We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Forth Hotel

££ - £££
Bar, British, Pub, International, Gastropub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Pink Lane | NE1 5DW, Newcastle upon Tyne, England
+44 191 232 6478
Website
Today
12:00 - 00:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Wed 12:00 - 23:00
Thu 12:00 - 00:00
Fri 12:00 - 01:00
Sat 10:00 - 01:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

189 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 187: English reviews
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We booked a table for Sunday dinner, we had never eaten here but had visited previously for drinks and liked the atmosphere. As we were shown to our table we were told 2 of the 4 roast dinner options were unavailable, this was disappointing but the other 2 options suited us so we headed back to the bar to order... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joanne J
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A great Sunday lunch at the forth, particularly the lamb which was mouth watering, sizeable and with delicious gravy. All of our meals in fact were fantastic and so was the desserts. Only let down was the cauliflower cheese side, no cheese flavour and a tad small for the price.

Helpful?
Thank Aiden B
general MANAGER A, Manager at The Forth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our Sunday roast. We hope to see you again soon More 

Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We found this little bar on the way to our accommodation on Thursday . We stopped for lunch . We both had the Reuben sandwich with a drink . It was delicious and only cost £16.00 The staff were very polite and cheerful . The bar was spotless . Worth a visit

Helpful?
Thank 263396
general MANAGER A, Manager at The Forth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing these comments. We are glad you enjoyed your visit with us. More 

Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have been visiting The Forth for many years now, as I love the selection of real ales, interesting beer imports and the great selection of wines it has always had to offer. The decor is nice and stylish and has always had a great atmosphere. The food is top notch. While certainly not a cheap watering hole, they are... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris8189
TheForthHotel, Manager at The Forth Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Chris. Thank you for such a lovely review. We're so pleased you enjoy visiting us as often as you do and that we manage to meet your expectations everything. We have some great new beers coming soon and a new menu launching in April. Keep an eye on our Facebook page and instagram account for all the new arrivals.... More 

1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I have always enjoyed visiting The Forth with its great selection of drinks and it's cosy cosmopolitan atmosphere - BUT I was disappointed that on it's two page table menu this evening there was no vegetarian main meal option offered.

Helpful?
Thank nicky N
TheForthHotel, Manager at The Forth Hotel, responded to this review

Hi We're sorry you were disappointed on your recent visit. We try our best to ensure we always have lots of options available for our vegetarian guests. These include sandwiches and toasties at lunch time, veggie burgers, risotto, mac 'n' cheese and many more. Next time you call in, let us know and we will make sure to give you... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

This is a great bar with a lovely roof top terrace must try the food next time it looked fab. Lots of choice for the real ale fans!

Helpful?
Thank sumar_11
TheForthHotel, Manager at The Forth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us a review. So pleased you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to seeing you next time. Make it a Sunday, roasts and Bloody Marys. Thanks again More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

Booked a table in advance as I heard many good things... how wrong! Was told where our table was (had to find it), arrived to a 45 minute wait. Ordered drinks at the bar, asked about food when I was told we ordered at the bar, and only booking could order Sunday dinner. Went to order and was only then... More 

Helpful?
Thank lacassidy95
TheForthHotel, Manager at The Forth Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, We're sorry you missed out on a roast, our lunches are very popular and sadly on this occasion, ran out sooner than we had planned. If you'd like to book with us again, please send us an email and we will reserve you a table and also hold back the roasts of your choice to ensure you do not... More 

Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

I've gone into the Forth from time to time for many years and seen it change. It's an attractive pub and has a good atmosphere with a nice mixture of customers but on this occasion it just smelled really dirty to the extent I didn't want to finish my pint. I had Doom Bar which wasn't well kept and I... More 

Helpful?
Thank robpol579
TheForthHotel, Manager at The Forth Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Rob, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Fruit flies have always been a problem due to Victorian drainage systems within the centre of Newcastle. This matter is in hand is managed using the corrective pest control measures. Our ale is kept to Cask Marque standards however we will indeed look into this particular batch of... More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2017

Visited The Forth because of the reviews in a Living North magazine which raved about the place. Had tried to book on the website on Saturday evening but came up as full, decided to call in the hope of getting a cancellation, on arrival only two tables were taken so managed to get a table, ordered a beef roast and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elaine H
TheForthHotel, Manager at The Forth Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Elaine. Thank you for leaving a review. Please can you email us with a little more information, date and time of visit etc so we can look into this and then discuss it with you a little further. Many thanks More 

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2017

Visited The Forth for Restaurant Week as the menu sounded really nice and I'd heard positive things about the pub. Having never been before, I thought it was a good time to try it. I was very disappointed with the quality of the food. None of the dishes lived up to their description which was a real shame. My starter... More 

Helpful?
Thank KT565
TheForthHotel, Manager at The Forth Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your review. If you would like to email us and we can have a further discussion about your visit. enquiry@theforthnewcastle.co.uk Many thanks More 

Travellers who viewed The Forth Hotel also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Forth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$9 - US$19
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, International, Gastropub
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Groups, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 00:00
Friday
12:00 - 01:00
Saturday
10:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Pink Lane | NE1 5DW, Newcastle upon Tyne, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Tyne and Wear  >  Newcastle upon Tyne
  • Phone Number: +44 191 232 6478
Description
A Newcastle pub with a feisty past.Take a short stroll from Central Station and you'll discover The Forth. It's hard to believe this laidback local was previously famous for hosting Victorian boxing matches. Thankfully today, the mood is infinitely less volatile. It couldn't be more different. The Forth is a pub to relax in, whether you're savouring a glass of one of our fine wines in front of the log fire, enjoying the tunes spilling from our DJ's decks at the weekend or admiring the local art adorning our walls.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Forth Hotel and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Templemore, Tipperary, Ireland
5 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Forth Hotel staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?