We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$12 - US$42
CUISINES
British, Gastropub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (416)
Filter reviews
407 results
Traveller rating
209
144
25
20
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
209
144
25
20
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish and chips sunday roast pie mash pork yorkshire pudding sandwiches bread traditional pub nice atmosphere hsb
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 28 October 2020 via mobile

Fish and chips and mushy peas excellent This is a very good pub near the river Arun in centre of town Very picturesque old traditional pub Half term on a sunny day reservation was needed and was very popular, not sure about normal autumn weekday...More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 9 October 2020

Excellent food varied menu and very good servicehowever we found the wine menu ludicrous we did not expect a pub to be charging upwards of £28 for a bottle of wine, because of this we only bought 2 glasses and they were tiny. Didnt notice...More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
BeataS866, Service Coach at The Swan Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2020

Hi Susan, thank you for leaving a review. I am pleased to hear that you received good service during your visit. Thank you for your constructive comments on the wine prices. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind Regards, Harry Cottey Service Coach

Reviewed 26 September 2020

Dropped in for a lunchtime bee. Gales HSB, in super condition. Decided to browse the menu and went for a charcuterie sharing board. Nice selection of warm fresh breads, olives and gherkins. The same could not be said for the meats. Clearly not freshly sliced...More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
BeataS866, Service Coach at The Swan Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2020

Hi Stuart, Thank your leaving your feedback. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the HSB. It is disappointing to hear about your experience in the restaurant. I can only apologise for the sharing board not being up to standard. I will pass on...More

Reviewed 17 September 2020 via mobile

We stayed in room 2 last week end had a fabulous room when we booked in we were advised of Covit rules which were carried out 100% We had a double room with a lovely walk in shower lovely towels We were told no one...More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
BeataS866, General Manager at The Swan Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2020

Thank you for this lovely review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room and found the changes easy to follow. The safety of all our guests is something we take very seriously so I am thrilled that you felt safe during your...More

Reviewed 13 September 2020

We were meeting up with friends whilst staying at Littlehampton.They booked The Swan Hotel. When we got there we had to wait a short while until someone turned up to show us to a table. It was a pleasant day so I asked for an...More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
BeataS866, General Manager at The Swan Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2020

Hi Stuart, Thank you for your feedback. Please accept our apologies that you had to wait a while for a table and that we don't have a garden. Just to make you aware, we are not required to wear face masks at work due to...More

Reviewed 6 September 2020 via mobile

Stopped by, whilst on Arundel, had Sunday lunch for four, really good, well presented, huge Yorkshire pudding, and plenty of gravy!

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
BeataS866, Deputy Manager at The Swan Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2020

Thank you for your review Oliver, i am pleased you enjoyed your time with us. I hope we can welcome you back again in the near future. Regards Jasmine

Reviewed 26 August 2020

We ate here last night , it was decidely average . Only given one menus to share , most of the Chels specials sold out . My wife had a Ceasar salad with brown lettuce leaves and overpowered with anchovies in it and very sparse...More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
BeataS866, Deputy Manager at The Swan Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2020

Dear Chris, I am sorry that you experience with us wasn't up to our usual standards. I will take your comments on board and discuss your issues with the team. All of our food is cooked fresh to order and i am saddened your time...More

Reviewed 13 August 2020 via mobile

Making use of the government subsidy scheme we went for dinner in the Swan which was delightful. The venue has always been beautiful, welcoming and comfortable but the place was spotless. The Covid precautions were well thought out and operated. The food was excellent. It’s...More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
BeataS866, General Manager at The Swan Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2020

Hi Gareth Thank you for your review, i am pleased you have enjoyed your time with us.. I hope we can welcome you back again soon. Regards Jasmine, Deputy Manager

Reviewed 15 March 2020

A good choice of real ale at this hotel. Not cheap but lovely staff and comfortable seating area. Menu is ok but hotel prices so we chose not to eat there.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
BeataS866, Deputy Manager at The Swan Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2020

Thank you for your review, Regards Jasmine

Reviewed 10 March 2020 via mobile

Always a pleasure to visit our favourite pub in Arundel, the service is good and the food is excellent, we had the sharing board with cheesy chips it was fresh and home made!!

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
BeataS866, Deputy Manager at The Swan Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2020

Dear Pea1923, thank you for your review, i am pleased you were able to enjoy your time with us.. I hope we can welcome you again soon. Regards Jasmine

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Swan Hotel
1,003 reviews
.01 miles away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
1,748 reviews
.06 miles away
Arundel Park Hotel
105 reviews
.41 miles away
Premier Inn Arundel hotel
563 reviews
.85 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Partners Cafe
286 reviews
.01 miles away
La Campania
995 reviews
.06 miles away
Butlers Restaurant, Bar & Terrace
727 reviews
.07 miles away
Motte & Bailey Cafe
417 reviews
.05 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Arundel Castle and Gardens
3,291 reviews
.14 miles away
WWT Arundel Wetland Centre
737 reviews
.68 miles away
Arundel Cathedral
556 reviews
.23 miles away
Swanbourne Lake
191 reviews
.55 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
mathraki
24 September 2016|
Answer
Response from Debs1012014 | Reviewed this property |
Not sure i'm afraid
0
Votes
denningboy
6 July 2015|
Answer
Response from Swan H | Property representative |
Thank you for your enquiry, unfortunately we cant post any HTML or website links in this section. If you go on to our Tripadvisor listing, you can find a button for a website
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Swan Hotel Restaurant
    How is The Swan Hotel Restaurant rated?
    The Swan Hotel Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
    • Food: 4
    • Service: 4.5
    • Value: 4
    • Atmosphere: 4.5