We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Food and ambience

About
Situated along the beautiful river Avon just a stone's throw from the centre of town, you'll be hard pushed to find a better location to relax. Cox's Yard leaves you spoilt for choice, boasting an all fresh food restaurant with a fantastic range of beers and wines, not to mention our Coffee Shop, offering cakes, light bites and homemade Gelato.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, Lunch, Brunch
CUISINES
American, Pub, Gastropub, Bar, British
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Live Music
Reviews (707)
Filter reviews
699 results
Traveller rating
235
152
105
78
129
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
235
152
105
78
129
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pulled pork nachos fish and chips salad the river qr code riverside avon
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Excellent personal service, amazing live band which were more than happy to pick our own genre. Made us feel welcome and brought us in with a welcome smile, making us feel included in this community. Hands down to one of the best places to visit...in Stratford upon Avon.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The loft is a great place for hosting a private function, Everyone had a great night. The owners and staff were extremely attentive to our needs at all times from early afternoon till late into the night. Highly recommend venue with a great outdoor space...by the river too.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
StuBur123, digital at Cox's Yard, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Simon, thank you for the high star rating!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On a weekend break and went into this place. Really good food and staff were speedy and very friendly. Thier wrainwrights bitter was the best pint I had all weekend. Location on the river is brilliant and we couldn't fault the place. Also had a...live band which made for a great nightMore

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
StuBur123, General Manager at Cox's Yard, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Nora, we're glad you had such a wonderful experience with us!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Used to be a lovely spot for an outdoor drink in the nice weather, but we were underwhelmed to say the least. Seemed to be entirely staffed with young kids - apart from one lad they were completely disinterested and had next-to-no basic customer service...skills (ie. at least smile at the customer) . The toilets were an absolute disgrace - no hand soap, empty toilet rolls and water all over the floor, and overflowing sanitary bins in the middle of the day. HorribleMore

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
StuBur123, digital at Cox's Yard, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Berrow75, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. We apologise for the inadequate toilet facilities which we have had up until now. We are currently having brand new toilets and facilities built for our customers. We hope...More

Reviewed 15 April 2022 via mobile

Very mediocre food. The buns on the burger were too thick and the atmosphere felt lonely. The starters menu was also quite limited. Could do with a more vibrant atmosphere and more appealing food.

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
StuBur123, digital at Cox's Yard, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us.

Reviewed 9 April 2022

looks like a nice enough place from the outside but quickly deteriorates once you get in the place. We were just about to go to the theatre next door when the security guard came and started jokingly scuffling with one of the staff members before...tackling him into the floor, laughing the whole time. I have never ever EVER seen such behaviour in any establishment and i hope that you have serious words with both members of staff involved. We were pretty shocked at this and left immediately. The entire staff were pretty unprofessional and seemed to mostly be messing around which meant our drinks took a fair while too. They were all quite scruffy.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 29 March 2022

To be fair, it was busy, Saturday 26th March 2022, a warm sunny day. We managed to find a seat inside, table 105. We placed our order via the QR Code system at 1.29pm Order #24360989, 26 March 2022, Confirmation code: PZTX Estimated delivery time...13:45 - 26 March 2022 Any problems, please contact us 01789 404600 Pint Pravha £4.60 Half pint Stowford Press £2.45 The Gaffer Burger £15.00 Curly Fries £3.50 BBQ Pulled Pork £3.50 Total £29.05 We placed the order via the QR Code at 1.29pm, the estimated time was 1.45pm, not bad, 16 minutes, at 2.15pm, 46 minutes after ordering, I went to the bar to ask about the order, being told it would be about an hour, the estimated time is wrong. A young male waiter by my side, chipped in and I asked "can you check for me?" I returned to our table and we never saw him again to which, a few minutes later a lady waitress was clearing a table next to us, so I asked her. She returned with our order (just being plated up) at 2.19pm. Order to table taking 50 minutes, this is not acceptable, if we were made aware of this prior to ordering we would have dined elsewhere. Admittedly, we didn't have to queue up at the bar to order if it was a non QR Coding system, but table service for ordering would be very helpful for information but when the ordering system tells you an estimated time of 16 minutes, you don't expect it to take nearly an hour. We have eaten at Cox's Yard many times over the past 13? years, but this was marred by the lengthy delay and not being kept informed by a system that is not fit for purpose in the lead time. The only positive was, that the food and drinks were delicious, as to be expected.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
StuBur123, General Manager at Cox's Yard, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2022

