We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Squire Yorke

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$6 - US$14
CUISINES
British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegan Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Reviews (495)
Filter reviews
495 results
Traveller rating
334
59
29
25
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
334
59
29
25
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wacky warehouse server john excellent carvery food was lovely play area brilliant service lovely visit the pub off the menu family meal other customers be visiting again sunday carvery lovely evening excellent value for money aggie carveries
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 days ago

Well what a palava deciding last minute to go out for tea! Off we go to the pub, not looking too busy we ordered our tea through the app and sat for a natter while we waited. Drinks never appeared so we went to the...bar to ask for them. 45 minutes later, we asked about our food to be told they were just dishing it up. Another 15 minutes no sign! Lots of people around us waiting for food also, other tables food started to arrive but incorrect and missing items from their order! After 1 hour,20 minutes, we asked again to be told that somehow our order hadn’t got through to the kitchen!!!!! Omg, furious is an understatement! Was planning on arranging a meal out with work and other friends but decided against now and won’t be in a hurry to go there again! Would of been more understanding if anyone would of told us there was a wait and don’t blame the waitresses but only explanation that was given was “it’s really hot in the kitchen” then later when someone asked what was happening, waiteress said “I have no idea what is going on”! Left pub and went to chippy!More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Squire Yorke, responded to this reviewResponded today

Hello Debbie, we work hard to provide a fantastic experience to everyone. So it's really disappointing to see that we clearly missed the mark this time. I would like to discuss this further if you could send over a contact number and the best time...More

Reviewed 4 days ago

We visited the squire last night and despite being busy they managed to fit us in, the carvery was fantastic and the service excellent a special mention to Kim who went over and above making us welcome

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Squire Yorke, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Alison W, we strive for 100% satisfaction, and it is great to see you had such a positive experience at our pub

Reviewed 4 days ago

We go for the carvery most weeks and have always found it great value for money and a good carvery . Tonight we nearly turned around as vegetables looked very dry , if it wasn’t for a lovely waitress who said please wait while she...sorted fresh vegetables out we would of missed another lovely meal . Thank you to Kim for great friendly service.More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Squire Yorke, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Lisajl1748cf, we strive for 100% satisfaction, and it is great to see you had such a positive experience at our pub

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Very good service with one of the staff the ladies name was Kim that the only good thing I can say as the food was very poor me and my son did not eat our food and they gravy we had off the carvary was...very salty you could not eat itMore

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Squire Yorke, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Siang994, we strive for 100% satisfaction, and it is great to see you had such a positive experience at our pub

Reviewed 5 days ago

If you’re thinking of coming to this place for something to eat stay clear the Carvery is a long wait the veg is hard and absolutely disgusting serves of the chef cutting the meat and his attitude is something else I can say it’s one...of the worst places I have ever been for food and certainly would not return very disappointed as this was the first family meal since the pandemic I would not give it one star to be honestMore

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Squire Yorke, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Tammey001, I'm sorry about your experience with us we can do much better than this. I'd really like to speak with you to discuss what happened, if you have a spare moment could you please call 01978 261007. Thanks for bringing this matter to...More

Reviewed 5 days ago

As always our food was absolutely amazing and my inpatient wee man sulked about a short few min wait for food but was perfect once ready and especially considering its Father's Day. The service by Kim was 10 stars and went so far above and...beyond. Kim was super helpful, kind and empathic to my situation with a walking aid and without any judgement. Helping us at any and all occasions, I hope the pub recognises what a delight they have in their staff member as I will most certainly come back just for the exceptional service.More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Squire Yorke, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Leannemq3138fx, we're glad that you had a great time and even better service, we will pass on this feedback, see you soon!

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Last min family tea, Food was ok A big shout out to Kim who was cleaning the tables was so nice, there was nothing to much trouble she was on the ball anything we needed she was on it.

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Squire Yorke, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi A4423jljodiel, looks like we didn't meet your expectations when you visited us. If there is anything we could have done to make it better? Please get in touch and let us know, give us a call at 01978 261007

Reviewed 1 week ago

We took our 4 year old granddaughter for a carvery. The food was lovely, the staff were amazing they were very kind and accomodating.

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Squire Yorke, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to write to us, we will make sure the team are given this feedback and we hope to see you very soon!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Food was lovely and what a lovely dinner service we had from a lovely lady called Kim.. kim was lovely to me and my daughter and made us feel so welcome. She made sure we were happy with our food and my daughter thought she...was lovely and kind to.Will definitely be calling again with my family for lovely food and great serviceMore

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Squire Yorke, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for taking the time to let us know how we did. We will make sure this feedback is given, see you soon!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Absolutely brilliant service from two lovely ladies Kim and Sally absolutely brilliant with my nephew and very chatty and smiley the whole time. Food was lovely Definitely recommend.

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Squire Yorke, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

C2091aepaiges, thank you for your kind words and this wonderful review! We will make sure the team sees this feedback, See you soon!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Lemon Tree Restaurant with Rooms
465 reviews
1.13 miles away
Ramada Plaza by WyndhamWrexham
849 reviews
1.34 miles away
Travelodge Wrexham
283 reviews
1.60 miles away
Holt Lodge Hotel
528 reviews
3.72 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Nags Head
484 reviews
.67 miles away
Lisbon Tapas Bar Restaurant
62 reviews
.73 miles away
The Fat Boar
704 reviews
.73 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Erddig
1,346 reviews
.73 miles away
St Giles Parish Church
145 reviews
.72 miles away
Eagles Meadow
74 reviews
.74 miles away
Wrexham Town Trails
14 reviews
.50 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Anne J
2 October 2021|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from gailwT3279BM | Reviewed this property |
Yes
2
Votes
Geoffrey B E
7 December 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from CarysE29 | Property representative |
The car park is completely free for any customer
0
Votes
Jamie P
4 August 2018|
Answer
Response from Mike B | Reviewed this property |
I would not expect dogs to be allowed in the pub / restaurant (other than guide dogs ) .There is an outside area which may allow them . The manager usually replies to these questions so you may receive a better reply than... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Squire Yorke

Yes, Squire Yorke is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Squire Yorke is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 3.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5