We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Maiden's Head

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
  • Single-use or sanitized menus
Read more
Updated 03/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Maiden's Head
Updated 03/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
33
24
8
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
33
24
8
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great pub live music to boot great beer garden warm atmosphere selection of beers pint
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 27 September 2020 via mobile

Dropped into The Maiden’s Head on Friday and was pleasantly surprised how organised they were in relation to new Covid rules. Warm welcome, easy to find a seat and table service was attentive. Beer selection not great and the main bar area was cold given...More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
686joannes, General Manager at The Maiden's Head, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2020

Thank you for taking time to review us. We always appreciate the feedback. I’m sorry you were cold whilst visiting, we do try and keep doors open to minimise door handles being touched during the pandemic which obviously as the temperature drops we will have...More

Reviewed 22 September 2020 via mobile

Fantastic little hidden gem. We had a one night stay in Maidenhead, and relied on trip advisor for a good place for lunch. We could not have chosen better. There was myself, my husband and our toddler. We were greeted at the door and the...More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
686joannes, General Manager at The Maiden's Head, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2020

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such great feedback. We really do appreciate it. So glad you enjoyed your visit with us and hope you had an equally enjoyable time at Lego land. Kind Regards Jo Sharp

Reviewed 4 September 2020

Arrived at the venue and waited for member of staff to seat us. took seat then went to bar following guidelines from venue then went back to table. Drinks were enjoyable it was a bit strange to start with getting used to new regulations but...More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
686joannes, General Manager at The Maiden's Head, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2020

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are working hard as a team to ensure our customers and staff are kept as safe as possible and thou some may not appreciate the new rules in place, We pride ourselves on having...More

Reviewed 28 August 2020

Good selection of beers. I likd the lady with the blond? hair. Great location in becoming very modern city.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 23 August 2020

I came here for lunch on the 21st. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome, the food is amazing and the staff are so friendly and efficient, yes there is a procedure to follow given the Covid rules but it's...More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
686joannes, General Manager at The Maiden's Head, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2020

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit. We know the new system in place can be a little frustrating so it is very rewarding to know that we can still create a...More

Reviewed 20 August 2020

Maybe this place used to have some character but not anymore - it's gone downhill. No food anymore, badly kept beer, and rude barstaff. Someone needs to draw a line under this place, give it a referb and start again. Avoid.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
686joannes, General Manager at The Maiden's Head, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2020

I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy your visit to The Maidens head. We do however keep our beer very well which has been recognised by Camra, and if there was an issue with your drink a member of our team would of rectified it immediately if...More

Reviewed 17 December 2019

We often come to this pub on Saturday evenings. Usually a decent band and normally great beer. We were a small group, 4 in all this week, 14 December. We were luck to get a table and I ordered a round of drinks,The Roasted Nuts...More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed 5 December 2019 via mobile

Found the pub while walking around the town. My wife went shopping so I was on my own. I was made to feel welcome the bar staff were friendly and my drink was served nicely. I think that they do food but did not partake...More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed 11 November 2019

Another great night riding the big wave, best beer in Maidenhead and live music to boot Friendly staff, tried a new Japanenese lager which was really good.

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed 20 September 2019 via mobile

Seriously, if you want a warm atmosphere, great staff...fun music nights great comedy evenings you can't do better...lunch whether business or solo is well worth it food is amazing top notch!!

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?2  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Premier Inn Maidenhead Town Centre hotel
696 reviews
.11 miles away
Travelodge Maidenhead Central Hotel
527 reviews
.26 miles away
Kingswood Hotel
74 reviews
.62 miles away
The Thames Hotel
310 reviews
.76 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Bakedd
135 reviews
.08 miles away
Costa Coffee
43 reviews
.12 miles away
15 Queen Street
103 reviews
.06 miles away
Bistro Story
137 reviews
.06 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Maidenhead Heritage Centre
122 reviews
.11 miles away
The Sounding Arch
119 reviews
.83 miles away
York Road Stadium
13 reviews
.19 miles away
Magnet Leisure Centre
6 reviews
.23 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Maiden's Head staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Maiden's Head
    Is The Maiden's Head implementing safety measures as a result of COVID-19?
    Yes, The Maiden's Head is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.
    How is The Maiden's Head rated?
    The Maiden's Head is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
    • Food: 4
    • Service: 4
    • Value: 4