We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Pheasant

) #20 of 146 Restaurants in Bridgend ££ - £££ Bar, British, Pub
Church Rd, Bridgend CF31 4LY, Wales
+44 1656 653614
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good31%
  • Average22%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“fajitas” (4 reviews)
“rack of ribs” (3 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
DETAILS
Church Rd, Bridgend CF31 4LY, Wales
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

Came here on a Friday evening, was busy but not full so glad we booked ahead. Had a nice table in a quiet area where we could sit and chat. The food was really nice, good quality and nicely cooked, as you would expect from...More

Thank ks_karen2013
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Another one of the chain pubs serving standard fare. Pretty little setting and nice outdoor area. The pub is also nice inside and staff seemed attentive. Quality of food was mediocre - vegetable fajitas were swimming in grease. It's ok to sit outside for a...More

1  Thank scuppercup
Management response:

We thank you kindly for your feedback and your visit and we hope to see you again soon. All our outdoor area is extremely pet friendly as we support the dogs trust charity and have daily visits from them all, unfortunately not some much in...More

Reviewed 14 April 2017

Nothing real good on the menu. Expected roast dinner. Shefffs specials expensive. Had shefffs specials grill. About half a dozen chipped. No veg or salad. £19.99. Wow. No wow meal for that. Bar staff arguing. No manager. Still the same. Has not improved.. I.am a...More

4  Thank Allan L
Management response:

We are very sorry and shocked at these comments, I would like to explain ourselves on some of the comments to reassure yourself. Firstly we are very sorry you wasn't happy with your visit with us and I am very confident that if you had...More

Reviewed 11 April 2017

We visited the pub for a family meal but unfortunately picked a day when it was very busy possibly due to good weather . On placing our order at the bar it would have been nice to have been told there was a delay in...More

1  Thank Karen M
Management response:

Firstly we would like to apologise for this experience you had with us on this particular day. We can assure you that this isn't our usual standards and due to the beautiful weather we have had lately it did exceed our expectations. The management and...More

Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

We came about this place by accident having not found our original destination. From the moment we entered to when we left we enjoyed our visit immensely. We ordered 3 Sunday specials, a rack of ribs, vegetable lasagne plus various desserts. All were delicious, served...More

Thank Kevin W
Management response:

We thank you kindly for your lovely comments and we are extremely happy you enjoyed your visit with us! We look forward to seeing you again very soon and maybe one of our sharing sundaes might hit the spot. Thank You Nikki Assistant Manager

Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

The service was brilliant staff very good. Food arrived promptly and was hot and appetising we enjoyed our meal, had a slight problem which was sorted promptly and quietly can't fault the venue lovely and cleanMore

Thank Tovey68
Management response:

We thank you kindly for your feedback! We are glad you enjoyed your visit and happy that our staff were very prompt and efficient with dealing with any issues you had during your visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you Nikki...More

Reviewed 30 March 2017

Nice atmosphere in the pub. It is divided into two sections - the bar area and restaurant, though you can easily move between the two. The restaurant menu is typical of a brewery owned / managed pub. It gives plenty of choice and portion sizes...More

Thank Paul H
Management response:

We kindly thank you for your feedback and lovely comments about our establishment, menu and our staff. All feedback is taken into consideration and we will look into this for you but our menu does offer healthier options (Less Calories) and also some of our...More

Reviewed 30 March 2017 via mobile

A miserable wet evening outside inside good food warm temperature and fab atmosphere. A good menu something for everyone gluten free available Three courses for £11.50 and you'd imagine small potions but no good potions did not leave hungry. The staff are friendly and very...More

Thank Leona C
Management response:

We are very happy to hear that we brightened up what was a 'Miserable wet evening outside'. Thank you kindly for your lovely comments and we hope to see you again soon. Thank You Nikki Assistant Manager

Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

Love this pub, in the beautiful village of Penyfai. Enjoyed a lazy afternoon catching up with my sis over lunch and a glass of wine. The food is good quality and very reasonably priced, can highly recommend it.

Thank ExpertJules
Management response:

Thank You kindly for your feedback! We look forward to you having many more relaxing catch ups with your sister and family.

Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

We didn't book anywhere for Mother's Day and after trying some places we ended up at the pheasant and they had room at the bar tables which was great. There was 2 meals for £13.99 plus extra for drinks. We were waiting a long time...More

Thank Kellyrogers1718
Management response:

Thank You very much for your feedback, We love to hear about it. We're very pleased you decided to join us on Mothers Day and glad you enjoyed overall other than it being extremely busy at that time of year. We look forward to you...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Zia Nina
361 reviews
.27 miles away
The Old Cottage
216 reviews
.20 miles away
Lakeside
80 reviews
.26 miles away
Ashoka Indian restaurant
195 reviews
.17 miles away
Nearby Attractions
St John's House
11 reviews
.33 miles away
Once upon a playtime
39 reviews
.43 miles away
Halo - Bridgend Recreation Centre
27 reviews
.07 miles away
Bushcraft Bash
5 reviews
.25 miles away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Sonia201059
Hi, do you have many fish dishes?
31 January 2016|
Answer
Response from TheBeardedReviewer | Reviewed this property |
You should be able to view or download a menu through their website. You can then seen exactly what they serve, prices etc.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$17
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 00:00
Saturday
11:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Church Rd, Bridgend CF31 4LY, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Southern Wales  >  Vale of Glamorgan  >  Bridgend
  • Phone Number: +44 1656 653614
  • E-mail
Description
The Pheasant is a classic village pub located in Pen-y-Fai, Bridgend.We serve a big range of cask ales and premium wines, as well as home cooked food and daily specials.Our beer garden is huge and is a fantastic place to spend the summer months.And function room is the perfect size for meetings, dinner parties and larger events...opening out onto the beer garden.Opening HoursM: 11am to 11pmT: 11am to 11pmW: 11am to 11pmT: 11am to 11pmF: 11am to 12amS: 11am to 12amS: 11am to 11pm