We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Toby Carvery Caerphilly

Corbetts Lane | Pwll-y-pant, Caerphilly CF83 3HX, Wales
+44 29 2086 7049
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent16%
  • Very good16%
  • Average18%
  • Poor21%
  • Terrible29%
Travellers talk about
Open Now
07:00 - 23:00 Hours
CUISINES
British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
£
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Corbetts Lane | Pwll-y-pant, Caerphilly CF83 3HX, Wales
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Just eaten the most delicious unlimited breakfast for £4.49 . I have no idea how they do it ! Clean and friendly staff . The potato hash was particularly tasty . Thumbs up 👍🏼

Thank Linda F
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Beging a vegetarian you always expect somesort of disruption to your meal when going to a primarily meat based restaurant, but this was a exceptionally poor effort. Arrived, got seats pretty fast, waitress took drinks order pretty fast and then it went down hill. We...More

1  Thank Swinsixtytwo
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I work away a lot and this has to be the worse place I’ve ever eaten carvery first night , second night they had gas problems that were going to be fixed by 1930. But the manager hadn’t decided if he was going to open...More

Thank paullampard0
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Caerphilly, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

We regret to hear that your experience with us was not a more positive one. Unfortunately, the situation with the gas was completely out of our hands, We were given a time by the engineer as to when the gas would be back on but...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Been here a few times and it's a bit hit and miss to be honest. On this occasion it was quiet and they only had turkey, that was at 6pm. The meal was OK apart from some of the veg being hard and some lukewarm....More

Thank Jeff W
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Caerphilly, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Jeff We appreciate all reviews, and appreciate you giving us the chance to improve by providing us with this feedback. We will be sure to pass on your comments to the team for them to use as a training tool. We hope this hasn't...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Thoroughly enjoy my meals at Toby Caerphilly every time I go. Great choice for both breakfast or carvery.

Thank Jo-dee G
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Caerphilly, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thanks Jo-dee G for your amazing review, we hope to see you back again soon :)

Reviewed 1 week ago

OK, staff that served me were at best functional ,no smile no nothing . Ordered a carvery . All meat was dry and over cooked. 12. 30 am . It could all be so much better, just bad management.More

Thank missingman
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Caerphilly, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Missingman, I am sorry to see that you did not have a great experience when you dined with us recently and this disappoints me. I will be discussing your comments with my team in our meeting next week. If you would like to discuss...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

horrible, manager was horrible and everything else was smelt like an old cat and i couldnt even finish my food thought i was going to be sick on the way home and the customer service was terrible shut it down

Thank horn5w0ggl3
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Caerphilly, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Horn5w0ggl3, we are disappointed to see your low star rating. If you could provide more information to us, we would be more than happy to try and make this situation better. Toby carvery Caerphilly

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went here today 6/7/18.as a birthday treat. My daughter asked for a selection of all meats as she always have to be given a dried out peices about the size of a small match box, I pointed out to the girl who was carving, she...More

Thank Sarahbethany666
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Caerphilly, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Sarahbethany666, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback. I’m sorry that you had such a negative experience with us, I would like to discuss your comments further with you. If you would like to discuss please contact me on...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Everything was tasteless, watery, beef was full of fat then told by staff nobody else had complained like i was being difficult. Had a refund for one of 3 meals. First & last time i go there.More

1  Thank Dilbert D
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Caerphilly, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Dilbert D, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to hear that your visit was not a great one. We take on all comments good and bad and use them as a tool to...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in to have a quick roast! What can I say, the whole place smelt like a nursing home, the door host was miserable she couldn't crack a smile and spoke really quietly like couldn't be bothered, she was wearing her own clothes and looked...More

Thank menryhole
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Caerphilly, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Menryhole, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We regret that you had a negative experience, and will use this as an opportunity to improve. We can only Apologise about the service and food that you received on your visit. Sunday for...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Caerphilly Hotels
Premier Inn Caerphilly (Corbetts Lane) Hotel
482 reviews
.01 miles away
Premier Inn Caerphilly Crossways Hotel
395 reviews
.74 miles away
Travelodge Caerphilly Hotel
296 reviews
1.69 miles away
New House Country Hotel
810 reviews
3.04 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Caerphilly Rugby Function Room
22 reviews
.84 miles away
Pontygwindy Inn
262 reviews
.44 miles away
Green Lady Pub and Restaurant
184 reviews
.66 miles away
Valley Garden Indian Takeaway
52 reviews
.95 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Caerphilly Castle
1,572 reviews
1.18 miles away
Battlefield Live Caerphilly
8 reviews
1.18 miles away
Valley Greyhounds
8 reviews
2.88 miles away
Nantgarw China Works Museum
19 reviews
2.92 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Terry N
15 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from HAYDN J | Reviewed this property |
hopefully its improved but I visit Tobys all around and found it was wasn't as good as others. perhaps they've listened to the reviews if so well done. I'll visit again soon.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$4 - US$7
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
07:00 - 23:00
Monday
07:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
07:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
07:00 - 23:00
Thursday
07:00 - 23:00
Friday
07:00 - 23:00
Saturday
07:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Corbetts Lane | Pwll-y-pant, Caerphilly CF83 3HX, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Southern Wales  >  Caerphilly County  >  Caerphilly
  • Phone Number: +44 29 2086 7049
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing