We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Toby Carvery Shenstone

) #36 of 123 Restaurants in Lichfield ££ - £££ , British,
Birmingham Road | Shenstone Woodend, Lichfield WS14 0PA, England
+44 1543 480130
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good32%
  • Average12%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“beef” (31 reviews)
“gammon” (12 reviews)
“sundae” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Birmingham Road | Shenstone Woodend, Lichfield WS14 0PA, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We visit fairly regularly for the great value and consistently high quality food. On this occasion, a birthday meal, 2 of our party were badly delayed due to motorway traffic. The manager could not have been more accommodating despite the restaurant being busy, as usual....More

Thank Catherine B
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We have visited this Toby on several occasions and this was by far the worst visit yet! Considering you pay a premium on a Sunday, the meat portions were minimal to say the least. My partner even gave his plate back to the chef and...More

Thank Dawn W
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After returning from our holiday I just wanted a carvery. We were passing this one on the way home, we arrived at 8pm to be greeted by the young man on the door (white shirt didn't catch his name) he made us feel very welcome....More

Thank karenjames1967
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Shenstone, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Karenjames1867, Thankyou for taking the time to leave us your kind comments. So nice to receive great feedback. I'm glad our team made your visit that extra special. We hope to see you again soon. 😊

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

First time visiting a Toby and I was impressed.Made to feel welcome and we were asked if we had visited before;we explained we hadn't and it was explained to us how the carvery worked,where to find gravy etc and how to pay. Served by a...More

Thank Angelmichael416
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Shenstone, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi! Thank you for taking the time to leave us your kind comments. Hope to see you again soon. 😊

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited the Toby Carvery in Shenstone tonight (formerly called The Highwayman) with a few friends tonight, the service and food was fantastic and we all had a very enjoyable evening. I would definitely recommend a visit to anyone as it's very good value for money...More

Thank JuneEspley
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Shenstone, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

JuneEspley. Thankyou for taking the time to leave us your kind comments and I'll be sure to pass on your words to our team. We here at Toby hope to see you again soon. 😊

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went recently with our three kids for an early dinner on a Saturday evening, just after 6pm. Arrived and shown to a table right by the fire exit so asked to move which to be fair the staff sorted for us and we got a...More

Thank foodlover847
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Shenstone, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We can assure you that we do not find this type of behaviour acceptable, and we would like to address the situation you have described. Thanks for bringing this matter to our attention. Our manager would really like to speak with you more regarding this...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

About 5 weeks ago a party of 9 of us booked a table. Our table was nicely laid out ready for us but when we went up to the carvery there were flies everywhere, when the chef came out to serve us, we asked him...More

Thank Coral C
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Shenstone, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

A response letter was posted in reply to your letter received in house the same day we received it so apologies if this was not received. If you wish to contact us via email at shenstone@tobycarvery.co.uk or alternatively call us on 01543480130 we would be...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited The Toby after a disappointment elsewhere and were very pleased to greeted and found a table to our liking immediately. The Carvery meal was excellent, we tried beef and pork and found the meat to be tender and well flavoured, a wide selection...More

Thank Cyril C
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Shenstone, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Cyril C, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Toby Carvery Shenstone! Your recommendation means so much to us and we're so happy to have earned it. Thank you again for taking the time to let the world know about your positive experience....More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Been here many times and always gets our vote. Lovely staff. We went after 3pm so to miss the lunch time rush. There was still a few people in there and a lot followed us. The food as always very good and temperature wise was...More

Thank FennyWP
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Shenstone, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

FennyWP. Thankyou so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Always great to receive positive feedback. I will be passing your comments on to our kitchen team. Hope to see you again soon. 😊

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited Toby Carvery on Thursday, the meat and veg were superb . The only downside was I asked for just turkey and they didn't give me much but what I did have was lovely.😊More

Thank Rita B
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Shenstone, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Rita B, Thankyou for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Always great to receive positive feedback. However if you would gave mentioned this to our carver or server on the day we would have been more than happy to fetch you some more...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Brook Tea Rooms
9 reviews
.52 miles away
The Owl At Lichfield
590 reviews
.53 miles away
The Saxon Penny
484 reviews
.74 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Lichfield Cathedral
1,392 reviews
1.31 miles away
Beacon Park
242 reviews
1.12 miles away
Samuel Johnson Birthplace Museum
241 reviews
1.20 miles away
Erasmus Darwin House
221 reviews
1.32 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
ERV449
3 March 2015|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from bobbymaltons-trips | Reviewed this property |
Sorry that is a question I can't answer sorry. I've not noticed it on menu they don't give you one! They do salad but unsure on the rest sorry. Look on website and give them a quick ring. Good luck 😄
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$15
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 22:30
Monday
08:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 23:00
Thursday
08:00 - 23:00
Friday
08:00 - 23:00
Saturday
08:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Birmingham Road | Shenstone Woodend, Lichfield WS14 0PA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Staffordshire  >  Lichfield
  • Phone Number: +44 1543 480130
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing