We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Duke of York public house

) #32 of 70 Restaurants in Woodbridge ££ - £££ , British,
Ipswich Road | Woodbridge, Woodbridge IP12 4BY, England
+44 1394 386347
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent26%
  • Very good31%
  • Average19%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“burger” (20 reviews)
“pie” (10 reviews)
Opens in 13 min
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Ipswich Road | Woodbridge, Woodbridge IP12 4BY, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 408 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
10
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Big car park, big enough to ensure you will always get a parking space. Very homely, cosy feel to the pub when you walk in and you will always be happily greeted by a member of staff. The tables are placed far enough apart so...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 days ago

We visited the Duke of York for the first time yesterday for my friends birthday. We waited 25 minutes for any body to come and take at least a drinks order but they never so we had to go and find someone to serve us....More

Thank Jan A
General Manager A, Manager at Duke of York public house, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Jan A, thank you for leaving us feedback. We are disappointed to hear that your experience was not a positive one. If you would like to discuss this further then please do contact us on 01394386347 and ask to speak to Andrew or Alison.

Reviewed 4 days ago

set priced menu is very good , was a busy friday night but wait wasnt tooo long staff very helpful and diligent

Thank Archiecat1
General Manager A, Manager at Duke of York public house, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hello, we are very happy we could provide you with a positive experience! I will share your kind words with the team and we all hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We recently went for Lunch here, which was the first time we had been here for about four years and wished we hadn't. Firstly the service was nearly none.We were sat in a table and apart from.the food order being taken, and then asked after...More

Thank Derrick F
General Manager A, Manager at Duke of York public house, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Derrick F, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. Falling short of meeting your expectations is not to the standards we strive to achieve. I will discuss your comments with the team so we can improve our...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Duke of York is round the corner from us and for some reason we have never visited! Wish we had found this gem sooner! We just popped in after work as I couldn't be bothered to cook on a Saturday night! It was so...More

Thank Kya R
General Manager A, Manager at Duke of York public house, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Kya, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Duke of York. Thanks for recommending us to your family and we all look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We drove from Maldon, Essex to have a meal at the Duke of York as we had passed quite a few times whilst visiting Woodbridge. Thought the food was excellent also the staff friendly and efficient.

Thank fambridge
General Manager A, Manager at Duke of York public house, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for the review & I hope you make the journey to Woodbridge again soon so you can enjoy our lovely pub. I will share with all my team.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well what can I say! This restaurant was beyond poor it was embarrassing to me and my family! the food was disgusting and cold! it was only me and my family in the restaurant so nice and quiet which I thought would be nice, but...More

1  Thank blytheclark300
General Manager A, Manager at Duke of York public house, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Blytheclark300, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us. We would like the opportunity to address your concerns. If you wish to please contact us on 01394 386347 and ask for Tony, Andrew or Alison. Thank you, and we look forward to...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We first steve here for a late lunch one Sunday. My partner chose beef and enjoyed it. I had a vegetarian burger which was pleasant. We returned on another occasion when I chose a starter of scallops as a main dish with a salad. I...More

Thank 3Angie76
General Manager A, Manager at Duke of York public house, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. I'm sorry to read that you were disappointed with your recent visit. I will discuss the issues you have raised with the team so we can continue to improve. Thank...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I are visiting from America and looking for somewhere with a traditional pub menu and ales. I've not been to the duke of York in probably 20 years so a lot of changes since then as the building expanded. The service was...More

Thank Jon G
General Manager A, Manager at Duke of York public house, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Jon G, thank you so much for the positive review! I shall pass your kind words onto the team. I'm pleased to hear that the team were able to provide a solution for you to take your sweet home and I hope your parents enjoyed...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

A charming restaurant with lovely features. A good menu with lots of choice. We had 3 different main courses, all beautifully presented and piping hot. The staff were friendly and helpful. The dessert menu was good. We chose one small panna cotta and one sharing...More

Thank addowning4
General Manager A, Manager at Duke of York public house, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your 5* review, I will pass your comments on to the team and we are very pleased your party enjoyed your birthday celebration!! We look forward to seeing you soon

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Red Lion
393 reviews
.82 miles away
The Table
431 reviews
.94 miles away
The Galley
478 reviews
.87 miles away
The Anchor
304 reviews
.94 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Beacon Rally Karts
9 reviews
.92 miles away
St. Mary's Church
9 reviews
.88 miles away
Kingston Field
10 reviews
.69 miles away
Woodbridge Museum
9 reviews
.88 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
kimheadboard
13 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from RIGGSY666 | Reviewed this property |
Outside area yes but not suitable for playing children. Try Cherry Tree. This has equipped play area.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Ipswich Road | Woodbridge, Woodbridge IP12 4BY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Woodbridge
  • Phone Number: +44 1394 386347
Description
The Duke of York in Woodbridge is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing