Anchor & Horseshoes

Anchor & Horseshoes

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+44 1483 303171+ Add website
Hours
Sun
12:00 - 22:30
Mon
12:00 - 23:00
Tue
12:00 - 23:00
Wed
12:00 - 23:00
Thu
12:00 - 23:00
Fri
12:00 - 0:00
Sat
12:00 - 0:00
Improve this listing
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Ratings and reviews
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Travellers' Choice 2023

RATINGS
Food
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Atmosphere
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Details
Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
CUISINES
British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
features
Does this restaurant allow dogs or considered pet friendly?
About
A local pub in the heart of the historic village of Burpham built in 1796 and featured in the Doomsday book. Off set in a small community with great facilities, offers food, Bt Sport, Sky Sports, Welcomes families and is dog friendly. We have a large back garden and offer free wifi and parking.
CUISINES
British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Free off-street parking, Television, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Dog Friendly, Sports bars
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles222 reviews
Excellent
141
Very good
40
Average
13
Poor
5
Terrible
23
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

Samantha P
10 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2020 none
Greater by the lonely bottle of hand sanitizer and a huge vase of very dead flowers. Food much more expensive than it use to be. Coupled with the portion size disappointingly small. Tasty fat chips served in a basket equated to about 5 chips. So chicken and chip for a tenner!,
Written 25 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
susanbH662YL
Hi Samantha, We are disappointed you didn't enjoy your visit and somewhat surprised at the comments. There are wall mounted hand sanitiser dispensers at both the entrance and exit. There is also hand sanitiser on each table and i n both the toilets. We offer a lunch special menu with smaller portions at £8.50 for 2 courses during the day and our full menu in the evening. If you could let me know which day you visited us I will certainly look into this
Written 27 September 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

