We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Plough Inn

Killingworth Village, Newcastle upon Tyne NE12 6BL, England
+44 191 256 6269
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good21%
  • Average9%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“mixed grill” (6 reviews)
“steak” (7 reviews)
“burgers” (3 reviews)
Open Now
10:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, Pub, British, Brew Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
£
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Killingworth Village, Newcastle upon Tyne NE12 6BL, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My favourite pub would be very hard to beat Amazing food Very friendly staff Great with kids especially Ricky and Danielle , my 4 year old wants to go in every night! Iv been going for a couple of years now and never had a...More

Thank louisebound
General Manager A, Manager at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Plough Inn. We're happy we could meet your expectations! We're so glad that we were able to go above and beyond your expectations! See you soon! Plough Inn

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

went here for a family celebration, around 17 of us, tables were reserved together but were all shapes and sizes, no high chair for small child. we ordered surf and turf but when it came we were very disappointed as it was sitting on a...More

Thank Susan S
General Manager A, Manager at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Susan S, we pride ourselves on providing exceptional service, so we are disappointed to hear that your visit with us was anything less than satisfactory. Thank you for letting us know about your recent visit to The Plough Inn. Regards, Plough Inn

Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

I often visit about twice a month but I came in tonight to celebrate a wedding with work friends we booked a table of 10 and when we got there the tables was all set up and reserved in a lovely little area of the...More

2  Thank becky353
General Manager A, Manager at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Becky, thank you so much for the positive review! We're so glad that we were able to go above and beyond your expectations and we are very happy to have provided you and your party with such a positive experience! We all hope to see...More

Reviewed 3 October 2017

My kids live nearby, so we quite often call in for an early dinner, especially as we're on their email list and get offer;s all the time. Anyway staff are all friendly and helpful, nothing's to much bother.The food is of a good standard for...More

1  Thank John L
General Manager A, Manager at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Hi John L, we really appreciate your feedback on your visits to our pub, we're happy to hear you had such a positive experience with our team! Please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you; we are more than...More

Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

Booked a table online & made a small request for a Flower on table. To my surprise, the staff had gone out of their way to place a beautiful rose in a vase & the table was set with wine glasses & napkins etc. This...More

Thank Vincenci
General Manager A, Manager at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Vincenci, your satisfaction is our top priority at The Plough Inn, Thankyou for your praise and kind comments about our team. We strive for 100% satisfaction, and it is great to see you had such a positive experience at our pub. We hope to be...More

Reviewed 11 September 2017

My family and I have frequented the Plough for many years and apart from a period when there was rather awful management a year or so ago we are very rarely disappointed. We always enjoy the food, drinks and relaxed atmosphere and our experience staff...More

Thank kathM2943HM
General Manager A, Manager at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Kathm2943hm, we really appreciate your positive review! We are glad that you have decided to give us another chance to impress you and we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at The Plough Inn. We hope to be of service...More

Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

Good value pub , food is ok , drinks are reasonably priced , local pub with atmosphere , cant really fault , sign up on.line for deals

Thank Dave338458
General Manager A, Manager at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Dave338458, we really appreciate your positive review! We strive for 100% satisfaction, and it is great to see you had such a positive experience at The Plough Inn. We look forward to your next visit! Take care!

Reviewed 5 August 2017

Ok , we used to frequent the plough often but because of a constant change of managers, there was never any continuity and it suffered , this review is based on overall experience taking into account not just food . We had heard there was...More

Thank LETITROCK
General Manager A, Manager at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Letitrock, we work hard to provide a fantastic experience to everyone. It's discouraging to see that you did not have an excellent experience with us, however we appreciate your feedback and will use this to improve upon our service here at The Plough Inn. We...More

Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

We often come to the plough and the food and service is always fantastic so we were really disappointed when we went out last Sunday with friends for tea. To start there were lots of items missing from the menu, the reason given was that...More

Thank Strappleberry
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

Popped in for a few drinks with friends & once again was greeted with a smiley faced Lorraine! Great friendly staff & great deals on cocktails (2 for £5.50)! This local village pub is fab & well worth a visit. They have a new menu...More

Thank Vincenci
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Killingworth Arms
229 reviews
.12 miles away
Killingworth Arms Carvery
51 reviews
.12 miles away
Cafe MyPlace
12 reviews
.28 miles away
The Shire Horse
271 reviews
.31 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Backworth Golf Club - Backworth Miners' Welfare
34 reviews
1.36 miles away
Odeon Cinema Silverlink
49 reviews
2.80 miles away
Gala Bingo Wallsend
20 reviews
2.78 miles away
Centurion Park Golf Course
11 reviews
2.66 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Plough Inn staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, Pub, British, Brew Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 23:00
Monday
10:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 23:00
Thursday
10:00 - 23:00
Friday
10:00 - 00:00
Saturday
10:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Killingworth Village, Newcastle upon Tyne NE12 6BL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Tyne and Wear  >  Newcastle upon Tyne
  • Phone Number: +44 191 256 6269
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing