetarian so he got his own selection of savoury and sweet treats. The selection was...superb for both of us. We were looked after so well by the young staff, always clearing plates away and enquiring as to whether we wanted our teapots topped up. To add to the special treat there was an excellent pianist playing so relaxing. We finished our excellent visit with two lovely gins and tonic. Definitely worth the cost.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniel Graham, General Manager at The Pump Room, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2024

Thank you for leaving us this excellent feedback!

Reviewed 4 March 2024 via mobile

We had the pleasure of visiting the pump room just to view the surroundings and taste the water . It is worth a look if possible even if like us you were not dining . You get to feel the surroundings view the kind bath...and taste the water for free . To enable you to do this visit the Heritage centre just around the corner and they will tell you where to enter free of chargeMore

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniel Graham, General Manager at The Pump Room, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2024

Great to learn you enjoyed your visit.

Reviewed 2 March 2024

Beautiful poached eggs with smoked salmon and hollandaise sauce. Service friendly and efficient . A Beautiful sunny morning in a lovely environment.

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniel Graham, General Manager at The Pump Room, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2024

Thank you so much, we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 24 February 2024 via mobile

This was a magical experience. The beautiful decor surrounding the room, the large windows, the accompanying music while you dine, all of it. The high tea service was the best we've ever had. Each item was well thought out and perfectly executed. Even their clotted...cream was just better. To be having tea where Queen Anne (1688) to Queen Elizabeth have dined and partaken in the special water, was a special feature. It's worth getting a reservation and being part of such a historical site.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniel Graham, General Manager at The Pump Room, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2024

Thank you so much for this fantastic feedback.

Reviewed 24 February 2024

I’d taken my Mum to Bath for a girlie weekend. We’d been to The Punp Room some years before and had at that time just walked in and been able to choose from a menu on the day itself. So as not to miss out...in case it was busy, I booked online the night before. I was somewhat taken aback to arrive promptly at 10am and to find the place still closed. There were several other people waiting outside in the rain like we were. Also I’d been disappointed to find there were only two options for the 10am sitting, which were scones and cake (why?) or a ‘brunch’ consisting of poached eggs with a choice of topping. I chose spinach and mushrooms and Mum had ham. What was also a shame was that although we’d booked for the earlier sitting, that the pianist didn’t start playing until closer to 10.30. The poached eggs, whilst OK, were almost cold when they arrived and were cooked very soft and runny, which disappointed my Mum and we hadn’t been asked for our preferences either. At best, this was a very mediocre experience and one we shall not be repeating anytime soon. The lack of punctuality, the rigidity of the menu and the lack of ambience was such a shame. Our previous experience had been wonderful with a simple plate of pastries and piping hot coffee, so why the menu has been put together as it is now is bewildering. I hope the welcome and elegance of the catering is soon restored to its former glory.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniel Graham, General Manager at The Pump Room, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2024

Such a shame to learn that you didnt enjoy your recent visit with us. Our menus are all visible online so we would always hope that our guests would know what to expect when attending a sitting. We will bear all of your points in...More

Reviewed 25 January 2024 via mobile

Well worth a visit the staff are very pleasant and most attentive quick and efficient service. We enjoyed green tea and the famous Bath bun an absolute must. Also one can view the Roman bath from the fountain window.

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniel Graham, General Manager at The Pump Room, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2024

Thank you for your great review!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Gainsborough Bath Spa
2,645 reviews
.08 miles away
Abbey Hotel Bath, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
2,176 reviews
.10 miles away
The Z Hotel Bath
799 reviews
.11 miles away
Travelodge Bath City Centre Hotel
811 reviews
.12 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Square Grill House Piano Bar Bath
405 reviews
.03 miles away
Indian Temptation
873 reviews
.05 miles away
The Cornish Bakery
467 reviews
.01 miles away
The West Gate Public House
940 reviews
.05 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Roman Baths
24,283 reviews
.02 miles away
Bath Street
835 reviews
.04 miles away
Bath Tours - City and Country Walk
52 reviews
.01 miles away
Highlights of Bath City Walk
127 reviews
.01 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
travelfam7700
13 December 2023|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from CassimaSK | Reviewed this property |
if your booked time is at 12 there will be a late start anyway as they open at 12 only and everyone will queue to enter, I'd give them a call or send an email, they reply fairly quickly.
1
Vote
travelfam7700
10 December 2023|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from James Q | Reviewed this property |
Am sure it won’t be a problem .. maybe just worth calling them before to order as by the time you get there they have already made up the sandwich platters etc.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE PUMP ROOM, Bath - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Pump Room

Yes, The Pump Room is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Pump Room is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5