David M
6 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 none
We had decided on the Anchor and Horseshoes for this afternoon get-together for the obvious hospitality of manager Sue and her staff and for the careful measures in evidence to ensure safety during the Corona pandemic. We enjoyed a buffet with excellent sandwiches and quiches together with a good range of beers, wine, tea and coffee. We arrived later than agreed after the funeral had been delayed by stormy weather. This was accommodated without any negative comment and the warmth of the welcome was a lovely contrast to the wind, rain and sadness that we had all endured. We were carefully seated in groups but still able to talk together. Service was helpful, unobtrusive and sensitive even as we lingered into the evening's quiz night! A very difficult day made significantly better by the experience of thoughtful hospitality and a delicious home made buffet at a very reasonable price. Big thanks and appreciation to Sue and staff.
Written 6 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
susanbH662YL
Thankyou so much David it was a pleasure to meet you all and make your day run smoothly.
Written 27 September 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sue F
Banbury33 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2021 friends
My friend and I visited this pub yesterday after many years and what a fabulous pub it is now. The landlady Julie cooks a very tasty and delicious Roast abs of the two options being served we were able to have a little of both. Chicken and roast gammon!! Barry was attentive, friendly and made us feel very special customers as did James the barman! I highly recommend you try this little gem of a pub for your next Sunday roast. Great atmosphere too. I will be back for more!
Written 16 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julie D
Thank you so much for your review, we are so pleased you have visited the pub again after many years. We hope to see you again soon. Julie & the team
Written 27 October 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Emma K
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2021 none
I don't normally write reviews, as I'm too lazy! But this was really worth making the effort, as this newly managed pub went above, above and beyond! They accommodated our various dietary requirements and specially went out to find a suitable vegan birthday cake for my daughter. Which was delicious! They also went out and sorted out the candles (I'd forgotten) We had a lovely Sunday lunch, excellent service and they even took pictures for us! Julie and her team were so friendly and accommodating. Indoor and outdoor seating, plenty of car parking space. Thank you, we will be back and have been recommending to others. Great value too. I am sure your new business will grow very quickly.
Written 19 September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julie D
This is lovely to read, thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a lovely review. We hope to see you again soon. Julie & the team.
Written 27 October 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Clare G
Eastbourne1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2022 none
This is by far one of the best pubs in the area, the staff are very welcoming, food is really good, not huge choice of menu but something for everyone which is better as mainly all home cooked. The Sunday roasts are amazing, I'm a fussy eater and can't fault any of the meals I've had over the past few years, so anyone who's not tried this lovely pub please ignore the negative reviews and find out for yourself! A lot of effort has been put into making this establishment eye pleasing especially the beer garden, outside seating areas with parasols and light / heaters and I real bonus dog friendly as well!. Wishing Julie and the staff all the best for the future.
Written 7 October 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julie D
Hi Claire, thank you so much for leaving us a lovely review. We love cooking our Sunday Roasts and are thrilled to hear you enjoy them. We are extending our menu and hoping to launch a new Pizza menu very soon so we hope you’ll come in & try.. We really appreciate you taking the time to write your review and I’ll be sure to pass on your comments to all the team.
Written 12 October 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Rich
Guildford3 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2023 none
I had heard that their Sunday Roast was the best around in the area so I thought a great idea to visit the pub with my Daughter, and her new Boyfriend, to all enjoy a full Sunday Roast, with all of the trimmings, to celebrate my Daughters 21st Birthday of which was last week - my Daughter just loves a full Sunday Pub lunch so she and her boyfriend were really looking forward to the lunch and meeting up again. So, we arrived and NO Sunday Lunch available today!! When I phoned on Thursday to book the table I specifically mentioned that we were very much looking forward to their Sunday Lunch!! We decided to stay anyway and food was just very average - from freezer to frying. My burger was truly awful and the burger meat was no better than one would get from Sunday Car Boot sale vender. Having said the Barmaid was 100%, however, will not be going back again.
Written 7 May 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julie Daniels
Thank you for your review we are sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your visit to us. We were running Sunday lunch with the trimmings just mashed potatoes instead of roasts, this should have been mentioned to you upon your booking so again apologies for that error. I can also assure you our burger meat is not cooked from frozen and neither fried, so I’m sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy what you did choose from our menu. I’m glad to hear our service from the bar staff was 💯 Please feel free to contact me direct if there is anything more you’d like to discuss with me. 01483-303171 Julie & the team.
Written 12 May 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Emily
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2023 family
We went today for our daughters birthday (a group of 21 of us!) and the service was amazing! They couldn’t have been more helpful and accommodating. They cooked amazing pizzas for the kids and the adults had Sunday roasts - (the best Sunday roast I’ve eaten out!) would definitely recommend to anyone and will most certainly be returning.
Written 5 February 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julie D
Hi Emily thank you so very much for your lovely review, it was a pleasure to host your daughters Birthday 🥳 Thrilled to hear you all enjoyed the Sunday roasts & Pizzas. We hope to see you again soon Julie & the team.
Written 7 February 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

tim m
Megève285 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2022 family
sign outside says fantastic roast, they don’t do roasts, menu of 6 items when not including burgers, ordered the hunters chicken, not great and the chips had been re-fried so many times they should not have been served. The wife had the lamb shank, it was still frozen. On the plus side i have to say that the staff are really nice and sorry that they severed frozen food.
Written 18 September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julie D
We are extremely sorry to hear of your experience during your visit with us and as discussed on the day during our check backs that we managed to rectify the situation satisfactory. If you would like to discuss any of these issues please contact me 01483-303171. Many thanks Julie & the team.
Written 21 September 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Lynette A
Guildford360 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2022 friends
I met a very ery dear friend of mine for lunch yesterday afternoon and we went to this pub. As we entered we were greeted and made extremely welcome by the patrons and staff alike. What a lovely friendly ambience and there was nice 70s music playing. We had exceptional service from Julie who definitely went the extra mile. We ordered scampi chips and peas and the scampi was done to perfection. Overall it was a very pleasing experience and we will definitely be back.
Written 8 December 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julie D
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a 5 ⭐️ review. We are really happy you enjoyed your visit & lunch with us. We hope to see you again very soon. Merry Christmas. Julie & the team.
Written 11 December 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Susie H
London48 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2024 family
Best Roast in Guildford. We were a larger group (6 adult 4 kids) dining on Mother's Day and we were all bowled over by the experience. The staff all really looked after us, particularly the owner, and we are already planning return visitS. Fantastic roast withal the trimmings and fantastic service. Couldn't ask for more from a nice little local.
Written 11 March 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julie daniels
Hi Susie, thank you so much for leaving us such a great review, we are thrilled you had such a lovely visit to our pub & enjoyed our delicious Sunday roasts. We hope to see you all again soon. Julie & the team.
Written 20 March 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

John Rogers
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 none
This has been our local for 24 years and undergone many changes of management, many less than wonderful. We were absolutely delighted today to visit and find a lady called Kay in charge who made us instantly at ease and ensured we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. So much so we are going to make sure that all our neighbours who gave up on going to ‘our local’ that it is back in competent hands. Well done to Kay!
Written 14 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lisadawson79
Thanks for your great review. I am glad you had a great experience with us. We have worked hard to create a good team. Thanks to Kay for creating a wonderful impression. We hope to see you again Lisa Manager
Written 15 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

amandaedwards014
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2024 family
We were pleasantly surprised by this pub after stumbling across it last minute. The lady runs the pub is so warmingly welcoming, friendly and accommodating. We had a lovely roast dinner with all the trimmings and they also accommodated our 3 year old with a child size portion. Very friendly relaxed atmosphere and would come again!
Written 17 March 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julie daniels
Hi Amanda thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a 5 ⭐️ review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your Sunday roast with us & we hope to see you again soon. Julie & the team.
Written 20 March 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jennifer W
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2024 family
We went to The Anchor and Horseshoes for a roast dinner on Mother’s Day. We are a large, fussy group with specific dietary requirements (dairy, wheat, nuts). The lady running the restaurant could not have been any more accommodating. The food was unbelievable, freshly cooked and delicious. We were pleasantly surprised by such a reasonable price, with the standard of the food we expected to pay more! We will definitely be making this our regular stop for a roast from now on!
Written 12 March 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julie daniels
Hi Jennifer, we’d like to thank you for leaving us a fantastic 5 star ⭐️ review. We are thrilled you had a lovely visit to our pub. We will always accommodate where we can and we it’s lovely to have such great feedback that’s recognised. Thanks again, we hope hope to see you all soon. Julie & the team.
Written 20 March 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Barry N
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2023 solo
What can I say keep coming back because its the best place in guildford had pizza this time freshly made never had one quite like it AMAZING!!!!!! forget your regular pizza companies come try this you won't look back and as always just the best friendly environment what more could you want. See you all soon Baz x
Written 3 October 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julie daniels
Thrilled to hear you enjoyed your pizza & visit to us! Thanks for your 5 star 🌟 review, we hope to see you again soon. Julie & the team
Written 8 November 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ed P
Guildford3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2022 friends
What a friendly warm pub 👍. Landlords and staff so friendly and a great atmosphere. Enjoyed their Sunday roast today. The braised beef and lamb shank was so delicious....and the gammon on a nearby table looked equally as good. Yorkshire's were big and fluffy. Great value for money!!
Written 20 November 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julie D
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we absolutely love our feedback for the Sunday roasts. We hope to see you again very soon and maybe you get to try the Gammon next time. Thanks again Julie & the team.
Written 25 November 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-15 of 222
Best cheap eats
See all
Nuro
£ · Turkish
Woodbridge Cafe
£ · Cafe, British, Diner
Lorenzo's Cafe
£ · Pizza
Kokoro Sushi & Bento
£ · Japanese, Fast food, Sushi, Asian
Tortilla Guildford
£ · Mexican, Fast food
Pizza Boom
£ · Italian, Pizza, Central-Italian
Itsu (guildford)
£ · Japanese, Sushi
Mini Fish Bar
£ · Seafood, Fast food, British
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

ANCHOR & HORSESHOES, Guildford - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

All Guildford HotelsGuildford Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Guildford
Things to DoFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire