We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Living Room

Claimed
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

About
Situated on Grey Street in Newcastle, The Living Room is a contemporary bar and restaurant with a laid-back vibe that keeps the locals coming back for more. During the day, it's the ideal place to do business over lunch or refuel after a day of shopping. In the evening, the modern eatery fills up with a lively post-work crowd catching up over cocktails. The fixed price menu is great value for money and there is plenty to choose from with all our dishes made with top quality seasonal ingredients. With dishes such as Thai fish cakes, Monkfish and Pork Blocks that not only taste great but look it too why not come and try?
PRICE RANGE
US$13 - US$45
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
CUISINES
Bar, International, British
FEATURES
Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Private Dining, Highchairs Available
Reviews (479)
There are newer reviews for The Living Room
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
477 results
Traveller rating
146
122
67
69
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
146
122
67
69
73
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
51 - 60 of 477 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2017 via mobile

Got an itison voucher 3 courses with a glass of wine for 2 people for £22....what a bargain. Good choice, huge portions and the food was fantastic. We were stuffed. I had curried parsnip soup, my husband had calamari followed by a fat cat burger...More

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank MrsCP1984
Living R, Manager at The Living Room, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2017

Hi - thank you for your lovely review. It is always a delight to hear our customer have enjoyed our food and service. We look forward to seeing you again. Many thanks The Living Room

Reviewed 7 May 2017

Having had previously good food and experienced a great atmosphere at The Living Room I had no hesitation in booking a meal with friends there. Perhaps, the writing was on the wall when we entered the restaurant to an almost empty room. Previously it had...More

Date of visit: May 2017
1  Thank Graeme K
Living R, Manager at The Living Room, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2017

Thank you for your review. We always like to hear our customers views and disappointed you did not have a good experience with us. We can only presume that is must have been early on Saturday evening when you dined with us as we are...More

Reviewed 30 April 2017

Popped in for 241 cocktails (limited range) as part of their longstanding Sunday offer. We had a couple but they were inconsistent as served by different staff. Quite a small area when you walk in with a larger underground bar for busier times. Good value...More

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank sleep007
Living R, Manager at The Living Room, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Hi We are really sorry to hear this. If you would like to contact site on 0191 255 4450 or email: thelivingroom.newcastlepa@stonegatepubs.com to discuss it would be really appreciated so I can investigate. Many thanks The Living Room

Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

We visited on a Saturday afternoon with a group of friends, all drinking gin, I ordered the round, 4 drinks, and was shocked to be told the bill was £39! There was nothing special about our drinks, we had got lovely speciality Gins next door...More

Date of visit: April 2017
2  Thank T6491RAjohnc
Reviewed 22 April 2017

excellent service tasty food eating in a fabulous room . Everything reasonable priced what more can be said I will certainly be visiting againMore

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank howedoudo
Living R, Manager at The Living Room, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Hi - thank you for your kind words and we are delighted that you had a great time. We will shortly be hosting a launch time whereby our customers can sample the new menu along with prize draw. If you visit our facebook page details...More

Reviewed 20 April 2017

I recently held my Engagement Party at The Living Room and what a fantastic night we all had. The room was beautifully decorated when I arrived and all of the staff were very welcoming and extremely helpful throughout the night. I ordered canapés for the...More

Date of visit: April 2017
1  Thank leighkarliedixon
Sue D, Manager at The Living Room, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Hi Leigh Thank you for your kind review we always try to tailor each individual party to suit the guest. We are thrilled you had a great time and looking forward to seeing you again!

Reviewed 17 April 2017

Food was excellent, from a set menu where there was enough choice. Dessert was delicious, I had sticky toffee pudding and my husband had cherry pie which were served without ice cream because there was a problem with the freezer. This was a bit disappointing...More

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank jennifer19562015
Living R, Manager at The Living Room, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Hi Jennifer Thank you for your kind review and we are pleased you had an enjoyable time. Apologies for the ice cream!! Many thanks The Living Room

Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile

Visited for cocktails and we were not disappointed. The surroundings were lovely, modern and comfortable. Staff were friendly and extremely helpful. All cocktails we ordered were really well presented and tasted wonderful. Certainly will be visiting again 🍹🍸

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank Joanne J
Living R, Manager at The Living Room, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

HI Joanne Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted that you had a great experience with us. We also have a new 2-4-1 cocktail menu available and we hope to see you again. Many thanks. The Living Room

Reviewed 21 March 2017

We were staying at the adjoining Grey Street Hotel for two nights on Bed and Breakast terms with breakfast being provided in The Living Room. The charge as part of our total bill was £10 per person per day. On arrival at the hotel we...More

Date of visit: February 2017
1  Thank Brucestewart
Living R, Manager at The Living Room, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Dear Mr Stewart. We would first like to apologise for your negative experience of breakfast with us. We believe on the whole we offer value for money offering pastries, cereal, fresh fruits, unlimited fruit juice and tea or coffee along with a cooked breakfast. We...More

Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Went with a friend for a late lunch (courtesy of itision voucher. The place was deserted . The guy who served us was very cheerful but sadly the food (we both had fish and chips) . It was just about edible. What has happened to...More

Date of visit: March 2017
2  Thank claremvc
Living R, Manager at The Living Room, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Hi Clare We apologise that your experience at The Living Room was not to standard. This is not the usual level of food The Living Room delivers and management will be acting upon this. We sincerely hope that you visit us again as we have...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 84 nearby hotels
Grey Street Hotel
154 reviews
.01 miles away
Surtees Hotel
638 reviews
.09 miles away
Motel One Newcastle
713 reviews
.12 miles away
The Vermont Hotel
2,537 reviews
.15 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 1,414 nearby restaurants
Pizza Punks
428 reviews
.04 miles away
Nadon Thai - Newcastle
236 reviews
.04 miles away
Miller & Carter Steakhouse
3,221 reviews
.01 miles away
Dacantus
398 reviews
.03 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 402 nearby attractions
Grey Street
1,139 reviews
.04 miles away
Newcastle Cathedral
523 reviews
.07 miles away
The Vineyard
21 reviews
.01 miles away
Bijoux
58 reviews
.04 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Julie C
3 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Sue D | Property representative |
Hi Our Basement Bar holds 150. If you would like to give me your email address and I will forward all the relevant information to you. Many thanks Sue The Living Room
0
Votes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing