We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Boatman

Reserve a Table
Sat, 1/19
20:00
2

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2017 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Food and ambience

Local cuisine, British, Pub, Gastropub, Bar, Vegetarian Friendly
Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, View, Groups, Bar Scene

Location and contact

About
The Boatman is proud to be Windsor's only proper pub on The Thames with uninterrupted views of the river overlooking Eton Bridge and the fascinating waterfront life. The Boatman has an all-weather terrace with a retractable roof in case of inclement weather and its extensive outside area offers seating for up to 100 people - the perfect place for enjoying both sunny days and otherwise! The stylish inside decor combines traditional pub charm with a modern, quirky vibe which provides a relaxed place to eat, drink and socialise. It's magical at night with sparkly lights and the shimmering reflections from the river. The Boatman restaurant and pub also provides a great space for private events for
PRICE RANGE
US$13 - US$52
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Brunch
CUISINES
British, Pub, Gastropub, Bar
FEATURES
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Accepts Credit Cards
Reviews (705)
Filter reviews
699 results
Traveller rating
417
158
65
32
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
417
158
65
32
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lamb shoulder sea bass sunday roast apple crumble fish and chips burger tuna the river riverside pub retractable roof eton mess outside seating gastro pub eton bridge lovely pub food was lovely lovely lunch
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 699 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago

It was a mid week evening, very quite. Food is good (add some duck breasts - very well cooked) and prawns as appetizer.) Friendly service

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank taleboulin
BoatmanWindsor, Guest Relations Manager at The Boatman, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for your review, really pleased you enjoyed the food and service.

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Had a very enjoyable meal celebrating our wedding anniversary. The welcome as we arrived was good the food very well presented and tasty. The service was second to none . Want to return again and again loved it .

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank Frances701
BoatmanWindsor, Guest Relations Manager at The Boatman, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

We hope you do return again and again! Many thanks for your lovely review.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Without doubt the nicest, most genuine staff with the best service for a gastropub we have experienced since relocating to the UK two years ago. Great food and fantastic location. We will be back

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank PepeC320
BoatmanWindsor, Guest Relations Manager at The Boatman, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Without doubt one of the nicest reviews we have received, all the staff were so pleased. Given where you live, and that we are less than an hour by train from Waterloo station, we really hope to welcome you again.

Reviewed 1 week ago

My girlfriend an I had an excellent Sunday roast in this charming pub. Nice staff. All though they do offer a view on the Thames, you need to sit in the conservatory to have an unobstructed view on the river.

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank 500dank
BoatmanWindsor, Guest Relations Manager at The Boatman, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

So pleased you enjoyed your visit to our wonderful town of Windsor, but especially pleased that you enjoyed the food and service at the Boatman. Thank you.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A lovely pub with a great riverside location in Windsor. We were looking for a dog-friendly place to have a break, and found a real treasure. Lovely apple crumble, excellent chocolate brownie, and a really good latte. And the service was excellent. Really friendly, quick...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank 879justinw
BoatmanWindsor, Guest Relations Manager at The Boatman, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Many thanks for your lovely review. Hope you make it back soon to Windsor, and the Boatman,

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Meal for two in a wonderful location overlooking the river. We found our 3 course meal in the glassed outdoor area to be very good value for money, not rushed with excellent service (thanks Helder). Would highly recommend

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank Nigorn
BoatmanWindsor, Guest Relations Manager at The Boatman, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your wonderful review. We've noticed you don't leave many, so your taking the time to do this is really appreciated by everyone, and especially Helder who looked after you and was thrilled by your comments.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed our dinner, however the service was poor. It was mostly the attitude that we were in the way, even though the restaurant was more than half empty. The waitress and manager were very rushed and did not make us feel welcome. Not the...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank Picklesinjuice
BoatmanWindsor, Guest Relations Manager at The Boatman, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Picklesinjuice. We have checked our records and can confirm that you were not charged for an additional main. Your daughters pasta should not have been served with cheese on it, when you pointed out the error, the dish was taken away and replaced with...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We thought we'd go out for Boxing Day as we usually just stay in but this year decided for a change well we absolutely loved it we had three courses and were a table of 5 nothing was to much for the waitress we forgot...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank memis_el
BoatmanWindsor, Guest Relations Manager at The Boatman, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you memis_el for your lovely review, so pleased you enjoyed Boxing Day with us. Hope you make this a tradition - but please come back soon!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked in advance for a 1pm lunch and paid a £10 per head deposit in advance along with menu choices, as requested. 2 of our party were unable to make it on the day and we were informed we would have to pay the full...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank hayleykirkup
BoatmanWindsor, Guest Relations Manager at The Boatman, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Hayleykirkup, sorry you were disappointed, however we don't 'order in' dishes, everything is made fresh on the premises, and because of the Bank Holidays - Christmas Day and Boxing day, and the associated issues with deliveries, all group bookings were pre-ordered to ensure that...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited with 10 international colleagues for dinner - the outside marquee offers great views of the river and the venue is brilliantly located for a walk into Windsor and Eton. The staff were professional if a little slow and the food was good with...More

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank 1DeniseS
BoatmanWindsor, Guest Relations Manager at The Boatman, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Pleased you enjoyed your visit to the Boatman, your table in the conservatory, and the menu choices. Sorry you found the staff a little slow, as you were visiting for dinner the staff would not want to rush you (we find most dinner diners prefer...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
413aprilg
18 October 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from BoatmanWindsor | Property representative |
Hi April - we try to serve roasts until 6pm on Sundays, but because they are freshly cooked and served, we have been known to run out of one or other of the choices by 4pm - depending on how busy we are (always busy, but... More
0
Votes
S7913OOtonyc
28 December 2017|
Answer
Response from Rose_Em_Isabel | Property representative |
Apologies Tony!!! We did respond to your question but as the laptop froze, it did not save our response! We had the NYE Menu all day and I hope that you had a wonderful evening! Happy New Year & kindest regards, Emma
1
Vote
andywhite2312
27 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from TheOrangeCat | Reviewed this property |
There is a car park right next door.
1
Vote
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing