We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Primitivo

10-12 Barwick Street, Birmingham B3 2NT, England
+44 7786 158358
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent70%
  • Very good17%
  • Average9%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“fish pie” (2 reviews)
“salad” (4 reviews)
“risotto” (2 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
European, British, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
10-12 Barwick Street, Birmingham B3 2NT, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2018 via mobile

Popped in for Birthday Lunch, (recommendation from my daughter who works round the corner) I was not disappointed, I had the spicy beef and leek pie, served with onion gravy, easily the best pie I’ve ever tasted. My compliments to the chef 👨‍🍳 I can’t...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank paulj602
Viikk, Manager at Primitivo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2018

We are happy that you enjoyed your birthday lunch at primitivo and look forward to your return . Thank you Team Primitivo

Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

Visited on a Friday evening - the bar is very popular and the atmosphere was bustling. We had a table next to the open kitchen and were able to watch the food being expertly prepared. We had 3 courses each with the house white and...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank hward95
Viikk, Manager at Primitivo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2018

Dear Harry Thank you for sharing your experience with us in Primitivo . We look forward to seeing you again in the near future . Best wishes Team Primitivo

Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

We stumbled across this restaurant as we were looking for an early evening bite and we were truly astonished by the quality of the experience. Everything about it was outstanding: the choice of beers, the gambas pil-pil; the chicken skewers, the roast hake. The roast...More

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank 339,334
Viikk, Manager at Primitivo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

We are so pleased you enjoy your evening with us and look forward to welcoming you back again . Thank you

Reviewed 25 July 2018

This was a dinner for five, pre show at Symphony Hall. We had booked ahead and the staff were waiting on the doorstep, so to speak. We were very well looked after throughout our visit despite it being the time when all the office workers...More

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank CarolineWarwick
Reviewed 19 July 2018 via mobile

Caught up with an old friend in Bham the other day for lunch. Remembered this little gem from a couple years back before it closed for a refurb. Still a great place for a light lunch,quick drink and a chat. I agree with other reviewers...More

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank CraigRT1982
Reviewed 25 June 2018

You dont starve with the portions here and the chips are deadly but wonderful. Staff are friendly, wine is well priced and its an INDEPENDENT so well worth supporting. The owner is definitely on the ball and attentive

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank walton1512
Reviewed 22 June 2018

A good place for suits having power lunches and dinners. For me it was extremely average food at above average prices. The fish in batter that I had was really quite poor, the mushy peas and tartar sauce quite tasteless. This was all not helped...More

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank OlderGuy1956
Reviewed 16 June 2018 via mobile

What a little gem of a place service was excellent waitress took our orders and throughout our meal would check everything was ok and if our glasses were low she would top them up. Food was brilliant we could watch the chef prepare and cook...More

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Hawkeys
Viikk, Manager at Primitivo, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Thank you for your review , we are really pleased you enjoyed your visit with us , we look forward to welcoming you and your guests back in the near future .

Reviewed 14 June 2018 via mobile

.... and I’m happy to leave them to it. Thirteen quid for three unexciting skewers of chicken and a pile of lettuce 😱 Much better bang for your buck available elsewhere in the City.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Williams_Mamma
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

Looked forward to returning here for lunch with friends. We had a reserved a table fortunately as it was very busy for midweek when we arrived. We were welcomed and seated promptly and drinks order taken. We both chose the beer battered cod with chips...More

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank solihulllady
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 117 hotels in Birmingham
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
1,861 reviews
.06 miles away
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel
2,255 reviews
.13 miles away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill
1,284 reviews
.15 miles away
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
1,023 reviews
.18 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Old Contemptibles
500 reviews
.04 miles away
Gaucho - Birmingham
555 reviews
.07 miles away
Yorks Espresso Bar
9 reviews
.04 miles away
Sushi Passion
425 reviews
.08 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Steelhouse Lane Lock-up
101 reviews
.13 miles away
Birmingham Cathedral
329 reviews
.09 miles away
Great Western Arcade
57 reviews
.09 miles away
Old Joint Stock Theatre
57 reviews
.11 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
bristolst86
14 January 2018|
Answer
Response from Primitivobirmingham | Property representative |
Hi thank you for your enquiry .primitivo is available Mon -Saturday for private parties our details are on our web site Primitivo birmingham for further information . Thank you
1
Vote
bristolst86
14 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Mark151066 | Reviewed this property |
Yes they have just opened up an adjacent room from the main bar that can be hired out seperatley , the main bar can be hired for events as well .
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$55 - US$55
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups, Bar Scene
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 10-12 Barwick Street, Birmingham B3 2NT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Midlands  >  Birmingham
  • Phone Number: +44 7786 158358
Description
This restaurant is temporarily closed and will open on May 2017.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing