We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mamma Mia - CLOSED

46 Pudding Chare, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1UE, England
+44 191 232 7193
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good24%
  • Average11%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (87 reviews)
“salad” (18 reviews)
“carbonara” (8 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
All hours
CUISINES
Italian, Mediterranean, European, Pizza, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
46 Pudding Chare, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1UE, England
More restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 190 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2013

Friday night and it was very quiet inside and i have to say i thought the interior was a bit tired and slightly grubby. We should have left then but decided to give it a go. The food portions were huge but not very interesting....More

Thank Vanterrier
mamma46mias, Owner at Mamma Mia, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Sorry you were disappointed by your visit, our staff ask every customer if the meal is OK and if it isn't we act on it. I suspect you were asked, but didn't provide the feedback you have taken the time to write. Anyway if you...More

Reviewed 22 June 2013

I have been here a couple of times now, firstly with my girlfriend and then with friends to celebrate a colleagues retirement. Each visit has been great, the food fantastic and staff can't do enough. Well worth a visit and I will definitely be going...More

Thank Littla74
mamma46mias, Owner at Mamma Mia, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Dear Reviewer Thank you for the time you have taken to write a positive review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit and I really appreciate the feedback you have given. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 20 June 2013

Another visit to Newcastle and a return visit to Mama Mia's. The cheesy garlic bread is still without equal and thank you for the smaller helpings of main courses - I always felt guilty leaving some on my plate! The food was excellent as usual...More

Thank NancyS49
mamma46mias, Owner at Mamma Mia, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Dear Nancy I wish I had been at the restaurant to see you when you came to visit. It is so nice that you took the time to put a lovely review on Trip, when you have such a busy retirement. I am so pleased...More

Reviewed 18 June 2013

Me and my wife popped in for a happy hour pizza/pasta before the theatre and we weren't disappointed. The portion sizes were huge even though it was happy hour. Lovely staff, great service, great value for money, we'll come again.More

Thank Tilly82Ljb
mamma46mias, Owner at Mamma Mia, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Dear Laura, lovely that you took the time to put a positive review on Trip, we are so pleased you enjoyed your last visit and we hope to see you again soon. Our portion sizes are a bit big, cant believe we have people who...More

Reviewed 18 June 2013

I have been here a couple of times in recent months (firstly with a group of lads) & secondly with my wife. On both occasions we had a splendid meal with excellent service, Although small this restaurant can handle anything from Stag & Hen parties...More

Thank Benwellboy
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I've been to mama Mia's on numerous occasions and it's never failed to impress. The food is lovely and so cheap, definitely value for money. I choose to spend my 30th bday here with 20 friends. Everyone loved their food, the service was great which...More

Thank lauraAug
Reviewed 17 June 2013

First of what will be many visits to this gem of a restaurant. The service was attentive without being intrusive and the prices are more than reasonable. Most importantly of course, the food was outstanding (I opted for a delicious seafood pasta) and was clearly...More

Thank GCDLiverpool
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Visited last week for a freinds birthday, there was a group of 15 of us, the staff were friendly and attentive, the food was fantastic and the portion sizes were good. The price was fantastic for the amount of food we got. Even though there...More

Thank Laura L
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I was in Newcastle on business last week and Mamma Mia's was recommended as a great restaurant to visit. When we arrived we were greeted by friendly staff and really thought that the atmosphere was very welcoming and the surroundings made you feel comfortable. Service...More

Thank Stuart C
Reviewed 14 June 2013

There is no shortage of restaurants in the area of the Bigg Market but if you are looking for good quality food, a friendly atmosphere and reasonable prices Mamma Mia's will definitely fit the bill. The restaurant was busy when we went in but the...More

Thank JimB19186349
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Kafeneon
503 reviews
.02 miles away
Simply Greek Tavern
450 reviews
.03 miles away
Mog on the Tyne
188 reviews
.03 miles away
Raj Tandoori
180 reviews
.01 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Church of St John the Baptist
5 reviews
.06 miles away
The Stand Comedy Club
280 reviews
.06 miles away
Body & Mind Massage
103 reviews
.08 miles away
Florita's Bar
128 reviews
.07 miles away
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Monday
12:00 - 14:00
17:30 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:00
17:30 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:00
17:30 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 14:00
17:30 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 14:00
17:30 - 22:00
Saturday
17:30 - 22:00
12:00 - 14:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 46 Pudding Chare, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1UE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Tyne and Wear  >  Newcastle upon Tyne
  • Phone Number: +44 191 232 7193
  • E-mail
Description
A traditional Italian restaurant with a cosy and relaxed atmosphere.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing