We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

#210 of 214 Bar in Leeds
#1,051 of 1,169 Restaurants in Leeds
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Bar, Pub
Meals
Drinks
FEATURES
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
View all details
features, about
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveller rating
45
34
25
26
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
45
34
25
26
50
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 10 October 2020 via mobile

4 of us visited the Vesper Gate for tea, it was lovely, all freshly cooked, we would definatley recommend to others.

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
223philll, General Manager at Vesper Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2020

thank you for your comments and I am glad you enjoyed your visit

Reviewed 23 August 2020

After having a disappointing experience with food served on a Sunday before lock down i had vowed never to come back to this pub. However i met up with some family members today at the Vesper Gate and decided to have a meal there, and...More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
223philll, General Manager at Vesper Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2020

I am so glad you enjoyed your visit to the Vesper gate please come back and see us soon

Reviewed 18 August 2020

Excellent food. Got a limited menu but lovely choices. Everything was very fresh and tasty. Service very good.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 21 February 2020 via mobile

Great homely stone pub, open fire and good beer garden. Food and drinks are great value and lots of choice. Staff very attentive.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
223philll, General Manager at Vesper Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2020

Dear Gary C Thank you for leaving us such a lovely review. We work really hard to make sure our guests enjoy their time at The Vesper Gate, so it's great to see this acknowledged. I will pass this on to the team. Once again,...More

Reviewed 26 January 2020 via mobile

While visiting our son in Leeds we decided on a pub we had visited a few years ago .We were not disappointed.The service was friendly, prompt and the meal was good value for money .As with most eating places the most expensive items are the...More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
223philll, General Manager at Vesper Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2020

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon. I will pass your review on to our team. Best Wishes Phill, Ian and The Team

Reviewed 6 January 2020 via mobile

I'll start on a high - Beautiful pub with a nice quiet restaurant area, separate to bar. The staff were really friendly and the service was excellent. The beer was good, unfortunately the food wasn't. In fact, the food couldn't have been much worse if...More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Phill L, General Manager at Vesper Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2020

Hi Chessfan82 Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Vesper Gate. I'm really pleased to read that you thought the staff and service were excellent. I'm sorry to read that you weren't happy with the quality of some of...More

Reviewed 6 January 2020 via mobile

Shame the mixed grill looked cremated despite asking for the steak to be rare. It was expensive for what it was. It would be helpful if the menu stated the type of pastry in the chicken pie as I think it was suet, however it...More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?1  
Phill L, General Manager at Vesper Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2020

Hi Krissie54 Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Vesper Gate. I'm really pleased that you mention the friendly staff as we try really hard to offer a warm and friendly experience. It's also nice to read that you...More

Reviewed 27 December 2019 via mobile

Called in for Sunday lunch just before Christmas. Ordered roast dinner. Was really nice, hot & tasty just not enough. 2 small slices of meat & small portions of veg. Did feed back to management & they promised to put a bit more on next...More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Phill L, General Manager at Vesper Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2019

Hi Lynn046Leeds Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. We're pleased that you enjoyed your food and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit, with a revised portion size! Best Wishes Phill, Ian & the Team

Reviewed 11 December 2019

With no particular expectations, on a wild, wet and stormy Leeds night, there were 13 of us for an after-work meal. First plus point was being able to park right next to the door ! The unprepossessing exterior opened to a warm, welcoming interior with...More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
BlackrosePubs, Marketing Assistant at Vesper Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2019

Hi Simeon M, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, your feedback is so important to us. I'm absolutely thrilled to read your comments, and I'm so pleased to read that you and your colleagues enjoyed your recent experience at The Vesper...More

Reviewed 27 October 2019 via mobile

Quite possibly the worst Sunday Lunch we’ve ever had. Waited quite a while for the food to come and when it did the portion was ridiculous. 1 measly slice of beef, 1 roast potato, scoop of mash, a Yorkshire pudding that did not taste right...More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
Phill L, General Manager at Vesper Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2019

Dear Reviewer Firstly, thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback of your visit. I'm really disappointed to read that you didn't have a good experience yesterday and would like the opportunity to discuss this with you further, so that we can...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Ascot Grange Hotel
554 reviews
1.19 miles away
Village Hotel Leeds North
3,678 reviews
1.19 miles away
Weetwood Hall Estate
1,143 reviews
1.32 miles away
Premier Inn Leeds Headingley hotel
347 reviews
1.34 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Zayka Food Bar
156 reviews
.39 miles away
The West End House
473 reviews
.55 miles away
Kirkstall Bridge Inn
284 reviews
.51 miles away
Gallery FortyOne
254 reviews
.68 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Bridge Inn
56 reviews
.85 miles away
Abbey House Museum
416 reviews
.18 miles away
Kirkstall Abbey
1,176 reviews
.23 miles away
Kirkstall Valley Retail Park
7 reviews
.51 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Eatsleepvisit
4 January 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from 223philll | Property representative |
yes there is
0
Votes
177Kate205
4 April 2017|
Answer
Response from diver1954 | Reviewed this property |
not sure x
0
Votes
355glenw
24 July 2016|
Answer
Response from 527mcdc | Reviewed this property |
The vesper is in between ownership and all should be finalised by the end of the month so the rumour goes. Lucy is back hope new owners really get the food situation sorted out have not eaten here myself for years but have... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Vesper Gate
    How is Vesper Gate rated?
    Vesper Gate is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
    • Food: 3
    • Service: 3.5
    • Value: 3.5
    • Atmosphere: 3