We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Get food delivered
OR
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
Cafe, British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (85)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
64
4
3
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
64
4
3
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cake homemade steak pie ginger sponge peas scones ice cream charming cafe salt pepper great little cafe bubble and squeak friendly welcome pot of tea tasty lunch be visiting again for lunch today south street lovely food
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 6 days ago

Somehow we have not come across this delightful cafe before. A real oversight as it is excellent. We were only there for quick coffee/tea & cake, but service was quick & friendly & the cakes were outstanding. A real find.

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely cafe, friendly staff. Very quick service. Teacake and croissants were delicious. Very interesting and quirky rooms upstairs. Definitely worth a visit.

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 December 2023 via mobile

Parked in Avenue de Chartres car park and then on our walk into the city centre stumbled upon Bumbles and so glad we did. An independent cafe serving excellent good value coffee with table service! No waiting in a queue! Homemade cakes looked scrumptious but...alas the diet and Christmas approaching stopped us sampling. Interesting interior with upstairs seating. Toilet was first class albeit could be an issue for those with restricted mobility. Breakfast and lunch menu looked good. Thoroughly recommend.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 November 2023 via mobile

Enjoyed a lovely light breakfast for two in this cafe. Friendly staff in a relaxed and quirky environment. A reasonably priced menu plus various craft items on sale. There are lots of cafes to chose from in Chichester - this is definitely one of the...best!More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 November 2023

Had been waiting to try this little cafe unfortunately disappointed. My husband and I both had toasted sandwhiches which were cold and the fillings were sparse to say the least. I asked for cheese and tomato and the cheese was so thin you could see...the bread and was filled with cherry tomatoes straight from the fridge. Staff were very accommodating but real lack of choice especially vegetarian.More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alan Powell, Owner at Bumbles Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2023

Hello there, in response to your review we are so sorry you were disappointed with your toasties, we have never changed the way we make our toasties and have never had any complaints before, however we are here to make your experience the best we...More

Reviewed 23 September 2023 via mobile

I've been here several times now and will continue to return. It's a quirky little place that I nearly walked past on my first return visit. The decor is so wonderful and unusual, and each of the three upstairs rooms are different. There's plenty to...look at while enjoying a drink or having a spot of lunch. The front two rooms face out onto the street, so you can watch people rushing here & there while you relax.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 September 2023

What a joy. Went for lunch with my wife. I had a delicious homemade steak pie and my wife had the all day breakfast. This place is just great..a proper traditional cafe with friendly staff. Oh and the homemade cakes look amazing so will definitely...be leaving room for one of those on our next visit.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 July 2023 via mobile

If you want a good quality nicely cooked breakfast then this is the place for you I had the full English with extra bubble and squeak which was lush I could quite easily eat a plate of that on its own chuck in the usual...suspects and your on to a winner wife had a croissant and a flat white I had a large latte very nice coffe all round superb lovely people nice decor clean and tidy 20 quid well worth it thanks guys see you soonMore

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 June 2023

It was all a little bit ruined by the fact that I ordered 2 all day breakfasts at £8.95 each which was fine and a pot of tea for two which was fine. The surprise came when I went to pay the bill and which...came to £26.30. When I asked why it was more than as per the menu the lady said the bubble and squeak was extra which when the order was placed there was no mention of paying extra for it she simply asked would you like bubble and squeak or white or brown toast. Cheeky little way to squeeze an extr Four or five quid out if someone which in my mind is naughty. Would never go back as a result which is their loss as I eat out a lot. Meal was quite small anyway.More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 June 2023

Very poor service and attitude towards adults with needs, shouted at one. Didn't talk to this person but looked at carers for his choices When putting our food in front of us just plonked our food down heavily, staff leaning across customersMore

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alan Powell, Owner at Bumbles Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2023

After reviewing your visit on cctv at Bumble’s Cafe, we can see there was nothing in your review that was true! We had a young lady training with our manager on this occasion and they both acted completely professionally , nobody shouted at anytime you...More

Reviewed 9 June 2023

Fast friendly service. Lovely food, especially the ginger sponge and ice cream. Nice venue. Our first visit but will return next time we are in Chichester.

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 June 2023

This cafe is excellent, lovely friendly staff who look after their customers every need. Full of interesting and fun things. The oat latte and peach cake were delicious.

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 May 2023

This place is a little gem. We absolutely love it! We have to have the wonderful home made cakes and coffee whenever we go to chichester. The staff here are wonderful. Always so friendly and can't do enough for you. I would highly recommend this...lovely place. I do recommend it to all my friends.More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 May 2023

What a lovely afternoon tea! Not too sure the staff here could do much more to make it anymore enjoyable, they regularly checked in with us. We had a selection of sandwiches which included salmon and cream cheese, cheese and pickle and ham and cheese....Lush! Perfect amount of cakes and scones... we couldn't actually finish it all. What makes this place, other than the staff, is the decor. Each room has it's own theme and interesting nic-nacs including Ethel 😂 Can't wait to return, hope to see you soon - thank you!More

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alan Powell, Owner at Bumbles Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2023

Thank you for your lovely review so glad you enjoyed it see you again soon x

Reviewed 5 April 2023

Four of us had booked afternoon tea for a friends birthday. We had never seen an afternoon tea like it. The sandwiches were made with thick bread with crusts left on and cut with no finesse, with them falling apart. The tea was served in...small pots, with a small pot of hot water. We were advised if we wanted more more, it was extra to pay. The scones were very hard and dry. Mine was replaced on request which was no better, and the battonburg cake was shop bought. All in all very disappointing. We were then advised that there was a problem with the card machine and did we have cash. By the time we paid it was miraculously working again. To top it all we were hassled out by 3.30pm. Won't be visiting again.More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lesley P, Owner at Bumbles Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2023

I’m so sorry you felt the need to do this review Firstly you were recommended by one of your party to book with us (who had a lovely time two weeks previously) We did everything to make your time at Bumble’s Cafe enjoyable (if you...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Travelodge Chichester Central
1,896 reviews
.23 miles away
Harbour Hotel Chichester
1,207 reviews
.35 miles away
The Nags Head
316 reviews
.36 miles away
Crouchers Hotel
1,288 reviews
1.86 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Santorini Chichester
312 reviews
.03 miles away
Cote Chichester
1,364 reviews
.15 miles away
The Fat Fig
309 reviews
.03 miles away
Wildwood
509 reviews
.02 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Pallant House Gallery
305 reviews
.15 miles away
Bishop's Palace Gardens
518 reviews
.22 miles away
Chichester Cathedral
2,179 reviews
.18 miles away
The Novium Museum
519 reviews
.26 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Bumbles Cafe staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

BUMBLES CAFE, Chichester - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Food Delivery & Takeaway - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Bumbles Cafe

Yes, Bumbles Cafe is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Bumbles Cafe is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4