We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

MKB Bar - CLOSED

3 Alexandra Terrace, High Street | Radisson Edwardian Guildford Hotel, Guildford, England
+44 1483 792306
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good19%
  • Average8%
  • Poor17%
  • Terrible21%
13 Jan 2016
“Expensive for what it is and has lost its unique atmosphere.”
15 Dec 2015
“over expensive dark bar”
Restaurant Hours Closed
CUISINES
Wine Bar
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
3 Alexandra Terrace, High Street | Radisson Edwardian Guildford Hotel, Guildford, England
All Details
Reviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2016

The staff ignored us I had to go to the bar to ask for some service. It seemed like a real effort to get anything done. Expect more for the prices charged. Heard that Aaron has moved to Kokomo next to the Legion, went there...More

Thank weenyc
Reviewed 15 December 2015

went there for birthday celebration, could not believe the price of the drinks for what it was. i thought it was going to be a classy nice place. it was just a very dark expensive place with rude staff that on got your drinks wrong...More

Thank Wendy M
Reviewed 18 October 2015 via mobile

Arrived here Saturday evening at 7.30pm. One very rude and rowdy celebrating a birthday. All other tables apart from one in a dark corner reserved. No atmosphere. Drinks over priced. 2 single g&ts & bottles of Peroni £21!! Left shortly after.

Thank antandf
Reviewed 1 September 2015

Selection of food was good. Presentation of food was lovely. But could find more value for money options in town.More

4  Thank elcharco
General-Manager-GFD, Manager at MKB Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2015

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to send your feedback. I am very glad you enjoyed your food with us. We always do our best to offer our products at the best price possible and try to ensure we offer good value to...More

Reviewed 2 August 2015

Had been here once before and was completely ignored so left before being served. Decided to give it another chance and it because my bad decision of the day. This time we at least got a drink - overpriced glass of wine and quite decent...More

1  Thank HollisterRanchGirl
General-Manager-GFD, Manager at MKB Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2015

Dear Reviewer, I am disappointed to hear that you experienced a poor night in MKB again. I will be sure to talk to the team and investigate exactly what happened. We have currently partially refurbished our bar and are looking to complete the rest of...More

Reviewed 10 July 2015

This bar was a really good find. Lots of choice on the cocktail menu and do deals on a select few early evening. Staff were really friendly, efficient and knowledgeable putting to rest my question on whiskey regions. Later on the music picked up and...More

2  Thank James0204
General-Manager-GFD, Manager at MKB Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2015

Hi James, Thanks for taking the time to give your feedback. We are all really happy that you enjoyed your experience In MKB and that the knowledge of our bartenders is something we take pride in. We hope to see you again soon ! Kind...More

Reviewed 3 May 2015 via mobile

Make sure you check your bill Service charge for drinks is included and charged unless you ask for it to be removed .. Five pounds for a pint and rude staff... Don't bother go to rogues bar instead ..

5  Thank Craig L
General-Manager-GFD, Manager at MKB Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2015

Dear Craig, The pricing in our bar is something we are currently looking at. However service charge is a company policy and stated on the bill. It is optional and we are always happy to take it off. Kind Regards, Luke Woodhatch Bar Manager

Reviewed 23 April 2015

As someone that my friend knew had said that they enjoyed their night out here she reserved a seating area for her 30th birthday gathering. We went out for a meal first and then headed over to the bar afterwards for what we thought was...More

3  Thank Andy C
General-Manager-GFD, Manager at MKB Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2015

Dear Andy, I am sorry to hear about the confusion with your booking. We have had some issues with external booking websites which we have been looking to resolve as soon as possible. Bar service can take a long time due to it being a...More

Reviewed 7 April 2015

Shame each time I go its empty, must be picking the wrong night. Staff were friendly. Was very dark, and there were mainly of couples.More

Thank weet2015
General-Manager-GFD, Manager at MKB Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2015

Dear Reviewer, I am so happy you enjoyed your cocktails and that the staff were very friendly. We have been quiet for Easter but are starting to get busy again ( especially Fridays and Saturdays) . We look foward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards,...More

Reviewed 27 March 2015

Came here with friends for drinks on a Friday night. The drinks were very pricey, the men's toilet was apparently unpleasant and there's no atmosphere. Half the tables had reserved signs on them, with no sign of life. They need to get more comfy seating...More

1  Thank Mildredness11156
General-Manager-GFD, Manager at MKB Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2015

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to review MKB. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your recent night out. Unfortunately March was quiet month and that did reflect on the atmosphere. We do reserve tables but do allow them to...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Maloncho Tandoori
275 reviews
.06 miles away
Cau
1,249 reviews
.04 miles away
Rumwong
523 reviews
.05 miles away
The Jetty Guildford
224 reviews
.01 miles away
Nearby Attractions
G Live
266 reviews
.04 miles away
The Boileroom
31 reviews
.30 miles away
Tunsgate Arch
27 reviews
.25 miles away
Abbots Hospital
10 reviews
.21 miles away
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Average prices
US$5 - US$40
Cuisine
Wine Bar
Good for
Bar Scene
Open Hours
Tuesday
16:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
16:00 - 23:00
Thursday
16:00 - 00:00
Friday
16:00 - 02:00
Saturday
17:00 - 02:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 3 Alexandra Terrace, High Street | Radisson Edwardian Guildford Hotel, Guildford, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Surrey  >  Guildford
  • Phone Number: +44 1483 792306
  • E-mail
Description
Mixing a metropolitan vibe with an earthy soul, MKB is a rendezvous you can always rely on to bring great company and good times together. By day it's a place to catch up and enjoy the simple pleasures of fresh ingredients and friendly service. By night, when the lights go down and music infuses the atmosphere, the bar comes to life with lip-quenching cocktails and well chosen wines.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing