We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Knot and Plough

Claimed
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Location and contact

About
Ideally located on the A518 by the Staffordshire County Showground, The Knot and Plough is the perfect place to dine and relax. We have something for every member of the family! We boast a varied and extensive menu with a superb daily carvery right at the heart what we do. The carvery is freshly prepared and offers a choice of three succulent meats carved by our friendly chefs, temptingly displayed alongside a wide range of seasonal vegetables and homemade Yorkshire puddings. At the bar you can choose from a superb selection of cask ales from Marston's' five breweries, a great wine list, as well as an impressive range of ciders, soft drinks and spirits.Our Nescafe Milano coffee range is the
PRICE RANGE
US$5 - US$16
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Buffet, Wine and Beer, Accepts Credit Cards
Reviews (440)
Filter reviews
439 results
Traveller rating
143
97
69
51
79
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
143
97
69
51
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviews salmon pudding curry marstons pub great carvery sunday carvery food was lovely piping hot be visiting again medium meats staffordshire
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 439 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Visited here when we were in Stafford seeing a friend, quiet when we went so easy to get a table as everywhere else in the close proximity was booked up. Really easy to be served and the staff members were really nice. Ordered the classic...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Chopper60
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

I'm afraid the Yorkshire pudding "tacos" were nothing if the sort. 3 x Yorkshire puds taken off the carvery, a sliver of carvery meat and a dollop of coleslaw with sweet potato fries. Certainly nothing "taco" about them and definately not worth a tenner. This...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Craig P
Knot-and-Plough, General Manager at The Knot and Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Craig I am sorry you were disappointed with your meal - I will pass on your feedback to our menu development team that decide the specifics of each menu item. This is completely out of our hands. If you would like to discuss your...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a lovely lunch. The staff were very welcoming and made our visit easy and enjoyable. Especially when catering for our two young children. The food was nice- it’s just a shame we didn’t have any room for pudding!!More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Duckface87
Knot-and-Plough, General Manager at The Knot and Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Good afternoon Many thanks for taking a moment to leave a great review! We really love to hear back from happy customers! I hope we are able to welcome you back again soon - don't forget, all of our cakes are available to TAKE AWAY...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited Saturday and it was as expected all good. One of our meals was missed when ordering, but lady was very apologetic and gave us it for free. It was piping hot and delicious when arrived. I had the curry and was a big...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank AmieWorc
Knot-and-Plough, General Manager at The Knot and Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Good afternoon! Many thanks for taking the time to leave a fantastic review! We love to hear back from happy customers, so it is great to hear that we ticked all the boxes for you on your visit! I would love to be able to...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Carvery has three choice's of meat. Depending on what time depends on the freshness of the veg. Staff are really friendly here and go out of their way to help. Armed forces discount is available here also.More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Tony S
Knot-and-Plough, General Manager at The Knot and Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Tony Many thanks for taking a moment to leave a great review - it is always fantastic to hear back from happy customers! All of our reviews are passed on to the team, so I appreciate you taking a moment to acknowledge how hard...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Friendly and welcoming staff. Great food. Great quiz on Thursday nights too! Worth the trip out of Stafford.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank lucyrostance
Knot-and-Plough, General Manager at The Knot and Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Good afternoon Lucy Thank you so much for taking a moment to leave us a lovely review! We are always thrilled to hear back from happy customers! I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon Best regards

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is our third visit for lunch, yet again, well worth the visit! The food is fabulous, taste, presentstion, temperature. Everything about it was great. The atmosphere, the staff and food, faultless! We will definitely be returning, can’t recommend it enough!!

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank gracieminnie
Knot-and-Plough, General Manager at The Knot and Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Good afternoon Gracieminnie I am so pleased to hear back from happy customers! Its fantastic to hear that we have excelled in your expectations time and time again, and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future! Best regards

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Recently came here with family was a delight the staff were extremely helpful. We were a family of 4 everybody enjoyed the food which all came out in a quick fashion was hot and really tasty. The price was good would definitely recommend this place....More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Craig W
Knot-and-Plough, General Manager at The Knot and Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Good afternoon Craig Many thanks for taking a moment to leave a great review after your recent visit! I am so glad you have enjoyed your meals and the service here. We would love to see you and the family back again in the very...More

Reviewed 16 January 2019

We have been here before but our recent visit was disappointing to say the least.All the vegetables were over cooked and left standing in serving dishes full of water!!The gravy was so thin you could almost see through it.Wont be goin back again.More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Pearchy1
Knot-and-Plough, General Manager at The Knot and Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Good afternoon Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. It is disappointing that having enjoyed visits before, you have decided never to return. If you would like to discuss this in any further detail, please don't hesitate to drop us an email...More

Reviewed 13 January 2019 via mobile

We called in on Sunday. I was so excited to see the same vegan menu as the Nags Head in Hornsea (which is an excellent restaurant). It was not too busy, but we waited over 45 minutes for our meals. I do not have a...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank RamonaL34
Knot-and-Plough, General Manager at The Knot and Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Good afternoon Ramona I am sorry to see you did not enjoy your meals here at your recent visit. I am disappointed you did not speak directly with the manager on duty in regards to your meal as this is not the standard expected from...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 11 nearby hotels
Vine Hotel
257 reviews
1.82 miles away
Travelodge Stafford Central Hotel
359 reviews
1.83 miles away
The Swan Hotel
754 reviews
1.88 miles away
Weston Hall
890 reviews
1.97 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 269 nearby restaurants
The Morris Man
215 reviews
.72 miles away
Zizzi - Stafford
201 reviews
1.75 miles away
Weeping Cross Fish Bar
54 reviews
1.67 miles away
The Tap Steakhouse
56 reviews
1.63 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 63 nearby attractions
Thor's Cave
84 reviews
1.31 miles away
Ancient High House
191 reviews
1.87 miles away
Stafford Gatehouse Theatre
128 reviews
1.78 miles away
St Chad's Church
60 reviews
1.87 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Jean A
29 February 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Jackgraing |
They have water bowls outside for dogs and sometimes dog biscuits so furrys don't feel left out!
1
Vote
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing