We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blue River Cafe

) #99 of 111 Restaurants in Maidenhead ££ - £££ , British, American
The Bridge Bridge Road, Maidenhead SL6 8DW, England
+44 1628 674057
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent15%
  • Very good27%
  • Average19%
  • Poor16%
  • Terrible23%
1 week ago
“Gone Downhill”
17 Jul 2017
“Nice view by river”
Opens in 1 min
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, American, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Bridge Bridge Road, Maidenhead SL6 8DW, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (627)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 220 of 621 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

Every time I eat here I regret it. The staff are rude, the food is overpriced and the menu hasn't changed for about ten years. Don't bother.More

1  Thank Chris K
Rpynegar, General Manager at Blue River Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2016

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, I see that you also reviewed Proud Cabaret City with 1 star and an identical title also on the 21st February. Whilst we look for constructive feedback from our customers as to how to improve...More

Reviewed 16 February 2016

I used to love coming here as it was always good food and good service. The service was still great but what has happened to the food? It is the same menu but not the same food! I can't even tell you what it wrong...More

Thank kmm71
Rpynegar, General Manager at Blue River Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2016

Thank you for your review and your kind words regarding the service from the team. I am a little confused as to one aspect of the review, we don't and have never had Fois Gras on our menu, due to the production method of such...More

Reviewed 6 February 2016

We have been coming to this restaurant for over 10 years as we live within walking distance. We were shocked to see how downmarket it has become and what is now an extremely limited, unappealing menu compared to before. We didn't fancy any of the...More

1  Thank Mart9999
Rpynegar, General Manager at Blue River Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2016

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, its great to hear you have been visiting us for so many years. We are currently putting the finishing touches to our new menu due to launch very soon and you will be pleased to...More

Reviewed 4 February 2016

I'm always disappointed when I visit here and have now removed it from my list if I want to eat. Both my daughter and I ordered fajitas; chicken was covered in what tasted like sauce from a jar, salsa too looked like it came from...More

2  Thank MaireButtimer
Rpynegar, General Manager at Blue River Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2016

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, and please let me apologise for the experience you received. I have sent you a private message to discuss this further. Kind regards Rob Pynegar

Reviewed 3 February 2016

I went this evening with my daughter in law for dinner. We were given a tabke by the river although it was too dark to see out. We both choose the same Lamb rump which came with broccoli, sautéed potatoes, gravy with mint sauce. It...More

Thank foody12345376
Rpynegar, General Manager at Blue River Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2016

Thank you for your review, I do hope to welcome you back soon to try our new menu which will be coming out in the next few weeks. Kind regards Rob Pynegar

Reviewed 31 January 2016 via mobile

Where do I start? Eleven of us to celebrate (?) my husband's birthday. Well ....... 1. Table set for 10 when should have been 11 2. Long wait for our orders to be taken 3. Long wait for starters and when some arrived they were...More

Thank lynne_sayers
Rpynegar, General Manager at Blue River Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. We have recently launched our new Sunday carvery here at the Blue River café and having now done two dates we are ironing out some of the challenges. It has proved overwhelmingly popular with yesterday...More

Reviewed 26 January 2016 via mobile

Went for daughters 18th birthday, arrived 5 mins early asked where would like to sit opted for table with of the river Suggested that we go to the bar as table not ready but couldn't get served within 10 minutes Finally got out table in...More

Thank Neill F
Rpynegar, General Manager at Blue River Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2016

Thank you for leaving a review. I do apologise for the lengthy wait you faced on your recent visit. With regards the our pricing, did you know you can sign up to our Privilege Plus discount card, this gives you 20% off the majority of...More

Reviewed 24 January 2016

Living within walking distance of the Blue River means we have been visiting this restaurant regularly for some 20 years. Sadly over the last 2 or 3 years it has gone steadily down hill. The bar area is dark and gloomy - bordering on dirty,...More

1  Thank Rich5ltr
Rpynegar, General Manager at Blue River Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2016

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I would like to introduce myself as the new manager here at The Blue River café, having started after the new year and after your visit. I am in the process of making some of...More

Reviewed 15 January 2016 via mobile

Lived my stay here! I've been once at Christmas, to stay over for my Christmas work do and once for an afternoon tea. Both occasions have been lovely. The place is clean and tidy and I'd love to go back. It's got lovely decorations around...More

Thank Jade L
Rpynegar, General Manager at Blue River Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2016

Thank you for your review, Its great to hear from our regular guests and I look forward to welcoming you on your next visit. Did you know you can get 20% off your food and drinks by signing up for our Privilege Plus card at...More

Reviewed 14 January 2016

My wife and I have visited here on a number of occasions, together and with a company team. The menu choice is quite varied and we can always find something to eat, especially as one of us is is piscatarian/vegetarian. We do like it and...More

Thank Brian S
Rpynegar, General Manager at Blue River Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2016

Thank you for your review, our kitchen team take great pride in their food and are currently writing a brand new menu, due to be launched very soon. I do hope you will drop by and try it. Kind regards Rob Pynegar

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Boulters Riverside Brasserie & Terrace Bar
881 reviews
.67 miles away
Miller & Carter Steakhouse
336 reviews
.53 miles away
Grenfell Arms
225 reviews
.27 miles away
Berry's Restaurant & Bar
79 reviews
.53 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Boulter's Lock and Ray Mill Island
239 reviews
.68 miles away
Maidenhead Heritage Centre
84 reviews
.70 miles away
Oak And Saw Village Inn
33 reviews
.83 miles away
The Sounding Arch
92 reviews
.28 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Blue River Cafe staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$9 - US$32
Meals
Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids, View
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 21:30
Monday
07:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
07:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
07:00 - 22:00
Thursday
07:00 - 22:00
Friday
07:00 - 22:00
Saturday
08:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Bridge Bridge Road, Maidenhead SL6 8DW, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Berkshire  >  Windsor and Maidenhead  >  Maidenhead
  • Phone Number: +44 1628 674057
  • E-mail
Description
Located on the River Thames, it has the ideal scenery with a large beer garden and terrace perfect for summer dining. Indoors is spacious, with comfy seating areas and live sports throughout the day. Live music is also available on Friday evenings in our bar area.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing