We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Saracens Head

££ - £££, British,
Stafford Road | Weston, Stafford ST18 0HT, England
+44 1889 270286
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good17%
  • Average12%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (42 reviews)
“ciabatta” (6 reviews)
“sunday roast” (13 reviews)
Open Now
07:30 - 23:00 Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Stafford Road | Weston, Stafford ST18 0HT, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 504 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Had a three course meal with my other half's family on boxing day. I couldn't believe how lovley all of the food was! Couldn't complain about any of the food loved it! Love the way it looks inside vety stylish and cosy. Nice place to...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank 459kirstyw
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We came here for a special birthday celebration on a quiet New Years Day evening. All of us had starters, which included 2 people sharing the SH board, side plates were dumped on the table without asking who they were for (likewise with the drinks)....More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank heatherwright95
Martin_Hirst_VD, Lucy - General Manager at Saracens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi heatherwright95, thank you for taking the time to leave your review, however disappointed to read of the circumstances in which this has been written. I am surprised to hear your comments in regards to the service as we do strive to maintain a high...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wonderful pub/restaurant. Excellent decor. Great range of food which was superb. The restaurant has views out over the fields and the llamas which are adjacent. The tables have plenty of room round them so you don't feel squashed in. Staff are friendly and efficient. Dogs...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank candjjames
Martin_Hirst_VD, Venue Director at Saracens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Candjjames, thank you for leaving such a fantastic review. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience as much as you did at the Saracens Head. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Many thanks

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After hearing other people say good things about this Pub/restaurant, we decided to give it a try. Unfortunately we were left rather disappointed. The restaurant itself has a lovely decor and the staff are welcoming and efficient. However whilst the menu tries to impress with...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Amarizzle
Martin_Hirst_VD, Venue Director at Saracens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Amarizzle, thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I'm really pleased to hear you felt the staff were welcoming and efficient at the Saracens Head. I am disappointed to hear you felt the food was bland and overcooked, if these issues...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Can’t fault the team led by Lucy who works tirelessly to make sure everyone enjoyed bringing the new year in. Food fab as usual here staff on the ball with everything from taking food choices to pouring your wine and even ham and cheese oat...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Liggs18
Martin_Hirst_VD, Venue Director at Saracens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Liggs18, thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review! I'm so happy to hear you had a fantastic new years eve at the Saracens Head. I will pass on your kind comments to Lucy and the rest of the team that were...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Myself and my family went here for lunch on Boxing Day. Food was excellent along with the service. Will definately be returning.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank ut49
Martin_Hirst_VD, Venue Director at Saracens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Ut49, thank you so much for taking time to leave your fantastic review. I am please to hear the food and service was excellent. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Saracens Head soon. Many Thanks

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were a party of three who met up for Sunday lunch. I and another person ordered the roast beef. The meat was rather chewy and the vegetables were undercooked, almost raw. One of our party complained about the meat and she was offered a...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank Rudolph73
Martin_Hirst_VD, Venue Director at Saracens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Rudolph73, thank you for taking the time to leave your review although I am sorry to hear about the circumstances in which it has come under. I can only apologise that you felt the roast beef was too chewy and the vegetables were under...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our meal was from the Festive Menu on a Friday evening. They split our party across two tables but didn't mind when we pushed them together. My salmon starter was delicious, as was the panna cotta dessert. However, the main course - risotto - wasn't...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank mejavi
Martin_Hirst_VD, Venue Director at Saracens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Majavi, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your meal and the atmosphere at the Saracens Head. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your risotto, should you have raised...More

Reviewed 13 December 2018

The menu differed from that online. The gammon was tasteless. The chips were dry. The food was very over priced as were the soft drinks. The service was extremely slow. The decor was very nice as was the atmosphere.More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Percygeorge
Martin_Hirst_VD, Lucy - General Manager at Saracens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi Percygeorge. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback of the Saracens Head, however I am very disappointed to read of the circumstances in which this has been written. I am sorry to hear you found the Gammon to be tasteless and...More

Reviewed 11 December 2018 via mobile

Went for a 21st Birthday and my mother and I had the roast turkey dinner from the Christmas menu. We then had a birthday cake and our waitress kindly advised we had payed for two courses. After cake we were full and asked to have...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank natashalove1
Martin_Hirst_VD, Lucy - General Manager at Saracens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2018

Hi natashalove1. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, however very shocked to read of the experience you had with us last night. I have spoken to all relevant staff and departments and would be very keen to discuss this over the...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 11 hotels in Stafford
Weston Hall
882 reviews
.33 miles away
Common Farm Motel
62 reviews
3.06 miles away
Premier Inn Stafford North (Hurricane) Hotel
1,038 reviews
3.79 miles away
Vine Hotel
257 reviews
3.81 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Green Man
270 reviews
2.17 miles away
The Greyhound Inn
156 reviews
2.83 miles away
Clifford Arms
160 reviews
3.10 miles away
Green Man Inn
54 reviews
3.27 miles away
Nearby Attractions
British Wildlife Rescue Centre
13 reviews
1.46 miles away
Wickers World Balloon Flights
612 reviews
3.01 miles away
Thor's Cave
82 reviews
3.40 miles away
Canalside Farm Shop & Cafe
211 reviews
2.88 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
GeorgieL112
10 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from George M | Reviewed this property |
no idea Google it
1
Vote
Steve E
22 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from lbw771 | Reviewed this property |
Yes but in the bar only I’m afraid
0
Votes
Janelle59
7 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Roger T | Reviewed this property |
The breakfasts are great, I’ve seen the rooms and they are lovely. If you are thinking of staying don’t hesitate.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Television, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Validated Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, View, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
07:30 - 23:00
Monday
07:30 - 23:00
Tuesday
07:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
07:30 - 23:00
Thursday
07:30 - 23:00
Friday
07:30 - 23:00
Saturday
07:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Stafford Road | Weston, Stafford ST18 0HT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Staffordshire  >  Stafford
  • Phone Number: +44 1889 270286
  • E-mail
Description
We acquired the Saracens Head back in early 2016 when we opened the doors after only small and minimal changes had been completed. In August 2017 we carried out a 3-month refurbishment and were delighted to open on 30th November to give this village pub a new lease of life. Providing a family (and dog) friendly, rustic country pub environment is something that we have been looking forward to for some time and we are thrilled to be able to offer this to the locals and ‘not so locals’ to enjoy. Our Kitchen team have worked hard to create a flavour filled gastro menu, take away pizza menu and also breakfast. The Saracens Head boasts a large sunny patio to enjoy in the summer with a real ale whilst in the colder months you are able to cosy up in front of our log burner in The Log Store with a glass of mulled wine. We look forward to welcoming you to join us at the Saracens Head.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing