We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Malcolm Uphill

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
Bar, Pub, Welsh
FEATURES
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Waitstaff
Reviews (315)
Filter reviews
313 results
Traveller rating
119
99
53
18
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
119
99
53
18
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak salad weather spoons the pub meeting place quick service curry night piping hot lovely food wetherspoons pint pubs ales toilets deals cardiff
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 313 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago

Had a leisurely lunch. Not too bad. Plenty of outlets to charge devices, lots of screaming kids. Food was ok. Beer a little off.More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank GentriaW
Malcolm U, Manager at Malcolm Uphill, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that the food was ok and disappointed that the beer was not up to standard. Regarding the screaming kids that is something we cannot change unless it becomes ok for us to bind and gag them. kind...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

One thing you can absolutely guarantee is that Wetherspoons maintain standards, anywhere in the UK. It's why we all use them. Breakfast has always been above standard, and I have used Caerphilly wetherpoons ALOT for brekkie. However, and I'll keep it constructive... recently over 2...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank stuartbY343OA
Malcolm U, Manager at Malcolm Uphill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Some disappointing comments on here and clearly some lessons to be learnt. Thank you for the feedback and we will get on it asap

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Continuously ignored by 1 of the bar staff, when asked why was spoken too very aggressively, by her. So left on own accord. Didn't get her name but was the fat one with glasses and brown hair.More

Date of visit: January 2019
3  Thank 5577rob
Malcolm U, Manager at Malcolm Uphill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

My staff will not tolerate being sworn at under any circumstances. I am sorry you were not happy and felt ignored but we will not tolerate abuse of any kind. Should you wish to discuss the matter further please feel free to contact me on...More

Reviewed 14 January 2019 via mobile

One of the better spoons . Staff are friendly it's always really clean and the food is better here than other spoons I've been in .

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank lucyinthesky606
Reviewed 13 January 2019 via mobile

We are regular visitors to Caerphilly as my 2 grandchildren live nearby. Whenever we are in the area we always head for the Malcolm Uphill. The breakfasts hear are always wholesome and tasty. Add to that unlimited lattes and you have an ideal breakfast. Great!

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Danny R
Reviewed 19 December 2018 via mobile

The last couple of times I’ve visited here the staff have been rather rude towards me and my friend, the staff spoke to me and my cloest friend in a rude matter the one manager was counting money, and she had a go at my...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank ABCXYZ127abc
Malcolm U, Manager at Malcolm Uphill, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2018

I am very disappointed to hear this and would, very much, like a little bit more information so that I can deal with the issues you have encountered. Please contact me on p6372@jdwetherspoon.co.uk with all the details of your issues so I can resolve them....More

Reviewed 29 November 2018 via mobile

As far as Wetherspoons go this isn’t bad. It’s always busy, yet the food is (90% of the time) usually pretty good and offers great value for money. Cleanliness can sometimes be an issue here due to the high numbers that visit.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank lntghll
Malcolm U, Manager at Malcolm Uphill, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2018

thank you for your lovely comments and we will work on the cleanliness. Hopefully you will see an improvement when you return.

Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

Thanks once again for fabulous food. 2 steaks for myself and my wife, a bottle of wine all for less than £20.00. We sat opposite a table from a couple that only complained about their food and sent 2 steaks back only to endure the...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank TheWay62
Malcolm U, Manager at Malcolm Uphill, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2018

Thank you for this lovely review John. It is so heart warming to see that our customers appreciate our efforts. We look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 5 November 2018 via mobile

The breakfast you served all 18 of us was superb and set us up for a great day at the rugby Thank you so much

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Mike H
Malcolm U, Manager at Malcolm Uphill, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2018

Thank you for this and we are delighted you had a lovely day. Look forward to the next time we see you.

Reviewed 16 October 2018 via mobile

Me and my wife decided to have lunch here, the staff are friendly & the food was excellent; we will eat here again.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Fishandcod55
Malcolm U, Manager at Malcolm Uphill, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2018

You and your wife are always welcome and thank you for this lovely review, it is always nice to hear that you have had a good time.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 3 nearby hotels
Travelodge Caerphilly Hotel
344 reviews
1.07 miles away
Premier Inn Caerphilly Crossways Hotel
436 reviews
1.19 miles away
Premier Inn Caerphilly (Corbetts Lane) Hotel
510 reviews
1.45 miles away
New House Country Hotel
940 reviews
1.59 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 99 nearby restaurants
Volare
475 reviews
.01 miles away
Grazing Ground
131 reviews
.10 miles away
Glanmors
321 reviews
.27 miles away
Casa Mia Restaurant and Cocktail Bar
183 reviews
.17 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 28 nearby attractions
Caerphilly Castle
1,691 reviews
.27 miles away
Caerphilly Mountain
300 reviews
.71 miles away
The Visitor Centre - Caerphilly
198 reviews
.22 miles away
Y Galeri
21 reviews
.23 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Brite-starr85
3 April 2015|
Answer
Response from laurasafc | Property representative |
Dear Sir I am so very sorry to disappoint you, but we do not allow dogs on our premises unless they are guide dogs.
0
Votes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing