We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Thu, 7/7
20:00

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$12 - US$48
CUISINES
British, Pub, Gastropub, Bar
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (1,069)
Filter reviews
1,061 results
Traveller rating
603
229
96
57
76
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
603
229
96
57
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lamb shoulder sea bass sunday roast fish and chips tuna pudding the river eton mess gourmet burger the pub outside seating lovely table food was lovely lovely lunch booked a table windsor castle conservatory
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Friendly polite staff, Good good and drink reasonable prices. Lovely atmosphere, excellent location by the river. Will come again when in the area

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
BoatmanWindsor, Guest Relations Manager at The Boatman, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Please do return if/when you're in the area - and thank you for your compliment on the 'friendly polite staff' - they really appreciated it.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Superb hospitality, Superb food and the best Eton Mess in Eton. Will definitely be returning here next time we are in the area

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
BoatmanWindsor, Guest Relations Manager at The Boatman, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for all your kind comments. Please do return and sample our Eton Mess again (we never change the recipe).

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I went with a group of 14 ladies for lunch yesterday. The service was excellent. The food portions were very generous! Excellent cuisine in beautiful riverside setting. ❤️

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
BoatmanWindsor, Guest Relations Manager at The Boatman, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

The staff at the Boatman thank you and your charming companions. It was our pleasure to host you. Do return.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Most people will chose The Boatman for its superb location on the river, however it is also a great pub/restaurant and they don’t let their food or service slip just because they have the location to trade off of. We had a lovely long late...lunch outside in the sun, we had a sharing platter and a few drinks, food was delicious and the service fantastic, will definitely be back.More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
BoatmanWindsor, Guest Relations Manager at The Boatman, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

It's great when customers like you are kind enough to leave such a glowing review. We're sure most people are aware of the issues with the recruitment of experienced staff in the hospitality industry - we have also been affected by this, and the young...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not booked, just walked in and had a delicious Sunday roast. Sat outside overlooking the river Thames. Good service good price. Well done

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
BoatmanWindsor, Guest Relations Manager at The Boatman, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Many thanks for your lovely review - really pleased you enjoyed the food and service .

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Roast dinner advertised on the menu as being served with ‘seasonal vegetables’, what we were served was just carrots and cabbage. Very disappointing and cabbage is not seasonal in June so the menu is misleading!! Very expensive roast for half the plate to be cabbage....Also had to ask for the sauces to go with the roast i.e. horseradish as we weren’t offered these when we were brought our food. Would return for drinks but wouldn’t go back for food.More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
BoatmanWindsor, Guest Relations Manager at The Boatman, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Sweetheart cabbage is in season (with the exception of peas, we do not use frozen vegetables). Sorry you had to ask for the horseradish sauce.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I asked for a medium well done steak. When my meal arrived the steak was rare. My experience with the manager was upsetting. The chips and rocket were ok- chips not great. Left feeling very underwhelmed and dissatisfied. Thirty pound down the drain!More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
BoatmanWindsor, Guest Relations Manager at The Boatman, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Mr Jane, when the waitress served you your steak you complained to her that it was under-done – she offered to replace it – you declined. The waitress informed the Manager who came to speak with you, by which time you had eaten everything...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Chose because of great online reviews. Greeting on arrival a bit offhand and we were guided indoors. Stickiest table edge which was a bit of a concern. Starter arrived in seconds before our drinks and then a bit of a wait for mains. Had been...looking forward to chicken roast...nice selection of accompaniments but chicken a bit overdone and gravy lacking. Partners burger and chips dry and a bit disappointing. The shining light was our server... complete with union flag eye makeup for the jubilee weekend she faultlessly navigated our order and took time to apologize for our slightly disappointing visit.More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?1  
BoatmanWindsor, Guest Relations Manager at The Boatman, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback and the lovely comments on your server. Sorry you were slightly disappointed - we try to get it right every time, but obviously we fell short on this occasion - our apologies.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great place by the river to sit and watch the world go by and to meet with friends. However, unless you're eating the staff outside are genuinely uninterested. When we stated that there was a group of us for drinks we were told, in no...uncertain terms, "That table in the corner only". 7 of us sat outside for a few hours and the table was never cleared despite the abundance of staff. Staff inside were a lot more friendly, staff outside could be more welcoming considering the amount of money spent at around £70 a round x 7More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
BoatmanWindsor, Guest Relations Manager at The Boatman, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Pleased you enjoyed the location, shame the service wasn't up to scratch - we will be following-up on this. Thank you for leaving feedback.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked a table of 12 at this pub and the day before our visit I tried to make the payment. I only suggested if they could block my card rather than take the whole deposit of £10 pp like most of the restaurants including...michelin stars do. The man, named PRADEEP NAIR who is one of the mangers there, got very defensive and said he cannot do it as according to him it was a GDPR issue (??) and he will only take payments to which I asked him to go ahead and take my card details for the payment. He then took a complete U turn and said he will not serve us and refused to take any payment. He even said he is going to EXERCISE HIS RIGHTS AS A MANAGER and went ahead and cancelled our booking. He obviously knew that would put us in trouble as it was a large group and it was last minute. We go to a variety of restaurants all the time, but never actually come across someone so obnoxious and rude - not sure how in the hospitality industry you can get away with such awful attitude! PLEASE DO NOT VISIT THIS PLACE - there are other bars/pubs/restaurants in Windsor which are much nicer and welcoming!More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?2  
BoatmanWindsor, Guest Relations Manager at The Boatman, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

This lady + husband were so rude and nasty on the phone to one of our Managers (of three years standing, and about whom we have received only positive comments), that he believed he had no option but to cancel the booking in order to...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel
2,600 reviews
.11 miles away
Christopher Hotel
364 reviews
.18 miles away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
3,569 reviews
.30 miles away
Castle Hotel Windsor
2,491 reviews
.33 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Crown & Cushion
223 reviews
.11 miles away
Gilbey's Bar, Restaurant & Townhouse - Eton
749 reviews
.13 miles away
The George Inn
739 reviews
.11 miles away
Flaming Cow
1,020 reviews
.11 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Windsor Castle
13,531 reviews
.24 miles away
St. George's Chapel
2,727 reviews
.19 miles away
Eton Walkway
41 reviews
.22 miles away
Tastes Delicatessen
24 reviews
.13 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
DJG1983
8 September 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from BoatmanWindsor | Property representative |
Hi - no 'onsite' parking - but the Eton & Riverside Train Station car park is immediately next to the Boatman. It costs £2.00 all day on Sat/Sun to park there, and £10 per day before 10am midweek, £6.00per day all day... More
2
Votes
suea178
18 June 2019|
Answer
Response from BoatmanWindsor | Property representative |
Yes. the rear 'Riverside Walk' entrance (next to the Station Car Park) is at pavement level and suitable for wheelchairs, and we do have a disabled toilet. Unfortunately there are quite high steps into the Boatman from the... More
0
Votes
ushecla
9 February 2019|
Answer
Response from BoatmanWindsor | Property representative |
Hi - Yes, we are a two/three minute walk to the High Street. Also, we are next to the Windsor & Eton Riverside train station car park (if you are planning to drive).
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Boatman

The Boatman is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4