We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Vesper Gate

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

About
Get a little sizzle from your local Here at The Vesper Gate you'll find everything you'd expect from a traditional local pub in Kirkstall - but with a bit of added sizzle. Just a stone's throw from West Park, Headingley and Horsforth, we're the perfect place to watch the footy with friends or enjoy a bit of banter over your favourite beers. We serve up a fantastic range of drinks with prices to match, together with our famous sizzling skillets or flame-grilled burgers if you fancy a bite with your pint.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Wheelchair Accessible
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveller rating
38
28
25
23
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
38
28
25
23
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mixed grill fish chips kirkstall abbey gate pub half chicken great pub nice food lovely meal landlord lager
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 162 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Called in for a pint. Quick but cold service, no customer service at all. The pub wasnt overly busy, surprising for a Sunday Lunch time and was really cold, to the point it was uncomfortable. Valentine's menu - promo on the table was a wonky...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank reviewer1302
Phillip L, General Manager at Vesper Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Reviewer I'm really sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your visit to the Vesper Gate. It isn't usual for us to receive negative comments regarding customer service and we will definitely be looking into this further. We have had some heating issues recently...More

Reviewed 30 December 2018 via mobile

american platter... horrid.. meatballs like cowsballs, nothing good about it except the pint. left full plate near enough. and the place was freezing inside.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Jodie D
Reviewed 17 December 2018

Went for a meal on Sunday evening. The pub was not very busy when we arrived. The food was pretty average, at best. I ordered fish and chips and asked for garden peas instead of mushy peas. The garden peas I had with my fish...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Symon P
Reviewed 11 December 2018

Called in for lunch after visiting relatives in the area, the pub had a nice atmosphere & I felt at home straight away. The menu had a great range of dishes to suit most palates & I was actually spoilt for choice. The drinks were...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank ButterflyLady62
Phillip L, General Manager at Vesper Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2018

Dear Reviewer Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us feedback following your visit to The Vesper Gate. We are really pleased you enjoyed your visit and will share your comments with the team. Best wishes for Christmas & The New Year!...More

Reviewed 9 December 2018 via mobile

...since our last visit / review in June 2017 and we weren't disappointed. Three adults called in one Sunday afternoon and were surprised to find a lighter, airier more welcoming place than last time. A sparsity of customers allowed us a choice of tables and...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank Barratty14
Phillip L, General Manager at Vesper Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2018

Dear Reviewer Thank you so much for taking the time to review The Vesper Gate. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit. As a team we have been working extremely hard to improve the customer experience and really appreciate your feed back. We...More

Reviewed 31 October 2018 via mobile

Checked the menu on the web page and it sounded great. Unfortunately the menu was totally different when we arrived!! No starters and limited mains. We ordered fish and chips which were just ok. Service was good at bar and staff friendly. Toilets not good,...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Cath S
Phillip L, General Manager at Vesper Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2018

Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to review The Vesper Gate and we are sorry to read that you were disappointed. The menu has recently changed, as the previous one was not popular. I will however discuss the website details with the IT...More

Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

Called in for food with family. Excellent customer service. Ordered fish & chips. Food came out hot & presentable. Few mins later the chef came out with another fish. She stated she wasnt happy with the one I had been served & made me a...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank lynn046Leeds
Phillip L, General Manager at Vesper Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2018

Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your visit and noticed the improvements that have been made. We have been working really hard to improve the standards and general atmosphere at The Vesper Gate...More

Reviewed 19 September 2018 via mobile

We visited on a Wednesday evening for some food, and both really enjoyed our meals. Good food, nice beer, and friendly staff.More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank W33TTalexh
Phillip L, General Manager at Vesper Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2018

Dear Reviewer Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of your recent visit to The Vesper Gate. We are really pleased to read that you enjoyed your experience and look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards Phill, Ian &...More

Reviewed 18 September 2018

My last review here was in 2016. I was disappointed that being a Sunday, lunch was not on offer. So this time we arrived midweek. And were well satisfied with the variety and quality of the food. ( And I doubt anymore could have been...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank William S
Phillip L, General Manager at Vesper Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for The Vesper Gate. Your comments are much appreciated and we are very happy that you enjoyed this visit with us. Best Wishes Phill, Ian & The Team

Reviewed 17 September 2018

This used to be such a good grub pub, with good menu and food. Recently visited for sunday lunch, first time in over a year. The almost-empty car park was a bit of a clue, and it wasn't long to see why. The 'new' menu...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank LeedsLad38
Phillip L, General Manager at Vesper Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to review The Vesper Gate and we are sorry to read that you rated your visit as Mediocre. We really appreciate your comments and will take them forward to improve the service we provide. Much Appreciated Phill,...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 93 nearby hotels
Ascot Grange Hotel
501 reviews
1.19 miles away
Village Hotel Leeds North
3,256 reviews
1.19 miles away
Weetwood Hall Estate
1,024 reviews
1.32 miles away
Headingley Lodge
391 reviews
1.33 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 2,390 nearby restaurants
Zayka Food Bar
146 reviews
.42 miles away
West End House
429 reviews
.55 miles away
Kirkstall Bridge Inn
240 reviews
.51 miles away
Gallery FortyOne
231 reviews
.68 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 562 nearby attractions
The Bridge Inn
45 reviews
.85 miles away
Abbey House Museum
372 reviews
.18 miles away
Kirkstall Abbey
1,097 reviews
.23 miles away
Kirkstall Valley Retail Park
6 reviews
.51 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Eatsleepvisit
4 January 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Phill L | Property representative |
yes there is
0
Votes
177Kate205
4 April 2017|
Answer
Response from diver1954 | Reviewed this property |
not sure x
0
Votes
355glenw
24 July 2016|
Answer
Response from 527mcdc | Reviewed this property |
The vesper is in between ownership and all should be finalised by the end of the month so the rumour goes. Lucy is back hope new owners really get the food situation sorted out have not eaten here myself for years but have... More
0
Votes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing