We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bishop's Table

The Bishop's Palace | Off Market Place, Wells BA5 2PD, England
+44 1749 988111
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good28%
  • Average19%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible13%
Travellers talk about
“cake” (20 reviews)
“stuffing” (2 reviews)
“sausage rolls” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Bishop's Palace | Off Market Place, Wells BA5 2PD, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a lovely little cafe and gift-shop just after entering the Bishop’s Palace inner grounds, and its free. If you have been before or you just want somewhere for breakfast, lunch or just to relax with a coffee its ideal. Seating is both inside...More

Thank bonjgb1009
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were out for a walk on a hot Sunday Morning. We stopped by for a light breakfast. We were presently surprised by the extensive breakfast menu. My field mushrooms on toast were really tasty. My husband had a bacon sandwich with lots of local...More

Thank Deborah S
Reviewed 1 week ago

I'm really struggling to give a rating here as we enjoyed a lovely tea overlooking the green and watching croquet players, a lovely English scene, so much so we decided to lunch there the following day. Although there were only 8 or so people in...More

Thank nickpickles
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We only had coffee and cake, but thoroughly enjoyed the stay. None of your factory style cakes, they were very nice indeed. Decent sized slices too - is that a good or bad thing, either way I was impressed. Good coffee, two Americano's with hot...More

Thank Terry W
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ordered a vegan burger, and beef burger, told it would be 20mins which was fine. When vegan burger arrived it had cheese in it instead of tofu. Husbands burger ok. Told my new burger would be 30mins instead of it being cooked immediately. Seemed a...More

Thank luktutts
Bishops_Palace, Manager at The Bishop's Table, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are very sorry to read your review and would like to apologise for the mistake with regards to your vegan burger. Unfortunately your order was recorded incorrectly and then sent through to our kitchen team, resulting in you receiving a vegetable burger instead of...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A good selection of food including the childrens menu. Prices were very reasonable and all food was locally sourced.

Thank Trojana47
Bishops_Palace, Manager at The Bishop's Table, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Many thanks for your review, we do hope to see you again.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nicely sited cafe. Ordered quiche because when we came in it didn't look like there was a lot of choice, there were cakes and a sign saying quiche, after we had ordered and sat down we realised that there was a menu on the table...More

Thank KAW687
Bishops_Palace, Manager at The Bishop's Table, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We are very surprised to hear you felt there was not much in the way of food choices. We actually run a daily breakfast menu served 10am till 1130am and an extended lunch menu midday till 3pm with over 15...More

Reviewed 1 June 2018 via mobile

How is it possible to charge £2.85 for a coffee and for it to taste awful? Bitter and unpleasant. Such a beautiful setting and properly let down by the basics.

Thank Smudger125
Bishops_Palace, Manager at The Bishop's Table, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are very surprised to read your review as our local coffee suppliers Braziers have been very popular with our regular customers and within the local area. We can only apologise for your experience.

Reviewed 31 May 2018

The wait for our food was about half an hour which was too long, but when the food arrived it was delicious. My sister and I both had the mushroom burger which was very tasty, but it was a bit messy to eat which detracted...More

Thank Meg_Hyland
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

Always make a point of coming to this little cafe/restaurant when we come over to Wells food and drink not the cheapest but always very tasty and nicely presented in the good weather it’s nice to sit outside and watch the world and there dogs...More

Thank Westononthemove
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 5 hotels in Wells
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
1,054 reviews
.12 miles away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
229 reviews
.14 miles away
The White Hart Hotel
379 reviews
.14 miles away
Premier Inn Wells (Somerset)
300 reviews
.52 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Courtyard Restaurant
473 reviews
.14 miles away
TWENTYONE cafe + kitchen
148 reviews
.08 miles away
Goodfellows
532 reviews
.11 miles away
Rugantino Restaurant
477 reviews
.14 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Wells Cathedral
2,953 reviews
.09 miles away
Vicar's Close
808 reviews
.17 miles away
The Bishop's Palace and Gardens
1,229 reviews
.06 miles away
Wells Market Place
242 reviews
.08 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Bishop's Table staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, View, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 16:00
Monday
10:00 - 16:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 16:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 16:00
Thursday
10:00 - 16:00
Friday
10:00 - 16:00
Saturday
10:00 - 16:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Bishop's Palace | Off Market Place, Wells BA5 2PD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Wells
  • Phone Number: +44 1749 988111
  • E-mail
Description
The Bishop's Table is a cafe in the historic City of Wells with a view like no other!Nestled in the grounds of the medieval Bishop's Palace you can enjoy lunch, brunch and some of the best coffee and cake you will ever experience. All with a view of a medieval palace building, croquet lawn (complete with croquet players in summer), ruins of a Great Hall and, for those sitting outside on the sunny terrace, an additional view of our neighbour, Wells Cathedral. The Bishop's Table brings you seasonal menus made from fresh, local produce - we even use fruit and vegetables grown on-site in our thriving Community Garden. Fully licensed you can also enjoy a glass of wine or cider with your food. Open daily, hours vary so please visit The Bishop's Palace website and 'Opening Hours' page. Family friendly, children's portions and highchairs available. Dog bowls available outside the cafe. Dogs welcome in the gardens of The Bishop's Palace but must be kept on a short lead. Free WIFI.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing