We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Forth Hotel

££ - £££, British,
Pink Lane | Ne1 5dw, Newcastle upon Tyne, England
+44 191 232 6478
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent32%
  • Very good38%
  • Average11%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, International, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Pink Lane | Ne1 5dw, Newcastle upon Tyne, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

The waitress told us the food would take 45min, but took 1h and the portions were small and overcooked. The sides arrived when we were almost finished.

Thank Carla R
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Always love going back to the Forth, great beer and very unpretentious. If you are in this part of town then definitely visit and stay rather than other pubs close by.

Thank Matt R
General Manager A, Manager at The Forth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Amazing review Matt thank you, we all really appreciate it! Hopefully see you back soon!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went for Sunday lunch after hearing good reviews. Huge disappointment £11.75 for 3 slices of thin fatty beef, two huge rock hard roast potatoes, seasonal vegetables consisted of one carrot and a half a plate full of leeks!! Yorkshire pudding was only edible thing on...More

Thank Jak M
General Manager A, Manager at The Forth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Jak, so sorry to hear about your visit with us, I would like to look into this further for you. Did you receive a check back to your table from one of our staff? If not I can only apologise, had the bar staff...More

Reviewed 14 September 2017

A large group of us went here for a birthday day out. Friendly staff who serve you promptly. Good range of drinks. What more can you ask for!

Thank JennyB1984
General Manager A, Manager at The Forth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Jenny, Thank you for leaving a lovely review.

Reviewed 7 September 2017

We ordered some starters early on before we had all arrived as some of us were sitting down at 15:00 the others arriving in <30 minutes. After we had all arrived and ordered main courses we assumed the starters were just coming, after waiting over...More

1  Thank Myles E
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Booked for 4pm for food and wanted Sunday dinner . Only the chicken option was available because everything else was sold out , fair enough for 4pm Sunday. Our dinner came and half of what was advertised with the dish didn't arrive . No pigs...More

1  Thank Slianne11
General Manager A, Manager at The Forth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. I apologise that on this occasion you were unhappy with the quality of your Sunday dinner. I will feed your comments back to the team.

Reviewed 14 August 2017

I used to come to the Forth 20 years ago when studying music production, my mates used to work here, so i virtually lived in here at some points.Well i moved away but now i'm back in the North East and i was looking for...More

Thank Carl B
General Manager A, Manager at The Forth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Thank you for your wonderful review. Glad you enjoyed your visit on Sunday

Reviewed 9 August 2017

The food used to be top notch pub fare but it's become a bit more experimental recently. The last time I ate here I had a slightly strange chicken katsu burger...

Thank Alex R
General Manager A, Manager at The Forth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thank you Alex, for your review

Reviewed 2 August 2017

Popped into this place initially to kill time and just had to come back (4 times in 3 days). The pub is well-laid out in what looks like an L-formation, but you quickly discover other nooks and crannies, including a roof bar (mainly, but not...More

Thank Cambrinus
General Manager A, Manager at The Forth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

I had read the reviews for this place before going. It's a mixture, some say it's amazing whilst others say it's awful. We took the plunge and decided to go for Quiz Night. We ordered food and 20 minutes before the quiz was due to...More

Thank Kim_Flitter
General Manager A, Manager at The Forth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Hi Kim, Thank you for your review. I apologise the quiz was cancelled at short notice and that you were missing some items on the dishes you ordered. I will feed this back to the kitchen team. I am glad you enjoyed the food and...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Ottoman Turkish Newcastle
744 reviews
.06 miles away
Marco Pierre White Steakhouse
2,482 reviews
.08 miles away
The Bohemian
227 reviews
.04 miles away
Reza Restaurant
108 reviews
.08 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Newcastle Central Station
189 reviews
.05 miles away
St. Mary's Cathedral
79 reviews
.04 miles away
Newcastle Arts Centre
15 reviews
.06 miles away
The Newcastle Town Wall
14 reviews
.02 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Stacey2783
17 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Cambrinus | Reviewed this property |
No idea, I'm afraid. Chris 8189 is probably right!
0
Votes
EmmaP1993
30 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from TheForthHotel | Property representative |
Hi, Yes we do, just pop in to the pub, notify the staff of your allergy and they will talk you through the menu.
0
Votes
Daviebee23
2 October 2015|
Answer
Response from TheForthHotel | Property representative |
Hi, Food is served daily, until 10pm. Many Thanks
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$9 - US$20
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, International, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 00:00
Friday
12:00 - 01:00
Saturday
10:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Pink Lane | Ne1 5dw, Newcastle upon Tyne, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Tyne and Wear  >  Newcastle upon Tyne
  • Phone Number: +44 191 232 6478
  • E-mail
Description
A Newcastle pub with a feisty past.Take a short stroll from Central Station and you'll discover The Forth. It's hard to believe this laidback local was previously famous for hosting Victorian boxing matches. Thankfully today, the mood is infinitely less volatile. It couldn't be more different. The Forth is a pub to relax in, whether you're savouring a glass of one of our fine wines in front of the log fire, enjoying the tunes spilling from our DJ's decks at the weekend or admiring the local art adorning our walls.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing