We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pontygwindy Inn

) #20 of 69 Restaurants in Caerphilly ££ - £££ , British,
222 Pontygwindy Road, Caerphilly CF83 3HR, Wales
+44 29 2088 4321
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent32%
  • Very good28%
  • Average13%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible16%
Travellers talk about
Open Now
09:00 - 21:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
222 Pontygwindy Road, Caerphilly CF83 3HR, Wales
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After touring Wales for the last week, I finally found a place which has a good choice of vegetarian food. Chose the Mexican beanburger which was best ever. My husband had the chicken fajitas and was well satisfied. Thank you.

Thank 753sally
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visit on Monday evenings about every six weeks. Usually quiet with very few guests. This visit restaurant was very full. Only able to get table for eight as had a reservation. Shortage of staff meant very slow service. Two meals incorrect and several meals over-cooked....More

Thank JER26
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited the Pontygwyndy this week and ordered Plaice and chicken Korma immediately realised the rice was cold so informed the barmaid. She apologised and took it back and to their credit the whole meal was changed and not microwaved. We thoroughly enjoyed our meals after...More

Thank HAYDN J
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A group of us from work popped over at lunchtime on a Friday. We ordered at the bar and were told that another large party had arrived just before us so there might be a wait for food. When pressed on how long we might...More

Thank johnroolz
Reviewed 17 June 2017 via mobile

Amazing staff with great food and out of this world cocktails 😁staff are great and very helpful, prices are good and on the whole the place is very clean and above standard. Food is lush at great places, good for ages, I've been here for...More

1  Thank Paige M
Reviewed 16 June 2017

Had a bad meal last time so gave a second chance today.Again terrible pork chops rock hard my husband couldn t eat it.Ihad southern fried chicken which was cremated and jacket potatoe not cooked.No more chances they need a chef that can cook and see...More

Thank L1405HRcarol
Gary P, Manager at Pontygwindy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2017

Hi L1405HRcarol Thank you for your review. Please accept my apologies that you didn't receive the service and standards that you expected. I have spoken with the staff on duty when you visited, whom have ensured me all tables were checked on. We have a...More

Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

Changed our minds about eating here as soon as we walked in. The stink of dogs is a huge put off! 😷 Had the 1 round of drinks and left because of the smelly dog sniffing round on the next table to us. Food &...More

1  Thank Misses W
Gary P, Manager at Pontygwindy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2017

Hi Misses W Thank you for your review. We pride ourselves on being a dog friendly pub and on our cleanliness. Whilst we allow Dogs they are only allowed in our Garden and Bar Area not in the Restaurant. We feel this then gives plenty...More

Reviewed 6 June 2017

Good, quick service, pleasant staff, meals of average- good quality. Drinks not too expensive. Coffee could be warmer. Restaurant often chilly..even in June. You get what you pay for !

1  Thank JER26
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

Visited here as a group of 5 on a Thursday evening, it was very quiet in there the whole time we were there, we only seen two others tables of people eating and a few men watching the footie. Two of us ordered the cheeseburgers...More

Thank Clare L
Reviewed 13 May 2017 via mobile

Staying in the local Premier Inn and after a long day at the local Bike Park Wales, the group of 20 were hungry and this place looked after us. Annie G looked after us very well and the food was excellent. All had a good...More

1  Thank Michael D
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Glanmors
240 reviews
.77 miles away
Bella-Capri
241 reviews
.62 miles away
Caerphilly Rugby Function Room
20 reviews
.37 miles away
Green Lady Pub and Restaurant
145 reviews
.20 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Caerphilly Castle
1,335 reviews
.74 miles away
Battlefield Live Caerphilly
8 reviews
.89 miles away
The Visitor Centre - Caerphilly
154 reviews
.82 miles away
Y Galeri
16 reviews
.80 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Twinkles1988
20 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Jayne K | Reviewed this property |
I am not sure what has happened to her but the staff do appear to have changed recently
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 20:00
Monday
09:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 21:00
Thursday
09:00 - 21:00
Friday
09:00 - 21:00
Saturday
09:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 222 Pontygwindy Road, Caerphilly CF83 3HR, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Southern Wales  >  Caerphilly County  >  Caerphilly
  • Phone Number: +44 29 2088 4321
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing