We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cobblestones

Certificate of Excellence
££ - £££
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
24 High Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SG, England
+44 1643 821595
Website
Today
11:00 - 03:00
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sat - Mon 11:00 - 03:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

303 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 299: English reviews
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were heading home from Cornwall and decided to stop off in Dunster for a spot of lunch. Whilst ambling down the high street we called into what appeared to be a quaint tea room. We were very pleasantly surprised by the option for Sunday lunch as well as baguettes and other options. The food was all home cooked, beautifully... More 

Helpful?
Thank s-jstevens
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We really liked the look of the cafe inviting and we'll decorated unfortunately the small bowl of soup we ordered was so thin ...It looked and frankly tasted like dishwater ...clearly made from a packet ! And not by someone who could be bothered to read how much water to add !!! No excuse these days not to be able... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sally S
Theresa F, Owner at Cobblestones, responded to this review

Oh Dear, Im so sorry you had to write this review. I can asure you the soup is not made from a packet, we use fresh produce, herbs and spices to made our fresh soup. I wish that you had mentioned this to us at the time and we would have been able to resolve it, and you would have... More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This place looked really promising when we arrived. Friendly staff, nice feel to the restaurant. We ordered the vegetable soup. When it arrived it was really watery and just tasted of salt. It was almost like it was from a packet. Nobody checked during our meal to ask if it was OK. When we went to leave, other people were... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Colin D
Theresa F, Owner at Cobblestones, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, although I am sorry that it wasn't a good one. All of our soup is made by us with fresh ingredients and never from a packet. I do apologise that no one came to check, we do aim to check on everyone during there meal. I wish that we had know at the time so... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2016

We called in at a lunch time for a snack, there were already lots of people in having lunch. It had a nice atmosphere and décor. We only had tea and cakes but it was excellent and the cost very reasonable. The staff were very friendly and efficient.

Helpful?
Thank John1538
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2016

We had a lovely Sunday lunch here- we all had the Roast Beef and couldn’t fault it. Good portion size, good value for money and nice atmosphere inside. Yummy homemade ice-creams too. The staff were very friendly and service was quick. I would definitely recommend coming here.

Helpful?
Thank AscotCW
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Stopped for Sunday lunch. A lovely welcome, happy and attentive staff, excellent food (both quantity and quality) and very good value for money. So much better than a normal tourist cafe - delicious home cooking at it's best.

Helpful?
Thank rfi30
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

We had a delicious lunch, fresh soup, gluten free bread (thank you!) and such friendly staff. A lovely place, thoughtfully designed & laid out. At the rear, the garden looked great but sadly it was too chilly on our visit. Recommended 100%, you won't be disappointed!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2016

Lovely sunday lunch with all the family, roasts are very good and kids catered for, service ok. Looks deceptive from front as small but opens up to large restaurant with garden at back too

Helpful?
Thank susanh194
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2016

After a short trip to Dunster, we stopped for a light lunch at Cobblestones, It is a quaint little place clean and tidy, with a nice little tea garden to the rear, we had Baguette's and a couple of ham and cheese ploughman's a couple of milk shakes a local beer and a portion of chips, All very nice, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank fishamonamon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

Lovely cream tea with as much tea as you can drink! Scone was huge and very tasty. Friendly staff. Will definitely return when we are in the area again.

Helpful?
Thank nh51

Travellers who viewed Cobblestones also viewed

Dunster, Exmoor National Park
Dunster, Exmoor National Park
 
Dunster, Exmoor National Park
Dunster, Exmoor National Park
 
Dunster, Exmoor National Park
Dunster, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Cobblestones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$6 - US$21
Cuisine
Cafe, British, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 03:00
Monday
11:00 - 03:00
Saturday
11:00 - 03:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 24 High Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Exmoor National Park  >  Dunster
  • Phone Number: +44 1643 821595
Description
Set in the charming village of Dunster. Situated on the High Street, just down from the Yarn Market. We have a comfy bar area, where you can watch the world go by while enjoying yummy cakes and thirst quenching drinks. which follows through to a relaxing restaurant, whether its a light bite or hearty food your after we hope that there will be a little something to suit everyone. We also have a peaceful walled garden, so English weather permitting you can bask in the sunshine! the garden has a back gate so National Trust members can park out the back. Dogs are welcome in the bar and garden.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Cobblestones and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
somerset uk
10 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Cobblestones staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?