We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Get food delivered
About
ZAAP Thai Street Food is a funky, fresh and exciting restaurant in The Grand Arcade Leeds. It brings all the wonderful experiences of a Bangkok street market to the streets of Leeds, with fabulous decor and the best Thai street food ever!
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
Thai
FEATURES
Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Takeout, Highchairs Available, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (1,610)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
1,592 results
Traveller rating
941
416
124
60
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
941
416
124
60
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thai food massaman curry prawns rice fish cakes pork fries fast service starters spicy
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Outstanding Thai food. The best I’ve ever had outside of Thailand. Really wish that there was one near me in Kent. Loved the interior decor with stuff from Thailand. Spot on ♥️ My boss actually asked all the people at a nearby bus stop which...Thai place they would eat in the city and they all said Zapp!More

Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We come here often and have enjoyed all our meals. The service is excellent. Quite reasonable prices too. Have recommended it to friends and family.

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I was disappointed today. Third visit in several years and I wouldn't return. We were seated quickly but it took a while for our order to be taken and took long for drinks to arrive. Our food came first and we were both parched! Had...to remind our server that we'd also asked for water with our cocktails. I had beef Massaman which was nice but small portions for £13.50 and the rice was hard in places, like it had been left out or re-heated. We were not asked during our meal if everything was OK. Gluten free options are poor. In all the starters only edamame beans are gluten free!!! If food is made fresh, most places offer to adapt dishes. I am intolerant to gluten (as opposed to having cealic disease) so I opted for the chicken satay, thinking it just just be gluten in a dressing. It looked like it was coated in flour? This made it dry. I've never had satay like that anywhere in the UK, Thailand or Malaysia! Even pad thai was not GF which I think means they don't have gluten free soy sauce which is available in all supermarkets. I mentioned my disappointment with the rice when our bill came and was assured the feedback would go to the kitchen. Paid the bill and was annoyed that I hadn't noticed the optional 10% service charge that was included as I wouldn't have paid it on this occasion. It cost me £35 for a starter I didn't enjoy, main that I partially enjoyed and a cocktail which had mostly ice in it. Not for me again Zaap!More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ban Kaewkraikhot, Owner at Zaap Thai Street Food Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Claire, we're sorry to hear about your recent unsatisfactory experience at Zaap Leeds. After looking into the matter, we apologise for the poor service you encountered. Our service fell below our usual standards due to technical issues with our till system for a few...More

Reviewed 9 May 2024 via mobile

This used to be my family’s favourite restaurant but the place has gone downhill. Portions are so much smaller,service poor, orders mixed up, not good value. There are much better Thais in the area now.

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ban Kaewkraikhot, Owner at Zaap Thai Street Food Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2024

Hi there, we are very sorry to see that you were unhappy with your recent visit to Zaap. We would like to find out more about your experience, could you please email info@zaapthai.co.uk so we can discuss this and resolve it for you, kind regards.

Reviewed 4 May 2024

Absolutely love this place. Excellent choice of Thai street food . Portion sizes not very big but make up for it due to taste & high quality! Always very busy & you can’t book unfortunately. Mid price range . Feel a bit rushed at times...but good if you want to eat on the go.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ban Kaewkraikhot, Owner at Zaap Thai Street Food Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello, thank you for your lovely review! It's great to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us, and we do look forward to seeing you again 😃

Reviewed 29 April 2024 via mobile

We called on a Sunday evening and it was almost full. Relaxed vibe, but with the perspex screens it did remind me of eating in the factory canteen during Covid. Very good starters of pork skewers and deep fried prawns. Mains - pad thai had...plenty of chicken but lacked flavour. Belly pork with cabbage was fine but not very spicy. Portions of rice and noodles too large for us. Total bill (with 1 drink each and prawn crackers) including 10% optional tip automatically added was £61. I’m not usually keen about automatic tips, but at least they made it very clear that it had been added.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ban Kaewkraikhot, Owner at Zaap Thai Street Food Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2024

Hi there, Thank you for taking your time to bring this to our attention. Our 10% service charge is completely optional, its absolutely fine if you would rather not pay it, just let us know and we are happy to remove it from the bill...More

Reviewed 28 April 2024 via mobile

Addicted, eat here every time I come to Leeds, only complaint is… when are you opening one in Hull!! Fantastic food and great service.

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 March 2024 via mobile

Amazing food!!! Best Thai I have ever had. Lovely friendly staff and quick service. Highly recommend and will be back again soon.

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ban Kaewkraikhot, Owner at Zaap Thai Street Food Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2024

Hello, thank you for your review! We're delighted that you had an amazing time with us, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Reviewed 23 March 2024

Tried the bao buns today where you can get 2 for £10.95, mix and match. The chicken & mango salsa were too sour… other dishes were great though! Will return before the bed of this month to try their special menu.

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 March 2024

Was great food and service the only problem was it took a little too long to come we waited 45 mins I can say it was very busy but for two meals it shouldn’t take that long but would highly recommend and would come back

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 March 2024 via mobile

Amazing menu. Had fish cakes & spring rolls to start followed by Tom Yum soup with crispy won tons for me / 2 types of bao buns for ‘er indoors. All full of flavour and not too spicy. Great service too. Just over £50 with...2 pints of Singha. Boom!More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 February 2024 via mobile

Service good. Food poor. Tom Yum soup was like dish water. Basic Thai taste but nothing more. Thai appetizers ok but dumplings stuck together as if straight from packet. Fishcakes like rubber. Thai red curry. Again basic Thai flavours with rubbery boiled chicken. This place...is fine if there is nowhere else.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ban Kaewkraikhot, Owner at Zaap Thai Street Food Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2024

Hello, thank you for your feedback - my apologies that you were left underwhelmed on your recent visit with us, please could you email info@zaapthai.co.uk so that we could attempt to discuss and resolve this for you? Kind regards.

Reviewed 13 January 2024

Couldn’t ask for better food, service and atmosphere. Will 100% be back again in our next trip to Leeds. In fact we may plan a trip just to come here again.⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ban Kaewkraikhot, Owner at Zaap Thai Street Food Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2024

Hello Nichola, thank you so much for this review! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. When you do visit Leeds, we look forward to seeing you again!

Reviewed 26 December 2023

Great food, fun place. Having to travelled to Thailand many, many times it's great to have a typical Thai street food place, it has the ambiance of typical Thai street food, simple dishes as it is street food and not a full blown Thai restaurant,...the pad Thai noodles are excellent, service is quick (as a street food place should be) can be difficult to get in as always bust, very popular place, love the simple seating and the clattering of everyone enjoying the food.More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ban Kaewkraikhot, Owner at Zaap Thai Street Food Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2024

Hi Phil, thank you so much for your glowing review! We're glad that you enjoyed your experience with us, and hope that you visit us again!

Reviewed 17 December 2023 via mobile

Some of the worst Thai food I’ve had. Went there pre-event. Probably OK if you’re an impoverished student but if you’re not, avoid! It was very poor value for money as the food was so atrocious. Frozen food warmed up; sauce from a jar.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ban Kaewkraikhot, Owner at Zaap Thai Street Food Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2023

Hi Matthew, we are sorry to see our food did not match your taste on this occasion. We can assure you we are an authentic Thai restaurant, with over 20 years in the industry, we do not take influence from Chinese cuisine, only Thai, all...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Travelodge Leeds Central Vicar Lane
795 reviews
.05 miles away
Hampton by Hilton Leeds City Centre
357 reviews
.17 miles away
Ibis Styles Leeds City Centre Arena
767 reviews
.17 miles away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds City Centre
3,228 reviews
.30 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Chef Jono at V&V
361 reviews
.04 miles away
Manahatta Merrion Street
645 reviews
.04 miles away
Just Grand! Vintage Tearoom
990 reviews
.03 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Leeds Grand Theatre
1,082 reviews
.06 miles away
The Wet Spot
11 reviews
.07 miles away
Our Handmade Collective
128 reviews
.02 miles away
Grand Arcade
39 reviews
.02 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
evecL150PN
8 November 2022|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from 43nickyc123 | Reviewed this property |
Sorry no photo but it was a chicken, pineapple and cashew dish which was mild
1
Vote
Mamona D
5 January 2019|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from ozzieguy65 | Reviewed this property |
Agree ask as it is not for comments to answer for an important question.
1
Vote
hlaycock55
3 September 2018|
Answer
Response from Danny-724466 | Reviewed this property |
Hi we went last night and were 40 minutes from walking in the door got to the grand Theatre with 10 minutes to spare before the show started beware there is not always tables due to it been a busy place but enjoy is great... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

ZAAP THAI STREET FOOD LEEDS - Quarry Hill - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Food Delivery & Takeaway - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Zaap Thai Street Food Leeds

Yes, Zaap Thai Street Food Leeds offers takeaway services.

Zaap Thai Street Food Leeds is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 5