Hi, we are aware of the issue with the app quoting incorrect wait times and our IT department has been making adjustments. We immediately began advising guests about wait times at the door when we realised this was an issue. We hope your experience wont...More

Reviewed 29 March 2022 via mobile

Visited with a friend on Saturday afternoon. We've never been before. We approached what we thought was the main door. There was a sign saying 'no entry, use door on the left" We thought it meant to use the left hand side of the door....We went on and headed to the bar. A member of staff appeared and said loudly that we'd come through a no entry. We were totally surprised and he repeated it loudly and told us there was no bar service. We said there should have been a member of staff outside at the correct entrance. We were both shocked at his attitude and how he spoke to us when we had genuinely misunderstoos the sign. In hindsight I wished we'd taken our custom elsewhere. However the wine was nice and we sat outside by the river. I won't return though.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
StuBur123, General Manager at Cox's Yard, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2022

Hi Cupcake The sign on the front door doesn't say use the left door. It says "No Entry" and "Entrance to the left" with an arrow pointing toward the clearly marked host desk with a member of staff waiting to explain the ordering process. We...More

Reviewed 28 March 2022 via mobile

We had the most amazing burger. Juicy, seasoned perfect. Cooked as a professional chef would. I didn't want to sip my drink because the taste in my mouth from it was so good. Value for money was spot on. The size was immense. Staff so...friendly, with a bit of banter, it showed they enjoy working there. We are local people but never been before however it was actually recommend by another resturant. Totally impressed and happy we did.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
StuBur123, General Manager at Cox's Yard, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2022

Y5925thevem, we're so glad that we were able to go above and beyond your expectations! Thank you, and have a fantastic day!

Reviewed 26 March 2022

Waited over an hour gor food and staff were not even apologetic, absolutely dreadful. Its only saving grace is that it is by the river. Avoid if you canMore

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
StuBur123, General Manager at Cox's Yard, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2022

Hi Marta Apologies. We were experiencing the busiest day of the year so far and our site can seat 300+ guests. This can on occasion generate long wait times. We normally advise our guests on the door when we expect longer than usual wait times....More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Crowne Plaza Stratford Upon Avon
3,487 reviews
.08 miles away
Swan's Nest Hotel
2,267 reviews
.10 miles away
Thistle
4 reviews
.15 miles away
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
3,304 reviews
.19 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Boat House Restaurant
202 reviews
.08 miles away
The Countess Of Evesham Restaurant Cruiser
564 reviews
.10 miles away
No 37 Cafe
549 reviews
.16 miles away
La Marina Tapas Style Bar & Restaurant
519 reviews
.04 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Attic Theatre
686 reviews
.03 miles away
Royal Shakespeare Theatre
3,346 reviews
.15 miles away
Stratford-upon-Avon Canal
1,051 reviews
.05 miles away
The River Avon Trail
391 reviews
.05 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
BernardS1331
30 May 2017|
Answer
Response from janet f | Reviewed this property |
To be fair it's been a while since our last visit. The location is certainly worth seeing and the service and food may have improved. Perhaps you could give it a try. All the best, hope you enjoy!
-1
Votes
janet f
4 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from janet f | Reviewed this property |
That makes it worse and it doesn't excuse the lack of hygiene or the rudeness of the staff.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Cox's Yard

Cox's Yard is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 3.5